Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No words to describe the feeling ...
I got the DVD, I've been buying from amazon for 13 years, this is my first review ...
Living in France, I just can say I've always been attracted to dolphins and whales since I can't even remember when. Maybe Free willy movies were part of it. The first thing I wanted to do when I went to California 10 years ago was to see an orca for real ... For real, meant the...
Published 18 months ago by Larvor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It fails to look at any aspect of it's subject matter with the depth I would like is perhaps the best explanation
I am not too sure why I do not think much of this documentary. It fails to look at any aspect of it's subject matter with the depth I would like is perhaps the best explanation. I love Orca's and wish to see them in the wild, however, taking the historical approach the documentary places blame and fails to consider the questions raised when considering what should be done...
Published 1 month ago by 521521


‹ Previous | 116 17 1825 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should see this film, 28 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone should see this film, it shows clearly that Orca should NEVER be kept in captivity, proves that we should never again visit places like Seaworld where people and animals are exploited shamelessly for money and so many lies are told. I have great sympathy for the trainers who lost their lives and for their families but my sorrow for the Orca themselves is much greater, their treatment over so many years is truly horrific. The argument that they could not survive in the wild does not, to me at least, justify their continued captivity. In their situation what would you choose I wonder?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story that needed telling, 24 Oct. 2013
By 
Lossandria "Kez" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot recommend this dvd too highly. The story is one that needed telling and has been well constructed and put across. Every person should watch this and 'The Cove'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
To all fellow animal lovers out there, this film is a must see. Although sealife/marinworld is in the USA and we have no marine parks in the UK, this film is very relevant to the British tourist. Do not fund this cruelty. The film is a shocking eye opener and very sad. Orcas, sea lions and dolphins do not belong in tanks. Watch the film and you will agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see!, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute must see documentary. After watching this you will think twice about EVER going to a sea world/sea parks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Revealing, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
This is the truth about the sad lives of orcas in captivity, the covered up stories, proof its so wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See for Any Animal Lover, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes, being an animal lover means that you have to see some horrible things. This documentary is one of those things. It was heartbreaking to watch - due to both the deaths of the trainers and the suffering the orcas go through for the sake of human entertainment. If you have ever been to, or intended to go to a SeaWorld park PLEASE watch this first. You'll want to do nothing more than spit at the ground as you pass them.

The film highlights the deaths and injuries that captive orcas, especially Tilikum, have inflicted on their trainers. It also shows the stress and emotional trauma that these amazing animals go through whilst being held in captivity. Seeing the heartbreak of a mother orca after her calf has been taken away from her is one of the saddest things I have ever seen. The shocking revelations made in this film show SeaWorld for what it really is - a prison for intelligent, emotional animals that deserve so much better.

For those interested in more, it is well worth the read to go onto the blackfish website and read the statement that SeaWorld put out in responce to the film, as well as blackfish's response to those statements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Film, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I found this a thought provoking film, and theme parks need to take on board the research that has come from films like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just watch it - sea world revealed, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
If you have been to sea world and conned into the fairy tale world they portray you MUST watch this film to see the ugly truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating film everyone needs to see!, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that NEEDS to be watched by everyone, especially for families and children who are dreaming of going to SeaWorld, as this will most likely change their mind when they find out the truth behind their concrete Orca pens. There is no acting or reconstruction which I really appreciated as it was all real information and real footage. I was amazed at the professionalism within this movie as it sticks to the story and doesn't over exaggerate. It tells the straight facts about the incidents and the journey to what resulted in Tilikum's attack. I highly respect everyone who have now told us what goes on behind the scenes and what actually happens in the Orca captivity industry. Buy it and tell others to buy it! You will not be disappointed by this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heartbreaking, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
informative, heartbreaking.... there just arent enough words. i cried through most of this. Sadly the people who watch films like this are often not the ones who need to watch it. Cetaceans dont belong in captivity and this film explains why on so many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1825 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackfish [DVD]
Blackfish [DVD] by Gabriela Cowperthwaite (DVD - 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews