Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read and value for money
Not having read these books as a child I wasn't familiar with the stories. What a joy to read evocative of a bygone age of childhood innocence where faith and hard work was the order of the day. The writing is superb with a lot of old english expressions I hadn't read before. I discovered I could press on a word I was not familiar with and learn it's meaning so the book...
Published 20 months ago by michelle hewitt

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One Book Missing
This series is good, but does not include Anne of Ingleside, so one book is missing in the middle. Whist it was published last, it is still very much one of the stories and should have been included in this package of books.
Published 21 months ago by AJMorrissey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
it is nice to go back to stories i read as a child and be reminded of such lovely stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still As Much Fun As It Was 60 Years Ago!, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Grandma (Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
Anne of Green Gables has been a favorite in my all-girl house for over a half-century. Written by Lucy Maud Montgomery in 1908, this delightful story has long been a favorite worldwide and the Green Gables House on Prince Edward Island, Canada, is a pilgrimage site for young women enthralled by the story, one without which no visit to Prince Edward Island is complete.

This Anne of Green Gables Collection from Doma Publishing contains most of Lucy Maud Montgomery's Anne stories as well as a few extras. Here's the list, in order -

Anne of Green Gables, (1908),
Anne of Avonlea, (1909),
Anne of the Island, (1915),
**NOT INCLUDED*** - Anne of Windy Poplars (not yet public domain)
Anne's House of Dreams, (1917),
***NOT INCLUDED*** - Anne of Ingleside (not yet public domain)
Rainbow Valley, (1919),
Rilla of Ingleside, (1921), Chronicles of Avonlea (1912)
Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920)

Other works by Lucy Maud Montgomery
Kilmeny of the Orchard (1910)
The Story Girl (1911)
The Golden Road (1913)
The Watchmen, and Other Poems

Thank You: Bonus!
Pride and Prejudice (1813) by Jane Austen
The Call of the Wild (1903) by Jack London

The collection is nicely put together, with both a front Table of Contents as well as individual Table of Contents for each book and includes an introduction to the series and a short biography of Lucy Maud Montgomery. What a great way to have the classics at your fingertips!

Grandma's $0.02 - Classic Children's Literature that is still great fun reading for the young and young at heart. BEST IDEA - One of Grandma's acquaintances makes it her business to encourage a love of reading in the children she knows by stocking Kindles with great literature like this and passing them out. Up to 8 can be managed from a single Kindle account and new books can be scheduled remotely. Can you imagine the surprise when they turn on the Kindle and find something new? What a great idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars anne shirley, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
I watched anne of green gables when I was a child but the books were pure dead brilliant.it was great getting to know the other characters of pie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Green but not new, 29 May 2013
By 
Mr. Roy Williams "mid point" (Croydon,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
I know I really enjoyed reading about Anne with an 'e' and her take on her life and her world.
Being adopted is traumatic enough but to be 'wrongly' adopted makes your heart sink.The description of how Anne gets accepted and overcomes her initial rejection really does make the reader root for her.Nice and chatty with eye opening dreamy descriptions of the landscape,Anne,who gradually becomes 'Anne,of Greengables' manages to convey an interesting and absorbing tale.I've read a review saying Anne of Greengables knocks spots off Little women by Louisa May Alcott,this gives a false impression that somehow Little women is lacking in some way but really - they are equally enjoyable.I was compelled to write this review to complement both talented writers and their creations.
I've also bought videos of both storys too,though Little women was an animation.Which reminds me,nobody has mentioned Pippi Longstocking as another good girl heroine story/fantasy,of which I have an animated film.That leads me to remember Heidi as well,strewth,how long is this review going to be.....?! So,IMO,collect and read them all !
The Little Princess,etc.Ok.....,I'm done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
Anne is a wonderful, full rounded character, full of life and joy. A great purchase. The best thing I have found on kindle. Knocks spots off 'Little Women'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne revisited, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
It's wonderful reading these books which I first read over 40 years ago and amazingly there's so much I remember as I read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Anne Stories, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
I know these books well, my favourite reading in my early teens and wanted to have the whole set to re-read whenever I wanted, or just to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haven't read these book since 9yr old and still find them facinating and refreshing at 75yrs of age. Lucky find, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
First rate writing. Amusing,facinating and intriguing stories.Settings one can loose oneself in with very little imagination .A set of books for all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
I love these stories! They are so eloquently written that you feel you are there with Anne!
A must read story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing read., 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables Stories: 12 Books, 142 Short Stories, Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne's House of Dreams, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Chronicles and More (Kindle Edition)
I read Ann of Greeen Gables when I was young, but reading this again was most enjoyable. It's a relaxing read. Laughter, tears, anger, joy, all the lovely emotions you need when you enter into a stories characters. Just love the old English way of life and wish I'd lived then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews