Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Union's latest and best
When a band is cranking out their 3rd album in so many years, they're either on a creative roll or beginning to out stay their welcome. Like Joe Bonamassa of late, The Union are very much the former and seem to have hit their stride and are reaping the rewards. The World is Yours follows the same philosophy as the band's first two albums - diversity. Beautiful acoustic...
Published 17 months ago by Sherlouk

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I assume better live !
I had high expectations for this album based on much of the material from the 1st 2 albums and had eagerly awaited this release more than most throughout 2012. Unfortunately, once past the 1st track, it doesn't live up to its hype or my expectations and is more of a 'nice' album - not what I was hoping for given the obvious talents of the 2 main players. Given that at...
Published 15 months ago by Skyfox1884


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Union's latest and best, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: The World Is Yours (Audio CD)
When a band is cranking out their 3rd album in so many years, they're either on a creative roll or beginning to out stay their welcome. Like Joe Bonamassa of late, The Union are very much the former and seem to have hit their stride and are reaping the rewards. The World is Yours follows the same philosophy as the band's first two albums - diversity. Beautiful acoustic numbers are intermingled with elements of the blues, jazz, bluegrass, punk and straight ahead rock and roll. Constant throughout however, is Peter Shoulder's amazing vocal talents. The boy can't half sing, with a rare ability to cover all the demands of the varying musical styles the album throws at him. One minute he's lamenting lost love (Fading Out of Love) and the next he's screaming his head off (Wreck My Scene - Think the bastard love child of Bridge Burning and White Limo from the last Foo Fighters album. Chris Childs and Dave McCluskey on bass and drums respectively, go wonderfully mental). Luke Morley is also on fine form given the freedom to let loose a little and write in such a flourishing partnership. You Can Share My Dreams is a beautiful love song which fades into the final acoustic meanderings of Sawtooth Mountain Ride with ease and grace. Stand out tracks are hard to pinpoint but special mentions have to go to the title track which is brooding, dark and pure evil and Marie Celeste, a banjo - rich, ahoy - there tale of shipping misfortune complete with artistic chain dropping, anvil clanking and pouring rain. Nothing damp about this new one from The Union though - it's fab, go out and buy it. Album of the year?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album You Will Buy This Year., 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: The World Is Yours (Audio CD)
Third offering from The Union and these boys just get better and better.
There's soulful blues, heavy guitar and very unique tunes like Marie Celeste all belted out by the most diverse singer going.
What more could you ask for.....

.....apart from some more consistent pricing. Come on Amazon, don't deprive music fans of this utter gem by charging such sky high prices, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album but why is CD so expensive on Amazon?, 11 Feb 2013
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Is Yours (Audio CD)
Love The Union and love this album, a bit more variation than the previous two but still a well balanced fusion of rock and blues. This album is more acoustic lead than previously with the introduction of a Banjo in the "Marie Celeste" and some delicate picking in "You Can Share My Dreams" which also showcase Peter's voice. These are interspersed with some great rockers such as "Sawtooth Mountain Ride/You're My Jesus" and "Wreck My Scene" to prove they have not lost their mojo! Gets better with every listen, but the CD price on Amazon started at 16 went down to 10 and now is over 20 which also seems to confuse the band. At least the MP3 download is more reasonable but this album does not deserve to be missed due to pricing errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be ripped off, 2 Mar 2013
This review is from: The World Is Yours (Audio CD)
It's a brillient album and I thoroughly recommend it, in fact all 3 of their album are great... go buy them but do yourself a favour and buy them somewhere else until Amazon sorts themselves & their crazy pricing out.

Been watching this CD on here since well before it was released and it has changed price every day. I've seen it as high as 16.50 but it's yet to reach what I paid for it at a Union gig merch stand (a tenner) and even though I have had it a while, I'm still checking daily just for the hell of it to see how long it takes them to see sense.

Sort yourselves out Amazon.... I've stopped buying from you, how many others are doing the same. Don't assume just because HMV is in trouble you have no competition so can rip us all off.... it won't work, there's plenty more places to get CD's from (and I'm still buying plenty of them, but not from you)

You should be ashamed, is it not enough to avoid paying UK taxes, but you want to fleece your UK customers as well? good luck with that then!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world is yours, 18 Feb 2013
This review is from: The World Is Yours (Audio CD)
3rd album and truely The Union just get better. A combination of melodic & rocktastic tunes Pete is an awesome vocalist & Luke brings untold skills on guitar.
The first track You're my Jesus kicks off the album brilliantly & then you power through each track, Favourite track Wreck my Scene heralds the last few songs & before you know it you are fading away into Sawtooth pt2.
Time to play it again!The World Is Yours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upcoming band, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Is Yours (MP3 Download)
Won tickets to watch next week, already had 1st and 2nd albums. Downloaded on first day of release and the band continues to grow. looking forward to 19/3/13 to meet and greet the boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classy, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Is Yours (MP3 Download)
now here's a slab of excellent blues rock for ye, tremendous vocals ,great guitar work,it's up there with their 1st album siren's song,fantastic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Is Yours (Audio CD)
Having already owned their second album, I went for this, wondering whether it would be as good. It's great and right up with my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Follow up, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Is Yours (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present for my partner and do reject it!! I need to order one for myself - it's a great follow up and don't be deceived by the intro of the first track - if you enjoyed the first album this is fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Is Yours (Audio CD)
The Union's best album yet! There isn't a poor track on there. If you like their other albums, or liked Thunder, I highly recommend you buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews