Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not be afraid to purchase this album - delightful music to be shared ...
A thoroughly enjoyable listening experience from beginning to end. Approachable and accessible choral music for everyone. A sheer delight and pleasure. Congratulations to all involved - Truro Cathedral Choir and Philip Stopford.
Published 16 months ago by Haydn & Jasper

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2Weeks wait But the recording is stunning!
I waited over 2 Weeks for this CD to arrive, which I thought was poor. However, once I had the recording in my hand I have not stopped playing it as is stunning. I heartily recommend this and do not want this rating to be a reflection of the product but of the purchasing service.
Published 14 months ago by E Nicholls


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not be afraid to purchase this album - delightful music to be shared ..., 30 May 2013
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
A thoroughly enjoyable listening experience from beginning to end. Approachable and accessible choral music for everyone. A sheer delight and pleasure. Congratulations to all involved - Truro Cathedral Choir and Philip Stopford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful choral music from emerging composer, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
The choral music of the young English composer Philip Stopford, now based in N Ireland, is attractive and very approachable. This collection includes several pieces commissioned by Truro Cathedral choir, where Stopford spent time as its Organ Scholar. Truro has wonderful acoustics and a splendid Father Willis organ. It also has a quite superb cathedral choir and an inspirational Director of Music in Christopher Grey.
Most people's favourite may be the title track,but the highlight for me is the wonderful unaccompanied setting of the Evening Canticles, commissioned by the choir for a BBC Choral Evensong broadcast in 2012. Beautifully sung and atmospherically recorded, this disc was an unexpected pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and beautiful, 8 Oct 2013
By 
A. J. Gallop (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful recording and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for music that offers peace and tranquility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 23 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
The choir at Truro Cathedral have brought together the best of the talented young British choral composer, Philip Stopford. The album includes the spine-tingling beauty of his "Lully, Lulla, Lullay" Christmas lulaby, a tune so spiritually uplifting that you have to stop whatever you're doing to listen. However, this is clearly not just a Christmas album and will delight all lovers of church choral music with songs such as Episcopal Jubilate and the album's title track Do Not Be Afraid throughout the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd title, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
great music, lovely singing, happy memories of a holiday in Truro and visiting the cathedral - heard it on Classic fm and enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh music, 21 Jun 2014
By 
mr m alexander (birmingham, w. mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
Great young composer of accessible choral music with a distinctive signature. Some beautifully reflective, others make you want to get up and sing along. A great find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just arrived!!!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
I am delighted with this C D --a brilliant young composer---beautiful choral singing--& so pleased to hear that Philip Stopford's "Lully Lullay" was among Classic F M suggestions for the top 300 classics this year ! Bliss !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truro Cathedral Choir, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
Lovely music sung by a first rate choir.
Bought the CD after hearing their concert in our church on St Marys, Isles of Scilly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent composer, 12 Sep 2013
By 
F. Yunnie "soprano" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
There are some lovely pieces on this CD, I particularly like some of the harmonies something sadly lacking in many living composers. The only critism I have is that it's a bit 'samey' if you listen to the whole CD at once, but having said that, I really love his music and arrangements and will be hoping to sing some in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 4 Sep 2014
This review is from: Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid (Audio CD)
Sublime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid
Philip Stopford: Do Not Be Afraid by Truro Cathedral Choir (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews