Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs.Brown takes to the stage again!
Following the huge success of 'Good Mourning Mrs.Brown', Agnes takes to the stage again with another live tour of the popular comedy 'Mrs.Brown's Boys'. Brendan O'Carroll, Eilish O'Carroll and Jennifer Gibney star in 'Mrs.Brown Rides Again'. The beauty of the wonderful B.B.C. comedy series and these stage shows is the superb performance from Brendan O'Carroll, his...
Published 4 months ago by Simon Martin

versus
52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars expecting something new but got a lot of repeats!
firstly i'd like to say that my family and i totally love Mrs Brown's Boys and i was gutted when i couldn't go to see it live. i was obviously pleased when i found out that the tour was coming out on dvd! however,i was so disappointed with this one.so much of the material and story line had already been done in the series!
examples (possible spoilers if you have not...
Published 4 months ago by Lena platt


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs.Brown takes to the stage again!, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Simon Martin (u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following the huge success of 'Good Mourning Mrs.Brown', Agnes takes to the stage again with another live tour of the popular comedy 'Mrs.Brown's Boys'. Brendan O'Carroll, Eilish O'Carroll and Jennifer Gibney star in 'Mrs.Brown Rides Again'. The beauty of the wonderful B.B.C. comedy series and these stage shows is the superb performance from Brendan O'Carroll, his performance is faultless and with his great attention to detail, he has created a more than believable character, i think Agnes Brown (based on O'Carroll's own mother), reminds us all of someone we know, or once knew. The B.B.C. series is based on the stage shows, so most of Mrs.Brown's comic antics, you will already have seen on the T.V.series, such as Agnes Brown's painful bikini wax and Cathy's boyfriend Professor Clowne, (or 'Clown' as Agnes calls him). Personally i don't mind seeing these antics again, in this live show from the Echo Arena, because the stage shows have such a different feel to them, for instance Agnes Brown is just as foul mouthed, but O'Carroll plays her as less agile and less hyperactive and Grandad lives in an old people's home, (with Agnes taking him out of the home at weekends), other differences are the costumes, sets and make-up. In 'Good Mourning' Brendan O'Carroll donned a slightly different wig, also Eilish O'Carroll as Winnie was wearing a slightly different pair of spectacles, hairnet and pinny etc, the reason for this is for the series, the costumes etc are provided by and belong to the B.B.C. so for the stage shows, all props and costumes, (which probably belong to Brendan O'Carroll Productions) are acquired and used solely for the stage, (though in 'Mrs.Brown Rides Again', O'Carroll's wig is more like the B.B.C.version). Brendan O'Carroll is great at 'off the cuff' one liners, 'Mrs.Brown's Boys' is a unique and very funny comedy, one of the things that make it unique is all ad-libs and corpsing is kept in and 'Mrs.Brown Rides Again' is no exception, throughout the entire show O'Carroll delivers the ad-libs, thick and fast, resulting in the cast corpsing in every scene and sending the audience into fits of uncontrollable laughter! there is more ad-libbing, corpsing and laughter, than on the B.B.C.series, (even Brendan himself, has a job to keep a straight face), if you thought 'Good Mourning Mrs.Brown' was funny, buy this. O'Carroll is the best female impersonator since 'the greats', George Logan and Patrick Fyffe (Hinge & Bracket) and Arthur Lucan, (Old Mother Riley).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars expecting something new but got a lot of repeats!, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
firstly i'd like to say that my family and i totally love Mrs Brown's Boys and i was gutted when i couldn't go to see it live. i was obviously pleased when i found out that the tour was coming out on dvd! however,i was so disappointed with this one.so much of the material and story line had already been done in the series!
examples (possible spoilers if you have not seen the series):
1. Winnie's Jacko goes to hospital and she can't afford to pay for him to have his operation
2. Dermot and Buster do a scam selling tickets for charity
3. kathy's professor wants (and does) interview Mrs Brown
4. Mrs Brown thinks her children want to put her in a home.
a lot of the jokes are the same as well,so if you have seen this story line in the series you will have seen whats in most of the live show on this dvd. yes there are some new jokes,but in my opinion not enough to make me happy with buying this and viewing what i have already seen with better sound and camera quality on the show.
i will say that if your a newcomer to this show then its worth a go.i don't know anyone who hasn't fallen head over laughs for it!!plenty of fun to be had with this series,just a shame this dvd didn't live up to my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as funny, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The live tour seems to be made up of all the seasons episodes and as such is a repeat of all the old gags. Enjoyable but nothing new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Brown?, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan. But!
I was expecting something new rather than the best clips of Mrs Brown Boys series 1,2,3 box set.
This DVD is predictable and filmed in an arena. If you own the above don't bother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars De Ja Vu, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Peter Hendry (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great TV series but alas it is simply reproduced on this DVD.
Very little new, funny if you have never seen it before, but only raises a slight smile if you have.
There are some things that you don't mind watching again and some that bore you to death a second time, this
can be watched again, but only just.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but much of the same material., 19 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. S. M. Wood (Wolverhampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do like Mrs Brown - the Mammy- and her crazy brood and this DVD was a good laugh,but to be honest,I was expecting more.Some of the material did seem to have been recycled,so if you are familiar with the Brown brood you will have heard some of it before.More worrying was the fact that there were noticeable pauses between lines - and yes,I know it's ad-lib,but it did sometimes feel a bit stunted.As this is a 'live' tour I was expecting something a bit more risqu than the TV series,but it wasn't much different - in fact,my husband thought the TV shows were funnier.If you buy this DVD you will have a good laugh,but it's nothing 'over the top'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Told this was good., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a present and have been told that it was a good watch - although they are avid Mrs Brown fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sooooo Funny, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy the series on TV this is definitely for you. I laughed so much I cried. I would recommend you buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Mrs Brown's show on tv & loved this DVD, not as funny as the TV shows a little bit long winded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lived up to my expectations as usual never stopped laughing I would recommend mrs brown to anyone who has a sence of humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad2bbc6c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews