Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential viewing
Blackfish throws up some interesting points of view in its taut 80 minutes. Exposing the ill-treatment of Killer Whales in the marine entertainment industry, it focuses the full force of its ire at the renowned SeaWorld, whilst not allowing those of its ilk to completely escape unscathed either. Using the case book of accidents, incidents and killings that have occurred...
Published 17 months ago by G. Wetherall

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SeaWorld Exposed - But Doesn't Probe Deep Enough...
From the point of view of a biologist/conservationist/animal rights activist, this film is a huge missed opportunity for divulging or sharing interesting information about Orcas - what is known about their capabilities for diving, travelling, hunting, etc in the wild. The message could have carried a greater punch with more of this; had the viewer been able to learn a...
Published 9 months ago by teresa


‹ Previous | 114 15 1621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant documentary, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I wish everyone in the world would watch this. A very true account that brings to light the awful reality of captive world and the ignorance of the muti billion dollar business of Seaworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see. People that like this kind of shows should see it in order to be aware of reallity., 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
As a person who is in love with nature, I think this people should see this so they can know what's going on behin the scenes. Be aware when you go to a place where animal are the center of the atention. To protect there are natural reserves.. Aquaparks, Zoos, or what ever people pay to have fun, are a different story...a sad story to be honest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
this is an amazing watch .i was shocked at what i saw i will never visit sea world ever again the whales are not to be blamed but mans greed usig these creatures as circus nimals man is the culprit here .yes people need to see certain animals in capativity but these poor souls are kept as circus animals in fish bowls .shame on sea world you took him from the ocean this was his revenge just a shame it was against the lady that loved him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blackfish is a factful display of why killer whales should not be in captivity., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
A documentary that began through the director having no insight into the topic, in other words, she is not an animal rights activitist. She successfully explains the facts behind what happens to killer whales in captivity. Some excellent contributions and an emotional delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what an eye opener for seaworld lovers around the world, 2 Nov 2013
By 
N. Kirby (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I before watching this movie knew of the cruelties that are handed out to caught and captive cetaceans around the world.

With this i thought this was going to be quite a tame production of cetaceans in society how i was so very wrong, this film makes the stuffed shamu teddy buying sea world public open their eyes to the real goings on behind the pantomime known as the shamu show and believe shows amongst many others.

i have never been to any of these shows for the reason i respect cetaceans and feel there's only one show they should be in and that's the one where they are in the oceans being observed from afar. i can see how the lovely blue water in the tanks and the giant screens would entice anyone that these animals were really happy and doing it for the love of it we as cetacean lovers know this isn't true, we know half the time they are doing it as they have had their food held back until they behave correctly.

i listened with open ears to the trainers explaining how they didn't know tilikums history i think after finding the homeless man being paraded around on tilikums back was enough for me to say to my bosses "i hope you don't mind i think i would prefer to be the one that fills the fish buckets i don't want to be a trainer anymore"

mind you i don't think my beer belly would of been well received by the cetaceans or public whilst i parade around in a lycra swimming suit ergh the thoughts putting me off me tea lol

But seriously i do have more respect to the ones that didn't see these cruelties first hand but who know its morally wrong i can assure you i wouldn't of stayed after seeing a tiny amount of what the trainers saw

but not everyone knows when to quit

i just hope we can continue now to keep this topic in the public eye it would be so sad to see this film and books ie David Kirbys Death at Seaworld fade away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and makes you sit up and take notice, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
Blackfish is a harrowing and imformative docu film which shows you the realities of keeping Killer Whales in captivity. Warning you may not want to go to Sea World again after watching this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant documentary. Very well researched and presented. Just gives the facts and no sensationalism involved. Anyone who watches this and still thinks cetaceans in captivity are ok are either very stupid or very twisted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
AMAZING FILM if you have ever been to sea world this will sadden and shock you , see the truth about the captivity of Orcas, beautiful creatures kept for entertainment !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should see this film, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone should see this film, it shows clearly that Orca should NEVER be kept in captivity, proves that we should never again visit places like Seaworld where people and animals are exploited shamelessly for money and so many lies are told. I have great sympathy for the trainers who lost their lives and for their families but my sorrow for the Orca themselves is much greater, their treatment over so many years is truly horrific. The argument that they could not survive in the wild does not, to me at least, justify their continued captivity. In their situation what would you choose I wonder?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story that needed telling, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Lossandria "Kez" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot recommend this dvd too highly. The story is one that needed telling and has been well constructed and put across. Every person should watch this and 'The Cove'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackfish [DVD]
Blackfish [DVD] by Gabriela Cowperthwaite (DVD - 2013)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews