Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Timey Wimey Fourth Doctor Novel
Doctor Who: Festival Of Death.

Paperback Edition.
320 pages.
50th Anniversary Re-issued Edition.

What's The Story.
The Beautiful Death is the ultimate theme-park ride: a sightseeing tour of the afterlife. But something has gone wrong & when the Fourth Doctor arrives in the aftermath of the disaster, he is congratulated for saving the...
Published 9 months ago by Timelord007

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Man of teeth and curls
Oh, thank goodness that's over. There's a lot to like about this book, but it feels like it goes on forever. Republished to represent the fourth Doctor in the anniversary year of the show, it presents the man of teeth and curls with his companion the Time Lady Romana, and both are on great form (with Romana being particularly well portrayed as an equal to the title...
Published 15 months ago by Richard Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Timey Wimey Fourth Doctor Novel, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Doctor Who: Festival Of Death.

Paperback Edition.
320 pages.
50th Anniversary Re-issued Edition.

What's The Story.
The Beautiful Death is the ultimate theme-park ride: a sightseeing tour of the afterlife. But something has gone wrong & when the Fourth Doctor arrives in the aftermath of the disaster, he is congratulated for saving the population from destruction - something he hasn't actually done yet.

So the Doctor has no choice but to travel back in time & discover how he became a hero & then he finds out, He did it by sacrificing his own life.

Timelord Thoughts.
Jonathan Morris has written for several shows including Dead Ringers but is well known to fan's of writing Doctor Who novels & the audio adventure ranges for Big Finish.

This is another excellent novel wonderfully written & this time features the Fourth Doctor, Romana & K-9.

The plot involves a mysterious funfair The Beautiful Death a tour on the afterlife that the Doctor,Romana & K9 having just arrived in the Tardis in the aftermath of a recent disaster but apparently they have been here before as the are seemingly well known & has received congratulations by the inhabitants for the Doctor's self sacrifice which is either in the past or future's event's?

There's a mystery to solve here as it appears The travellers are caught in a timeloop as the Doctor has already intervened in event's here causing him to sacrifice his own life in the process only to keep returning to The Beautiful Death time & time again in a adventure he has yet to have encountered.

The Doctor travels back in time to discover what event's he's encountered that made him seemingly a hero to the people & what sacrifices he has made to save a civilization from impending doom.

This is a timey wimey plot adventure but unlike Steven Moffats jarring efforts Jonathan Morris keeps the linear narrative flowing & intrigues the reader on what could happen next in the mysterious twists & turns of the plot.

Jonathan Morris seems to have captured the tone of the late Douglas Adams but without the OTT stupidity of season 17 keeping the reader's focus on the exciting plot point's rather than daft over the top character quirks.

A excellent story & one I hope Big Finish would consider adapting for audio one day as Mr Morris always delivers unique Doctor Who adventures which are always exciting mysterious & engaging adventures.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festival of Death, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"'Did the universe get out of the wrong side of bed this morning, or is it me?' he asked."

This book, first published in 2000, has been re-released as the representative Fourth Doctor story in the 50th anniversary celebrations of Doctor Who. This was written by Jonathan Morris, who has written quite a few Doctor Who and related books etc.

The story involves the Fourth Doctor and Romana II arriving in a hyperspace tunnel which has become the graveyard of a number of ships after an accident some two centuries earlier. Now it is where the Beautiful Death themepark is run, where tourists come to be treated to an experience featuring death itself. But when the Doctor and Romana arrive, they are surprised to find themselves known to people who are there. Have they been here before, and if so, what did they do? And how can they do it again?

This is a complicated time-travel back and forth in eddies of time kind of Doctor Who story, one which you have to keep your wits about you to keep track of who is where, why and when. But that makes for a satisfying read, and one in which the Doctor and Romana, and K-9, all have their own important parts to play in the story. The personification of the Fourth Doctor in this story is spot on. I liked the sly humour that is used in the story, and the characteristics of the Doctor and Romana were both well portrayed. The other characters in the story, including Evadne, Harken Batt and ERIC the computer are all well written in. I did think more could have been made of the backstory of the Rochfort and Byson, to see why they were the way they were, but that's just a small personal quibble. Great stuff; a great Fourth Doctor story, and totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Who, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Festival of Death: 50th Anniversary Edition (Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special Edition Books) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic Douglas Adams style era adventure, great story, like watching the show in the late 70's as you read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pull up the jelly babies and enjoy, 23 April 2014
By 
Geoffrey Weller (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Twists and turns with strong characters and plot - good fun and stays true to Baker's quirky best. Good old Tom,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Festival of Death: 50th Anniversary Edition (Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special Edition Books) (Kindle Edition)
A very good read would recommend to any Who fan especially tom baker fans. A who story that will appeal to all fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic Doctor Who story, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Festival of Death: 50th Anniversary Edition (Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special Edition Books) (Kindle Edition)
This was the 2nd Doctor Who novel I read, first being Shada. Promising as ever, the story is interesting, with twists and turns, makes the reader keep interested right from the beginning. Highly recommended for Doctor Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tom Baker book, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Missed out on this classic fourth doctor book when it was first released in 2000,and so I was looking at 20 plus for a new copy.Very pleased to see it as part of the 50th anniversary at a bargain price for one of the best who books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very much a fourth doctor novel and also a douglas adams theme too, 17 Mar 2013
Like Shada (Which I had to say that shada is awsome book and you shoud read it) Festival of Death is another winner by letting your mind goe off form the real world and treat this book as if this was an doctor who episode you're watching and in the end you'll probably say fantasic. Yeah I might treat my copy of this book as another class doctor who story like the pyramids of mars or Genesis of the Daleks. But I might be too sure that's where steven moffat got his idea form this book and became one of the best writers of the show.

I don't want to revail too much of the plot which would even spoil your mood for getting this one and you would probably change your mind on ignoring it. OH NO, I DON'T WANT THAT. Well I can say that the story is very good and the characters are enjoyable (mine's is Hoopy), but what about the villains. Like I said I am not going into that either. As you'll read it, you'll be at the edge of your sits wondering how can this be and saying that's impossible that later on in the book all the answers are revailed. And everything all makes sense in the end as they are all been explored. But if they don't this book would have been horrible and I would get rid of it and give it away to someone else by never keeping this as a treasure.

Another thing I could say that it's nice for the BBC to reprint those books for people like me to have the chance to read them to keep them as a collection for the 50th Anniversary and start off which one we would like to read by picking our favourite Doctor.

So my final result is: Go get it. And I would give 10/10.

Form MiketheDalek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How who should be!, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Festival of Death: 50th Anniversary Edition (Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special Edition Books) (Kindle Edition)
This is just classic who at its best well thought out, complicated but logical no Moffat style Deus ex machina stunts to sort this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Festival of Death, 11 April 2013
The Beautiful Death is the ultimate theme-park ride: a sightseeing tour of the afterlife. But something has gone wrong, and when the Fourth Doctor arrives in the aftermath of the disaster, he is congratulated for saving the population from destruction - something he hasn't actually done yet. He has no choice but to travel back in time and discover how he became a hero.

And then he finds out. He did it by sacrificing his life.

An adventure featuring the Fourth Doctor as played by Tom Baker and his companions Romana and K-9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews