Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her most sophisticated musical album to date!
Having been a fan of Eleanor McEvoy for the last 10 years, her CDs are frequently on my player. How this singer is not an international superstar is beyond my comprehension. She has an outstanding voice, a superlative lyricist, is invariably accompanied by quality musicians (except "Alone") and most of her CDs are of audiophile quality. I am fortunate to have a...
Published 9 months ago by Terry McBrien

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
We have seen Eleanor live, and have the Out There and Alone albums which are brilliant. This unfortunately is one of those albums where the presence of electric guitar, drums, bass, and kitchen sink, all of which have to be used at all times, dilute what makes Eleanor special. At times, including the opening couple of tracks, the vocals can hardly be heard for a nasty...
Published 7 months ago by 11000038


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her most sophisticated musical album to date!, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave... (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of Eleanor McEvoy for the last 10 years, her CDs are frequently on my player. How this singer is not an international superstar is beyond my comprehension. She has an outstanding voice, a superlative lyricist, is invariably accompanied by quality musicians (except "Alone") and most of her CDs are of audiophile quality. I am fortunate to have a HiFi system that gets the best from her CDs - she is still best listened to live - and I would say "If You Leave" is the best so far. I would agree with another reviewer who says there is not a stand out song, when they are all so good it's difficult to find a stand out! Buy it! Or better still, see her live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recorded Quality, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave... (Audio CD)
I first heard of this CD from an English Hi-Fi Magazine called Hi-Fi News. It used a number of tracks from this CD in reviews of Hi-Fi Equipment, so I bought this CD really on "Spec". I have found the recording to be First class, you can easily hear Eleanor's Irish accent whilst singing and cannot fault the clarity/quality of the recording. Not perhaps the normal type (musical) of CD that I would buy but this is a very enjoyable CD to listen to regardless of your tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: If You Leave... (Audio CD)
We have seen Eleanor live, and have the Out There and Alone albums which are brilliant. This unfortunately is one of those albums where the presence of electric guitar, drums, bass, and kitchen sink, all of which have to be used at all times, dilute what makes Eleanor special. At times, including the opening couple of tracks, the vocals can hardly be heard for a nasty sounding electric guitar. I have only brought myself to listening right through once so maybe it will grow, but I suspect I will reach for one of the others instead. Send me the stems and I'll remix it to make it more listenable. I'm pleased other reviewers disagree with my opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great mix of songs !, 20 Nov 2013
By 
P WEATHERLY (Dorking, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave... (Audio CD)
Eleanor sounding relaxed and very on top of it all . Some lovely use of different instruments too . Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic album by Eleanor McEvoy, 25 July 2013
This review is from: If You Leave... (Audio CD)
"If You Leave..." has everything going for it--beautiful melodies, intelligent lyrics, and impeccable musicianship. Eleanor McEvoy is a renowned songwriter and the tracks she penned on "If You Leave..." display how her talent brings forth perfectly crafted tunes. McEvoy also has a talent for combining her own compositions with interpretations of songs by artists she admires. One example of this is "True Colors"; Cindy Lauper's version would leave one believing no one could do a version of this song that would compare. McEvoy does just that--her version actually surpassed Lauper's.

I was surprised to see three lukewarm reviews of the album. It is McEvoy's best to date, and that is saying a lot as all nine of her previous albums are gems. Don't pass this one up--it's truly a brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its what you would have expected, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave... (Audio CD)
This is not her best album but by that I mean there is room for improvement in the sonic qualities of the recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars instantly forgettable, 17 May 2013
By 
JohnW (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave... (MP3 Download)
The previous album "Alone" was mesmerising. I've listened to "If you Leave" several times now, but I just can't find anything that grabs me in the same way. Nothing much to dislike about this album, but unfortunately nothing to light any fires either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great album bit overwhelmed by her band at times, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave... (Audio CD)
I now have most of Eleanor's previous albums and have seen her in concert a few times and am a big fan of her superb distinctive Irish voice and her often self deprecating and perceptive songwriting. On her new album she has a band of special musicians she calls " The Craic Squad" who have supported many more famous Irish and other artists.On paper this should be a very promising line up, however,for me this album overall is a slight disappointment.Her voice sometimes seems a bit lower down in the mix, and occasionally she seems more of a bit player in her own songs. Most of the songs are new original compositions , with 4 covers, the real highlight for me is a sublime version of God Only Knows by Brian Wilson, a classic Beach Boys song with fantastic solo piano accompianment by Brian Connor which is a spine tingling track, something very special. There is a similar good treatment of Lift the Wings from Bill Whelan of Riverdance fame,a fair version of Cindi Lauper's True Colours, then a slightly jarring closer of Elmore James Blues classic Dust my Broom, where the band rocks out, that seems rather at odds with the more relaxed feeling of the rest of the album. Having listened to this album half a dozen times now, there are not as many of Eleanor's original compositions that have really wowed me, it seems a slightly weaker set of songs with less stand out memorable tracks. Don't get me wrong, it is still a good offering, but in general lacking a few great new original compositions and performances, it seems to wash over me more and not leave the usual long lasting impression I have got from most of her previous albums. Perhaps overall a case of more strong band members is less distinctive Eleanor , with the exception of the superb track God Only Knows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful CD quality., 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave... (Audio CD)
This is a very poor pressing and does the artist no favours; I certainly won't be buying any more of her CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If You Leave...
If You Leave... by Eleanor McEvoy (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews