Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable to any competitive sport, an inspiring read...
I originally purchased this in the hopes it would provide a silver bullet solution to my pre competition nerves in an upcoming Jujitsu comp. In some ways it did but that is not the purpose of this book.

This explores not only the motivations and thought process of fighters, but of all those who test themselves beyond the usual requirement of day to day...
Published on 27 April 2011 by Lucid Fur

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No fighter's heart
I feel bad giving this book 3 stars. If I had not read 'a fighter's heart' it would have 4. However, the bar was set too high!
Published 14 months ago by Henry Gladwyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable to any competitive sport, an inspiring read..., 27 April 2011
By 
I originally purchased this in the hopes it would provide a silver bullet solution to my pre competition nerves in an upcoming Jujitsu comp. In some ways it did but that is not the purpose of this book.

This explores not only the motivations and thought process of fighters, but of all those who test themselves beyond the usual requirement of day to day living.

This includes the valulable insight of a Chess prodigy, an internationally respected art critic, an ultra-marathon runner plus various coaches and supportive figures in competative sports.

Thoughout the text the author gradually highlights the correlation between the various world-class individuals from their chosen activity and highlights what is required to excel in sport. Or any activity for that matter.

What surprised me most was the scientific research which was also referenced. Which was both compelling and reinforced the overall sentiments of the book, rather than some loose figures thrown in to add weight to the ideas outlined.

The final chapter ties the various ideas throughout the text into a solid conclusion which leaves the reader satisfied, but also with a real interest for futher reading. Luckily the author quotes various texts which the reader can investigate futher.

This book has a very wide potential appeal, only the title may put people off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up to a fighters heart., 24 Mar 2010
By 
Simon Haslam "Geoliv" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The second book following a fighters heart which is an all time great read for any martial artist, fighter or lover of the sport. A fighters mind covers trainers such as Freddie Roach, different styles, martial arts, chess, and elite performance experts. The different chapters build up and ask the questions whilst letting you draw your own conclusions. The last few chapters bring this all together and draw conclusion on what makes fighters tick, motivation, the old question of why?

An excellent read I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful book for fighters, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (HONITON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
You often hear people say that fighting is 50 percent mental and 50 percent physical. While there are plenty of books on techniques and conditioning there are very few books on the mental aspects of competing. Through interviews with top athletes you can gain insight into the mindsets of top athletes and model the strategies that they use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understanding, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fighter's Mind (Paperback)
My Daughter is a Mai Thai Fighter. Good for her to read! She seams to like it! I have not read it myself yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every fight fan should read this, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fighter's Mind (Paperback)
Sam Sheridan is the man. This book gives a really cool insight into the consciousness of the modern day samurai. There is a really cool varity of personality in the book with guys as varied as Josh Waitzkin the chess master to Andre Wards coach. Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, captivating account of the mind set of elite level competitors, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fighter's Mind (Kindle Edition)
I found this book hard to put down. Each individual studied gives the reader an insight into the mindset of not only fighters but trainers, chess players, wrestlers and some of the worlds best coaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars flows really well, great mixture of expereinces, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fighter's Mind (Paperback)
the book is realyl well written, it flows really well and you can 'see' the journey he has been on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fighter's Mind (Paperback)
Very good and inspirational book, actually bought it twice because I gave my first copy away and wanted to re-read it but its that good that I am quite happy to get it again.
Second hand quality was excellent might as well have been new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for any fan or fighter!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read for any fan or fighter. What ever you relationship with martial arts, you will appreciate the characters and the story in this book. I'm loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decent follow up, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fighter's Mind (Paperback)
So this is Sams 2nd book and is a decent follow up..he goes more into the mental side of things than the physical... i personaly prefered his 1st book but thats not sayin this is bad at al..still a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fighter's Mind
The Fighter's Mind by Sam Sheridan
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews