Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical story
"Outview (The Inner Movement)" by Brandt Legg is a book that works on many different levels.
It concerns mostly two teenagers, one of them in a mental institution, and his brother in the 'real' world.
Kept apart by their mother they manage to connect and start to uncover family secrets.
Book one in the trilogy shows them coming into their own, fighting for...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Some if this book was written beautifully and made my cry with clear descriptions on past life's but I just didn't like the way the book was packed with so much information and flicked so quick from one thing to another.
It just wasn't a book for me thought it was more Science fiction than fantasy if love Science fiction you will love this book!
Published 1 month ago by denlen


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical story, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
"Outview (The Inner Movement)" by Brandt Legg is a book that works on many different levels.
It concerns mostly two teenagers, one of them in a mental institution, and his brother in the 'real' world.
Kept apart by their mother they manage to connect and start to uncover family secrets.
Book one in the trilogy shows them coming into their own, fighting for survival and growing in their personal power and awareness.

However, this book has much more to offer than the coming of age part and the action.
Disguised in the shape of fantasy and science fiction elements in this novel I recognise many modern spiritual, esoteric and supernatural concepts, explained to the youngsters by more experienced ones, giving the small picture a wider dimension.
Re-incarnation, psychic powers and astral travel, to name a few, are integral part of the story and influence the personal development and growth of our protagonists.

I am personally quite open to some of these concepts and so I found it very easy to relate to the characters and the story - which in itself also reads like a good fantasy thriller. Whether you see the concepts as real or only as mythical and slightly philosophical fantasy part of the story, they lend the characters additional depth and make the story more magical.
Awareness, good and evil and wisdom are basic concepts that everyone can relate to, whether they are supernatural or instinctive.

The trilogy has the potential of classics, such as the Celestine Prophecy or Conversations with God, only the book is more entertaining and can be seen as pure entertainment, too. The story ends rather abrupt and will be continued in the next book, which I already downloaded onto my kindle, eager to see where the story is leading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind expanding, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read once you get into the story line. A little confusing to start, but all becomes clear as Nate goes through his soul discovering journey. Nate unintentionally pulls friends and family into his life changing mission to save his brother and find his father's killer. Nate learns that a secret government agency is trying to wipe out him and his family. Finding hidden knowledge and mystics along the way that help Nate remember the power and the many lives of his sole, Nate overcomes his fears, discovers love, friendship, pain, and betrayal that extends over many lifetimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed Descriptions of Psychic Magic, 24 Aug 2014
By 
Lita Burke (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Outview by Brandt Legg is a coming-of-age fantasy about a teenager named Nathan Ryder and his struggles learning modern day psychic magic.

Nate has suffered for a year from paralyzing nightmares where he runs from enemies, but they always catch and kill him. He struggles to live a teen’s normal life with his best friends Kyle and Linh, but his father died four years ago and Nate feels responsible. The loss estranged him from his mother. Even worse, she sent his brother Dustin to a mental institution two years ago and she refuses to let Nate visit. Now the worsening nightmares have convinced Nate that he is going crazy like Dustin.

Kyle and Linh sneak him in to visit Dustin. They discover a lucid older brother who guides Nate to seek out their Aunt Rose and investigate their father’s death. Nate learns from Rose that his nightmares are the forerunners of exceptional psychic powers. His innocent Internet search about their father alerts a clandestine government agency. This agency, lead by an Agent Fitts, will stop at nothing to acquire Nate and his growing powers.

Outview is a dandy fantasy thriller. Woven throughout was an intricate and well-designed fantasy world of psychic powers and government shenanigans. Everything made sense as far as how magic worked. I wished that I could just pick up a book, hold it closed between my palms, and absorb its knowledge the way Nate could. This was just one of his nifty magical talents.

The story’s ever-growing plot dangers made for an absorbing read. Brandt Legg used a deft hand in creating teens that were a pleasing blend of naïveté and intelligence. The story also had a nice balance of description and dialogue that kept things moving. I very much enjoyed the descriptions of psychic magic, but other readers might find it too detailed for their tastes.

Outview is one of those excellent stories where I want to give it more than five stars. I cannot wait to read the sequel, Outin. Since I can’t absorb a book like Nate, I will read Outin off my Kindle the usual way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This unique and well-crafted novel grabbed me and refused to let go. I planned on reading it over the course of three or four days. Instead, I stayed up much too late to finish it. This rarely happens to me. I can usually muster the self-discipline to parse out my reading of a book, not this time.

Why was I so taken by this particular book? It is a journey of a boy named Nate who thinks he is losing his mind. His older brother apparently lost his and was admitted by their mother to a mental institution. This along with the Outviews he experiences has Nate worried. What is an Outview? They are dreams/visions/journeys taking Nate to historical times in the past. One of his Outviews took him to the Civil War. I won’t list more; you need to discover the richness of this book on your own. Nate also hears voices, along with other symptoms usually associated with a mental illness such as schizophrenia.

The storyline is fast, interesting and most importantly (to me) well written. This book will not disappoint you if you are a fan of Science Fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Some if this book was written beautifully and made my cry with clear descriptions on past life's but I just didn't like the way the book was packed with so much information and flicked so quick from one thing to another.
It just wasn't a book for me thought it was more Science fiction than fantasy if love Science fiction you will love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1): Mystical Fantasy Thriller, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book, OUTVIEW (by Brandt Legg), right at the outset, promises much. It is, first of all, (quote) "the best selling first book of the Outmove (The Inner Movement) Book 2 & 3 - A mystical fantasy thriller." (unquote) It is also Great Fun. It is Thrilling. It is Eventful. The premise and title of this suspense, supernatural thriller caught my attention and promised a very enjoyable read. I was not disappointed. Not at all.

From the beginning, the characters are great and easy to relate to, especially Nate, who has visions of dying, repeatedly, again and again, in all sorts of ways. Nate serves the purpose, for me, of making me appreciate living. Death is going to happen, and it is a good idea to live first, since you only live once? Right?

Anyway, this book is in a class of its own when it comes to suspense and plot development. Take a break from whatever kinds of novels that you're currently reading and read this one - there's nothing else like it. For fans of the genre, you are going to be in for a real treat. As you can see, this book will appeal to readers at all levels: for teenagers, young adults, adults like me (middle-aged), on and on to the most advanced ages. There is truly something here for everyone. Enthusiastically recommended.

Reviewed by Thomas Jerome Baker
Author of How to Teach Debating: Theory & Practical Handbook for the Non-Native Teacher,Debate Coach & International English Language Learner Worldwide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time is Strange, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
So strange in fact that I couldn't believe I'd finished this book. I have had the pleasure of reading many genres of writing and never judge anything until I have tried it. This is a little, just a little, like The Celestine Prophecies due to the spiritual principles inherent in the book as well as the chase. That's not a spoiler BTW! In every other way it is significantly different in character construction, cohesion and tension.

It kept me on the edge right until the very last word and I'm itching to read the second part which I've just purchased.

Outview is free on Kindle: you have nothing to lose so I implore you to put aside any possible prejudice and read a good old-fashioned suspense thriller with some New-Age Spiritual twists thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not possible to put down, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
One of the better books that I have read recently. A brilliant story complete with twists and turn that will make you want this book never end, at the same time you want to continue reading and find out what is next. Good Vs Evil story, with a no apparant loose ends. Some of the charaters might have been explored a little futher, but that just me want to read more, than any complains about the writing.

Only got the this one as it was being offered free on Kindle. Bought the next two books in the triology as soon as I finished this one.
Definitely recommended.

Enough said. need to start book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing to find such concepts..., 14 Nov 2013
By 
Viktoria Gy Duda (Greater London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a remarkable book and I found it refreshing to find a something written for a young audience which "points somewhere else". The story is written as a thrilling adventure story of the supernatural kind, yet there is a meaning behind it, which seems to serve a much greater purpose than merely to entertain. If you like a read which pushes out the barriers of your thinking, broadens your beliefs, and even points towards a new paradigm, a new understanding of reality... I can fully recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outview Review, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Outview by Brandt Legg is a refreshingly different YA urban fantasy full of mysticism and spiritualism. 16 year old Nathan Ryder has been suffering for years with what he calls Outviews - vivid and often painfully realistic dreams. He is terrified he is going insane like his older brother Dustin, now locked up in a mental institute by their mother. His father also had the same visions and died of a heart attack. Nathan is desperate to solve the puzzle of his visions and slowly he is shown what they mean by strangers who burst into his life warning him he is in danger. As Nathan learns to handle his flashbacks so he realises what they are telling him - that he has a dangerous quest to fulfil and he must face an insidious enemy so powerful that all seems pointless and futile.
But Nathan has great friends who rally around him and help him through his trials and as he comes to understand the power at his fingertips - healing, time viewing and controlling consciousness through mother nature, he decides to confront his enemy and save his brother. Little does Nathan realise the terrible cost he must bear. Every page was a must read. Every chapter flowed into the next seamlessly and the book had the perfect midway turning point that upped the ante and the stakes.
This FIVE STAR fantasy is a must read for anyone who wonders what is out there - is there more to this mundane existence? If you want to be gripped by the scruff of the neck and dragged breathless to the last page then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outview (The Inner Movement Book 1)
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews