Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£3.79
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2014
Too many of my choices recently turned out to be Mills and Boon style love stories, which I found a bit tiresome but this was a saga
and although not an entirely happy story it was very compelling.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
This was quite different for me. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it. The trials and tribulations of the families involved and the ingenuity with which the they coped over the years was marvellous. there was also the interesting background of the conflict in malaya. A good read.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
I really enjoyed this book , couldn't wait to find out what happened next and quite fell in love with the characters especially Sum sum
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
The House of Trembling Leaves
Inhabiting worlds of privilege and worlds of adversity, the cast of characters in THE HOUSE OF TREMBLING LEAVES encompasses the lovable and the unlovable, the quirky and the very funny. Colonial, war-time and post-colonial Malaysia are wonderfully evoked, and the tastes and smells of the East come to life on the page. The friendship between two women, Lu See and Sum Sum, and the harrowing secret they share, is central to the plot, and villainy stalks the novel from the beginning. This is a rattlingly good read by an author who is sure-footed in his depiction of historial periods and the political forces which shape them, and excellent at conveying in his story-telling the big things that matter - friendship, love, courage and loyalty.
0Comment20 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
This book is amazing . It is a beautifully written story that tugs at your heart stri gs but also makes you laugh . The characters are so well depicted you feel as if you know them . The descriptions of the different countries that the story unfolds in are wonderful . All in all this is an excellent read , one that you will find difficult to put down.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, New author for me but one I will now have to seek out and read more of. having been a fan of Amy Tan for many years, I have a fascination with eastern culture and this book did not disappoint. I felt completely attached to the characters willing the story to go on. one of those delicious feelings of wanting too know the outcome but not wanting the book to end.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Once again Julian Lees takes his readers on a journey across Malaya and through time. Su Lee flees an unwelcome betrothal to Cambridge to become her country's first female undergraduate. She returns to live through the Japanese occupation and Communist insurgency in a tale of many surprises. At its heart though, is her relationship with her Tibetan maid and the girl who becomes a woman and whom they both call daughter.
0Comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Enjoyable read which keeps you hooked on each page. A Lovely story of how friendship can span decades and continents
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2013
In following his 2010 title 'The Fan Tan Players' Julian Lees has kept his eyes on the east and his imagination in its 20th century history. This story of womanly friendship and motherhood picks you up in its early pages and doesn't put you down until the last full stop. The author's grasp of the region's history seems to be as strong as his powerful empathy with its people. It is a history of war and division, but also of close bonds and endurance. This book is a great read, a milestone in the career of a fine writer, and well worth its five stars.The Fan Tan Players The Garden of Evening Mists
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
this story kept me awake until I had finished it..Lu See was a brave and resourceful person and I hope she finds her cure. Mabel was a good daughter led astray but returned to her family. I hope she and Dr Ralph have a long and Happy marriage. Sum Sum was my favourite and to undertake that journey was amazing
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.