Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another American conspiracy
Seeing Mark Wahlberg promoting this film drunk on the Graham Norton show I was not surprised to find him playing another cop with a drink problem. This time he is an ex-cop who was given a way out by the mayor when he shot someone in cold blood. Seven years later and he is a private eye whom the mayor employs to find out with whom his wife is having an affair only days...
Published 16 months ago by PJ Rankine

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute power
Broken City has a great cast though all involved have done much better and the film is trying hard to be the next Chinatown or Big Sleep. Mark Wahlberg plays disgraced ex cop now a private investigator who gets hired by the mayor of New York played by Russell Crowe who wants him to follow his wife played by Catherine Zeta Jones who he thinks is having an affair. Sounds...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good all rounder., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I bought this film because it has Russell Crowe in it and for me he can't do anything wrong.The story could be better but generally a decent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Ian Brownley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Yes , quite a good movie but the sound was not up to standard ,even with the sound turned up some of the dialogue could not be heard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars broken city, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great film good storyline both actors give great performances recomme nd it to everyone kept me concentrating till the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Good acting by the stars, all played a good part Story line easy to follow, but did not pass it on to family or friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, just not one of the greats, 2 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story in interesting and keeps you watching to see what happens next, but I am not sure I would watch it repeatedly (which is why the buy the disc) like some other greats that has the repeat appeal.

I think the gritty scenes do add to the realism of the movie, but make this less appealing for a wider audience. Depends on your taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great cast & production, but left me unfulfilled, 27 Jun 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Broken City follows anti hero NYPD police detective Billy Taggart (Wahlberg) who is honorably discharged from his job after a controversial shooting, and goes into business for himself as a private investigator. Several years pass & he is contacted by Mayor Hostetler (Crowe) who engineered his dismissal while saving Taggert's & the NYPD's respect, want's him to follow his wife Cathleen (Zeta-Jones) who he suspects of cheating on him. But as things unravel, it turns out that this is no simple case of adultery.

The production value & cast of this movie gave me an uplifting confidence right from the beginning as the camera pans across the New York City skyline, this is going to be something special & not just another run of the mill corruption movie. However, despite the good acting performances from Mark Wahlberg, Russell Crowe, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Jeffrey Wright, Barry Pepper, Kyle Chandler & impressive newcomer Alona Tal. Over it's 1 hour 30 minute run time, this crime drama doesn't have many surprises up it's sleeve, as you can see things coming before it gets there, albeit with some nice dialogue & one interesting plot twist, but ultimately stale story that the actors try they're best with. While it is interesting & humorous to follow in places, it offers nothing new to the genre & no stand out excitement, be it action or tension/suspense. Indeed this is a very different movie than i'm used to seeing Mark Walhberg in, it's very slow paced & Wahlberg's character is quite happy to be a pawn, blindly following orders from others, rather then his usual strong willed characters he is known for.

In conclusion, Broken City has all the right components for a great film, but just ends up being a forgettable run of the mill corruption crime drama with the odd moment of humor & intrigue to keep you watching thanks to the great cast & some nice dialogue in places. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'CONSPIRACY IS THE NAME OF THE GAME', 26 Jun 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
must admit I was all set to give the film a score of 3 stars, however the
final third rescued it some.
the main story starts during a election campaign in which the long-term
mayor 'Nicholas Hostetler' has some catching up to do, the corrupt official
isn't to bothered how it's achieved in truth.
he hires a private eye 'Billy Taggart' who years before he had saved from
certain imprisonment on a murder charge, he offers 'Billy' 50.000 dollars
to gather evidence against his wife who he claims is having an affair,
it's a lot of money to 'Billy' right now, so he accepts the job.
however the Mayor isn't being truthful of his motives, after a killing
'Billy's' client loyalty becomes a matter of conscience, he feels he's
been played.
a superb cast-list, sadly the film struggles to hold ones attention early
on, it seems a long wait before the film becomes a whole lot more interesting,
and the plot unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Boy came good in the end!, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Broken City (DVD)
Great movie lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing never a dull moment and acting from the entire cast was spot on I particularly liked the ending "the boy came good in the end" tale never tires where I'm concerned! Bottom line I'd recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simmering tensions indeed, 25 April 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I always find Wahlberg watchable, he somehow manages to make a hero seem ordinary and accessible. He plays Billy Taggart, a cop turned PI who gets a big payday when he's hired by the Mayor (Crowe) to spy on his wife. Pretty soon Taggart's neck deep in murder, past deeds and corruption. Crowe masterfully underplays his role with a foreboding sense of malice. Alona Tal and Natalie Martinez both shine as Taggart's assistant and girlfriend but Catherine Zeta-Jones has little to do playing Crowe's wife. The plot is interesting and very well acted and the production values are high in an film that turns out to be more drama than thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. M. A. Preece "bluesguitarist" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken City (Amazon Instant Video)
Top performance from the all star cast, one of the best thrillers released recently! All i can say is watch it as you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken City [DVD] [2013]
Broken City [DVD] [2013] by Allen Hughes (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews