Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money
I decided to buy this altimeter for my walks in the Peak District. Though reading of reports made me sceptical this small gadget demonstrates surprisingly good accuracy. So far I checked it for 18 points read from OS maps and the readings were within 10m for 14 of them. The maximum deviation reached 17m but was probably caused by wind turbulence at the peak. Thermometer...
Published 12 months ago by Alex Beetle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very accurate
It tells the time well but after that it goes downhill. It seems to overstate the temperature and the compass takings seem to fluctuate unless you place it on a solid surface. As for the altimeter well it was within 100 feet on Ben Nevis, overstated Scafell Pike by 500 feet but understated Snowdon by 450 feet. Best to use it as a rough gauge, but given its price it was...
Published 6 months ago by P A STEBBINGS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
I decided to buy this altimeter for my walks in the Peak District. Though reading of reports made me sceptical this small gadget demonstrates surprisingly good accuracy. So far I checked it for 18 points read from OS maps and the readings were within 10m for 14 of them. The maximum deviation reached 17m but was probably caused by wind turbulence at the peak. Thermometer is definitely accurate within 1C.
The main problem is insufficient thermal insulation. The best use would be to carry it on a strip and avoid touching unnecessarily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very accurate, 27 Aug. 2014
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
It tells the time well but after that it goes downhill. It seems to overstate the temperature and the compass takings seem to fluctuate unless you place it on a solid surface. As for the altimeter well it was within 100 feet on Ben Nevis, overstated Scafell Pike by 500 feet but understated Snowdon by 450 feet. Best to use it as a rough gauge, but given its price it was sufficient for my needs, but long term I would invest in a proper GPS unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars solid construction, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
BOUGHT IT TO REPLACE A WATCH THAT HAD THE SAME APPS ON. THE WATCH COST OVER 50 POUNDS AND I DIDNT WANT TO SPEND SO MUCH AGAIN.
IN THE CAR IT DOESNT SEEM TO REACT VERY QUICKLY ON ALTIMETER SETTING UNTIL YOU ARE HIGHER THAN 400 FEET
IF YOU TRAVEL FROM 150 TO SAY 1000 FEET AND RETURN THE READING CAN TAKE UP TO TWO DAYS TO RETURN TO ITS CORRECT 150 FEET READING BUT IT DOES GET THERE
SEEMS PRETTY ACCURATE WHE COMPARED TO ALTITUDE OBTAINED FROM A MAP
THERMOMETER IS ACCURATE
BAROMETER COMPARED TO A WALL BAROMETER IS PRETTY ACCURATE
COMPASS I CANT SAY AS I DONT KNOW HOW ONE WORKS REALLY BUT IT DOES SAY SOUTH WHEN I POINT IT
TO A KNOWN SOUTH DIRECTION
PROBABLY MOST USEFUL TO HIKERS AND WALKERS
I WOULD RECCOMEND IT AT THIS PRICE
DELIVERY WAS MUCH QUICKER THAN THE 6 WEEKS STATED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
So inaccurate in every function that it is a joke really. Please don't rely on the compass or the altimeter or you'll end up in trouble.
Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Compass is pretty useless, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
Overall very fiddly to set up, but the barometer and temperature work fine.

I primarily bought this for the electronic compass and this is an appalling implementation. First it needs to be used absolutely level, and it needs recalibrating if you move. It specifically states it cannot be used in a moving vehicle. Like any compass it can be affected by any extraneous magnetic field, of which these there are many around, but it cannot be adjusted to reduce their effect in a fixed position.

The killer for me is you need to press the Compass button to go into compass mode, which times out in about 20 seconds. Still I suppose the barometer is useful!

I would not recommend this unit at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent complex instrument at very good price, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
Caddie "caddie" (Helensbugh, Dunbartonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
Selected from a number of other similar products of this nature and only limited use made of it so far. However it has the whole range of functions advertised and will probably take a bit of my time - rightly so - to prepare properly for using it when I'm out hill walking etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Peter Murry (Crete,Greece and the UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
Great tool and has Altitude read out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
It works and seems good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misol Supplier, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
I am now giving this 5* rating to the Supplier Misol because of their fantastic service of dealing with the return of this product and refunding the money without any delay. This product unfortunately was not the perfect one but Misol has dealt with this very efficiently and promptly.
I will not have any hesitation to buy other product in future from them. They are honourable people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Altimeter, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. S. Barr "Sammo" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MISOL 1 unit of Digital LCD compass altimeter thermometer barometer, Water proof (Sports)
Not used it yet, but first impressions are that it is a lot of useful data for such a small price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews