Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
377
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 January 2014
This is great Arnie action! IT may be a little far fetched in the basic story but who cares. The Sherrif of a small town is an ex drug enforcement officer who has seen too much blood. The town is almost empty because the residents have gone off for the week end.
A vicious drug baron has escaped for custody and is racing for the Mexican border with only Arnie and a couple of deputies and a couple of towns people to help him. Even the FBI cannot stop the criminal.
From there on in it is all blood and thunder with the usual short sharp humour thrown in.
Think of the early Arnie film Commando. Add a lot more experience and action. Who could ask for more on a saturday evening when all the TV stations are poumping the usual rubbish for the brain dead to watch.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Brilliant film
I know most people would think no way arnies to old
But in this film he proves he can still give an outstanding proformance
With laughs coming from johnny Knoxville this is a brilliant action film
Buy it and enjoy the film
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Pretty far fetched but who cares! Great Film, typical Arnold style like back in the old days.
Full of Action with some comedy and "sad bits" The whole cast seems to work together.
Didn't really any boring moments.
"I'm the Sheriff" Great Line as well as when he says "Old" referring that he's getting on a bit.
After such a while away, he's still got it.
If you like his movies, and want an action packed fun film, then watch this!

By the way, very impressive to see a super fast sports car, driving hours and hours and not stopping once to fill up petrol. Very economical and clever driving LOL
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Sheriff Owens is a man who has resigned himself to a life of fighting what little crime takes place in sleepy border town Sommerton Junction after leaving his LAPD post following a bungled operation that left him wracked with failure and defeat after his partner was crippled. After a spectacular escape from an FBI prisoner convoy, the most notorious, wanted drug kingpin in the hemisphere is hurtling toward the border at 200 mph in a specially outfitted car with a hostage and a fierce army of gang members. He is headed, it turns out, straight for Summerton Junction, where the whole of U.S. law enforcement will have their last opportunity to make a stand and intercept him before he slips across the border forever. At first reluctant to become involved, and then counted out because of the perceived ineptitude of his small town force, Owens ultimately accepts responsibility for the face off.

Arnold Schwarzenegger makes his much-anticipated return to the big screen in Korean director Kim Jee-woon's hard-hitting U.S. directorial debut.

I enjoyed this film as i'm a fan of Arnie and enjoy his films since Conan the Barbarian.

This movie is full of intense, bloody action, exciting car chases and funny one liner's. The film never takes itself too serious (which is good thing) and is surprisingly funny throughout.

Very well directed by Kim Jee-woon, good acting all round. Enjoy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
So what do you want for a family movie night? Imagine its Friday night and everyone wants a good gripping yarn - not too heavy, a sense of humour and plenty of action and humour. It has to engage mum and dad as well as kids of a variety of ages.

'The Last Stand' is such a film. It is never too serious; has a slightly predictable story but some fun scenes. And of course it has Arnie. This is frankly almost a 'comeback' movie for him. And his star quality shows. Frankly there were times where he was reminiscent of Clint Eastwood but with a tad heavier build, an accent and more humour / less darkness.

In some ways this is an old fashioned Western movie - with a lone sheriff in the Wild West standing up to outlaws - except it is set in the 21st century. The director (Kim Jee-Woon) has shot this film extremely well and portrayed the contrast between a high tech, high speed metropolis (LA) and an outback, forgotten town (well, actually a village or hamlet) brilliantly. The pace is exquisitely timed.

Indeed this is one of the few films that we have watched twice on family movie nights (in fact I can't remember another film that that applies to)!

The one (minor) criticism is that given we watched this on family movie night not all the swearing is strictly necessary. However don't let this put you off as I feel I am being a tad over pedantic - but it is something parents might just want to be alert to; of course it is rated a 15 - but it could very easily have been a 12 with a little script editing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
This was a great solo comeback nearly 10 years after terminator 3 was released with arnie in the main role.
Arnie got more screening time in the expendables 2 movie and then released this action flick which is a great 80s old school just like we used to know.
The movie was exactly like it should be and i will add it to my arnie dvd collection.
buy it and enjoy...
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
It starts and end in the way you expect, but the story takes some turns and moods tht are quite unusual for an action film.
The reason is the director is an asian exprt of crime/action films and, although not receiving a full authonomy in Hollywood, he managed to make it less common and more enjoyable than you would expect
...there something of an author about this film: it's ironic and surreal, somehow "cinefil": pity that Schwarzy doesn't stick out as he should
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Always been a big Arnie fan,and this film was new to me.I thought it was a bit slow to get going but once it did the action came pretty thick and fast.Blu Ray picture quality was very crisp,very little (if any) grain,even on dark scenes. Played it through my 160w sound bar. . .and it nearly took my head off,sound was amazing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
I was intrigued by the trailer for this. I wasnt sure if it would live up to the hype but for the price I thought I would take a chance being a bit of an Arnie fan. The film itself is a good mix of action and comedy and Schwarzenegger plays his role very well. The picture and sound quality are what I would expect from Blu-Ray. The final fight on the bridge didnt grip me but I liked the Red Zone ending (Will not spoil it for those who dont know what I mean).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Armie was never the best of actors, but he has done better than the rather wooden acting in this film. Definitely looks like he was dragged out of retirement for this one. That having been said, it's a fun actioner, though the scenarios are rather implausible, and the dialogue and stereotyping are very corny. The gun fights are realistic enough, though the car chases take a bit of imagination. And people keep popping up in places they couldn't possibly have got to that quickly and without being seen first! But I suppose you have to accept all that for a bit of enjoyable entertainment to pass the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)