Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another American conspiracy
Seeing Mark Wahlberg promoting this film drunk on the Graham Norton show I was not surprised to find him playing another cop with a drink problem. This time he is an ex-cop who was given a way out by the mayor when he shot someone in cold blood. Seven years later and he is a private eye whom the mayor employs to find out with whom his wife is having an affair only days...
Published 23 months ago by PJ Rankine

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute power
Broken City has a great cast though all involved have done much better and the film is trying hard to be the next Chinatown or Big Sleep. Mark Wahlberg plays disgraced ex cop now a private investigator who gets hired by the mayor of New York played by Russell Crowe who wants him to follow his wife played by Catherine Zeta Jones who he thinks is having an affair. Sounds...
Published on 6 Mar. 2013 by Mr. R. W. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Decent effort plenty of plot twists good cast like a lot of Mark Wahlberg movies leaves you slightly disappointed at the end but OK if cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommend watching this film, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Brilliant film. I love Mark Wahlberg. Have watched it twice. Highly recommend this to everyone. I have most of his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all rounder., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I bought this film because it has Russell Crowe in it and for me he can't do anything wrong.The story could be better but generally a decent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
Ian Brownley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Yes , quite a good movie but the sound was not up to standard ,even with the sound turned up some of the dialogue could not be heard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars broken city, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great film good storyline both actors give great performances recomme nd it to everyone kept me concentrating till the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Good acting by the stars, all played a good part Story line easy to follow, but did not pass it on to family or friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, just not one of the greats, 2 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story in interesting and keeps you watching to see what happens next, but I am not sure I would watch it repeatedly (which is why the buy the disc) like some other greats that has the repeat appeal.

I think the gritty scenes do add to the realism of the movie, but make this less appealing for a wider audience. Depends on your taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars boring, boring, 17 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Broken City (Amazon Instant Video)
never seen mark Wahlberg in a bad film but I must admit I found this one boring and debated about watching it till the end.
but I persevered.
just to find the whole film stayed on the same boring lines.
just wouldn't recommend watching this..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Boy came good in the end!, 13 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Broken City (DVD)
Great movie lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing never a dull moment and acting from the entire cast was spot on I particularly liked the ending "the boy came good in the end" tale never tires where I'm concerned! Bottom line I'd recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another movie about American Politics - Yawn, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you enjoy American Politics and actors like Russell Crowe and Mark Wahlberg then this film is for you however if you're sick of the back stabbing , corrupt and idiotic way they hold elections over the pond then don't bother watching. The film is basically about a disgraced cop (Mark Wahlberg) who turns to being a private eye and gets in over his head and the proverbial hits the fan. It wouldn't have been so bad if most of the dialogue hadn't been so indistinct and mumbled to such an extent that a lot of the movie was indecipherable. We all know that the majority of politicians are crooks no matter where the ply their trade - please let us have hope that maybe out there a few people in office are completely altruistic or are we being too optimistic !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken City [DVD] [2013]
Broken City [DVD] [2013] by Allen Hughes (DVD - 2013)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews