Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid historical fiction
The second volume of a trilogy filling out in fictional narrative the life and times of Scythians caught up in Alexander's grand adventure. The usual Kindle editing problems are found, but not in abundance.
Published 16 months ago by Pierre Whalon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more
Enjoyed the first book but found the second one a little thin on substance and interest. I will however attempt to see them through to the end by reading volume three.
Published 9 months ago by mungo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid historical fiction, 9 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
The second volume of a trilogy filling out in fictional narrative the life and times of Scythians caught up in Alexander's grand adventure. The usual Kindle editing problems are found, but not in abundance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Filler?, 18 April 2014
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
I was rather disappointed by the second volume of this trilogy because it felt like a Filler. The heroes and “the nasty usurper” (who is in fact the legitimate heir, except that he has killed his father to seize the throne) galloping around the steppe and chasing each other for more than 350 pages before the “day of reckoning” and its somewhat predictable outcome.

The book was slow-paced, and filled up with lots of rather unnecessary dialogues between the characters, to the extent that it took me much longer than usual to finish (a week instead of a couple of days). The plot has some features that I found rather implausible, such as having the high priestess (who is supposed to remain a virgin) eloping with Nikometros, our shinning hero, and getting away with it because this is shown to be “the will of the Goddess” by some of the other priestesses.

I also wondered about the book’s title, which seems to be unrelated to the story itself and refers to Alexander, although he does not make the slightest appearance in this volume. Finally, they are still some of the glitches and mistakes that can be found in the first volume. For instance, neither the Greco-Macedonian cavalry nor the Scythians had shields at the time. Also, and contrary to what the book seems to suggest, given the prominence that it gives to them, swords were very much a secondary weapon, both on horseback and for infantry.

I neither need nor want to write about more since by now it should be clear that I did not like this second episode, mostly for the reasons listed above. I will, however, read the third episode, hoping that I will appreciate it more than this one. Two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Golden King, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
Once again a fast moving and enjoyable read. A fitting sequel to the first book in the trilogy, cannot wait to find out what happens to the Hero and Heroin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
Well written with good storyline throughout the book. style of writing distinctive describing the characters and bringing them to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. D. Macbeth "shulishader" (western isles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
When I reviewed the first book in this series I was very critical but was encouraged when the author actually contacted me and encouraged me to read the rest of the series. I have now completed the second book and was impressed by the great story line. Many thanks Max keep on writing. As soon as I get a minute will read thenext one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the first book but found the second one a little thin on substance and interest. I will however attempt to see them through to the end by reading volume three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but ...., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
This book is quite we'll written but the story line is very weak. I must admit that I gave up with the confusing cast of characters etc half way through ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was a good read and went through the three books quite quickly. Of course, for me the ultimate Alexander books are those by Mary Renault and I don't think they have ever been equalled, but this trilogy was an interesting slant on that period. I'm not quite sure about trying to put the blame for Alexander's death on a Roman though! Interesting idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scythian trilogy book 2, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable reading the story. Makes the characters real the twists and turns in the story draw you on to the next chapter the finale was well structured leading you to want to follow. to the, last ==book in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read., 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scythian Trilogy Book 2: The Golden King (Kindle Edition)
This series is well worth reading. I urge you to read all three books. Absorbing reading for those interested in this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews