Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive sausage maker's guide
Having been disappointed by other books on the subject, I ordered this. My interest was primarily in fresh sausages, but this book covers a huge breadth of fresh, cooked, and dried, smoked and unsmoked, and every possible ingredient from all around the world. We've branched out from simple British bangers, but we've not yet covered a fifth of what this book has to...
Published on 26 Nov. 2012 by Mr. John Norman

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written - a lost opportunity
I really looked forward to reading this book and was severely disappointed. It does contain a huge amount of information, including large sections of what appears to be advertising for a producer of professional meat processing equipment, complete with product photos, and details around the profitability of meat products depending on the use of certain additives, etc,...
Published 11 months ago by N. J. Bjergstrom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive sausage maker's guide, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been disappointed by other books on the subject, I ordered this. My interest was primarily in fresh sausages, but this book covers a huge breadth of fresh, cooked, and dried, smoked and unsmoked, and every possible ingredient from all around the world. We've branched out from simple British bangers, but we've not yet covered a fifth of what this book has to offer.

It has two great strengths. Half of the book is dedicated to explaining not just how to make the different types of sausage, but why the techniques work. That means that you understand what you're doing, and can confidently make changes in formulations or processes to create your own delicious recipes.

But it also includes a great number of recipes which are meticulously set out. The ones that we've tried work brilliantly (Swedish potato sausage, anyone?) but are also a very sound basis for experimentation.

It covers bacon, hams, brawn, and other preserved meat too. We've cured hams successfully in the past, and this book has inspired us to try again.

Although it's not meant as a simple introductory book, it's perfectly suitable for a beginner, particularly one who is prepared to skip some of the more technical explanations at first. My one criticism of it as a beginner's book is that the first chapter, on the "Principles of Meat Science" is fairly heavy going. If you're new to the game, go straight on to chapter 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written - a lost opportunity, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
N. J. Bjergstrom (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really looked forward to reading this book and was severely disappointed. It does contain a huge amount of information, including large sections of what appears to be advertising for a producer of professional meat processing equipment, complete with product photos, and details around the profitability of meat products depending on the use of certain additives, etc, something of absolutely no interest to the home cook or butcher.

The presentation and editing of the book is terrible. It was obviously written by somebody who did not have English as their first language - the language ranges from somewhat peculiar to nonsense. A good editor would have solved this, just like he would have solved the jumble of American units used throughout the book, with haphazard translation into metric.

Finally, most of the taste references in the book seem to refer to Polish products (that I have never tasted and hence can't relate to), which makes that aspect of the text useless.

This could potentially have been a good book - the authors do know a lot of things (whereas many others seem to be lifted directly from standards or textbooks) but a prerequisite would have been a disciplined editor. As it is the recycle bin is the best place for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars information overload, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Production of Quality Meats and Sausages (Kindle Edition)
this book has everything in it to help make sausages, smoked meats and what cuts to use from pork beef and game it exceeds my expectations gives good pointers for using an electric mincer .overall an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in depth and tecnical, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
V. J. Hepden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Production of Quality Meats and Sausages (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must for the serious sausage maker, although it is biased for the American smoked products it still provides useful background knowledge for the British and European sausage Maker and smoker.
The book covers meat cuts, ingredients and handling techniques as well detailing equipment required and how to make a smoker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Detailed Beginner's Guide, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Production of Quality Meats and Sausages (Kindle Edition)
Very detailed and the science explained well, lots of recipes. Perfect for a beginner. Has measurements in Metric as well as US.
This popped up in the similar items list to the book I wanted and the kindle price was too good to miss, very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic sausage textbook, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of really detailed information, from the Health and Safety to the science behind curing... the bible of cured sausage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Production of Quality Meat & Sausages, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is and excellent book, a bible of it's craft. I am still dipping in and out and haven't covered half of it yet. The book is both a reference and an inspiration for my sausage making and I fully expect to be dipping into it for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book with lots of useful advice, wanting to make some homemade sausages It contained information on recipes, preparation and techniques for making sausages. In addition lots of information on home production of other meats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Production of Quality Meats and Sausages
£4.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews