Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Whale
Blackfish is a powerful and shameful documentary exposing the cruelty and unsuitability of containing killer whales at theme parks focusing on one Orca in particular, Tilikum, who has been involved in a number of animal trainer attacks and fatalities.

Tilikum was originally captured from the wild, removed from his family pod and and has been kept for 30 years...
Published 11 months ago by All of them Witches

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated in my opinion.
I didnt find this movie as interesting as I had hoped it would be. Its worth a look but dont watch it with high expectations and then you may not be disappointed.
Published 1 month ago by Linney 30


‹ Previous | 113 14 1519 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A most thought provoking film, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched this online with my daughter I have since sky+ it and bought it on dvd. I have been a Seaworld fan since 1998 - particularly the Shamu show. My daughter's ambition was to be a Dolphin trainer at Seaworld ( and had started undergoing the training ( until her eardrum burst in dive training) so as you can see we were both sold on Seaworld. We watched this together and fell into a stunned silence at the end of it. We both turned to each other, with tears in our eyes, and both said, simultaneously, "I feel so ashamed"
This film features Tilikum - the Orca that "killed" his trainer in 2010. It makes difficult viewing and exposes the truth about these animal water parks Seaworld included. How naive I have been all these years to think that any where, Seaworld included, can ever recreate the conditions needed for keeping these magnificent creatures in captivity. Of course it is not possible so therefore it is cruelty.
Tilikum over his 32(?) years in captivity - not all at Seaworld - has killed 3 people and of course you feel deeply for the victims family and friends but you also (well we did) feel deeply for the Orca. He is still at Seaworld and is brought out now at the end of the show to "wave" and splash and then he is kept in solitary when these animals like to live in family groups.
I am still of the opinion that these animals are majestic and beautiful and awe inspiring and a part of me is still happy that I have seen them so close up but this film has educated me and I would strongly recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening must see!, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
A really gripping documentary from start to finish. The subject matter of orca captivity is of interest to me anyway but friends and family were left shocked after viewing this intense and sad film.
....You'll never go to Sea World again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see film if you care about animals in captivity, 22 Nov 2013
By 
M. Anderson (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I um-ed and ah-ed about watching this film as I knew it would make for uncomfortable viewing. I have strong beliefs about animals in captivity and I knew that this film was going to make me really sad and even more cynical about humans and their abusive treatment of animals.

It is truly horrible to think about what humans did in the past (and possibly still do??) with capturing wild orcas and seeing the footage is really pretty horrendous - thankfully though the film didn't focus on this point too much. The film however was pretty much based on Tilikum and the events surrounding his attacks on trainers. It did discuss other orcas who too had had issues thus confirming that this is not an isolated case of one difficult creature but that there is something inherently wrong with the whole industry.

The film does make you stop and question to what extent ANY animal should be exhibited, not just orcas kept in 'bathtubs' for their entire lives. I have been guilty of going to zoos and enjoying seeing animals that I would never get to see in 'real life' but this film does push home the idea that wild capture and containment of animals even in the most natural of settings, cannot provide those animals with a 'natural' existence. But worse still, when animals are made to perform for humans, it comes at a very large price to the animal - and as is made perfectly clear by this film, a very large price to those who train and take care of these animals; they are wild creatures and can never be taken for granted.

I would hope that this film does what it sets out to accomplish and that is that the public are made more aware of the suffering of these wonderful, intelligent creatures and that hopefully in time, these aquariums will shut down as people protest with their feet and stop going. So watch it and pass it on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awkward, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
Never saw a film like that before. It's a documentary, so it's real. It's shocking, almost unbelieveable and disgusting. That makes it a must-see-movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant documentary, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I wish everyone in the world would watch this. A very true account that brings to light the awful reality of captive world and the ignorance of the muti billion dollar business of Seaworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see. People that like this kind of shows should see it in order to be aware of reallity., 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
As a person who is in love with nature, I think this people should see this so they can know what's going on behin the scenes. Be aware when you go to a place where animal are the center of the atention. To protect there are natural reserves.. Aquaparks, Zoos, or what ever people pay to have fun, are a different story...a sad story to be honest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
this is an amazing watch .i was shocked at what i saw i will never visit sea world ever again the whales are not to be blamed but mans greed usig these creatures as circus nimals man is the culprit here .yes people need to see certain animals in capativity but these poor souls are kept as circus animals in fish bowls .shame on sea world you took him from the ocean this was his revenge just a shame it was against the lady that loved him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blackfish is a factful display of why killer whales should not be in captivity., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
A documentary that began through the director having no insight into the topic, in other words, she is not an animal rights activitist. She successfully explains the facts behind what happens to killer whales in captivity. Some excellent contributions and an emotional delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what an eye opener for seaworld lovers around the world, 2 Nov 2013
By 
N. Kirby (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I before watching this movie knew of the cruelties that are handed out to caught and captive cetaceans around the world.

With this i thought this was going to be quite a tame production of cetaceans in society how i was so very wrong, this film makes the stuffed shamu teddy buying sea world public open their eyes to the real goings on behind the pantomime known as the shamu show and believe shows amongst many others.

i have never been to any of these shows for the reason i respect cetaceans and feel there's only one show they should be in and that's the one where they are in the oceans being observed from afar. i can see how the lovely blue water in the tanks and the giant screens would entice anyone that these animals were really happy and doing it for the love of it we as cetacean lovers know this isn't true, we know half the time they are doing it as they have had their food held back until they behave correctly.

i listened with open ears to the trainers explaining how they didn't know tilikums history i think after finding the homeless man being paraded around on tilikums back was enough for me to say to my bosses "i hope you don't mind i think i would prefer to be the one that fills the fish buckets i don't want to be a trainer anymore"

mind you i don't think my beer belly would of been well received by the cetaceans or public whilst i parade around in a lycra swimming suit ergh the thoughts putting me off me tea lol

But seriously i do have more respect to the ones that didn't see these cruelties first hand but who know its morally wrong i can assure you i wouldn't of stayed after seeing a tiny amount of what the trainers saw

but not everyone knows when to quit

i just hope we can continue now to keep this topic in the public eye it would be so sad to see this film and books ie David Kirbys Death at Seaworld fade away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and makes you sit up and take notice, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
Blackfish is a harrowing and imformative docu film which shows you the realities of keeping Killer Whales in captivity. Warning you may not want to go to Sea World again after watching this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1519 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackfish [DVD]
Blackfish [DVD] by Gabriela Cowperthwaite (DVD - 2013)
£7.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews