Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good- but you will need more
I think the author actually mentions this but it is worth keeping in mind: you will undoubtedly need more than just this book to pass PRINCE2! The official manual, flashcards, a testing system --these are all required. Those are the things that this book lacks. But where it lacks a good testing engine (multiple choice isn't helpful in many respects but can get you...
Published 17 months ago by Paul Munro

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great service
Quick delivery and pleased with book
Published 4 months ago by Ms. W. M. Talbot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good- but you will need more, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
Paul Munro "hndpaul" (Northants) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I think the author actually mentions this but it is worth keeping in mind: you will undoubtedly need more than just this book to pass PRINCE2! The official manual, flashcards, a testing system --these are all required. Those are the things that this book lacks. But where it lacks a good testing engine (multiple choice isn't helpful in many respects but can get you somewhere at least) it makes up for in concise concepts. If anyone is studying for this exam you know that things need to be condensed and concisely delivered to enhance the possibility of actually remembering the processes for the exam!!!! Good- but there are better out there. I would use this as "additional reading" and definitely find better testing methods too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revision aid rather than a textbook, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
John Williams (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this book for my son in law, who is to take the Prince2 exams soon. He has found it useful, and I thank him for his input into this review. This is not a textbook, but a revision manual. It needs to be used alongside other course books. It does have plenty of interesting and useful tips, and follows the usual For Dummies format of breaking down the material into digestible chunks and has quick quizzes at the end of each section to check that you've understood it, and also some sample exam questions that are particularly useful. It has the usual For Dummies conversational style which is very readable. Useful for anyone taking the Prince2 exams; a bit esoteric for anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As a revision helper, you can't go too far wrong, 24 July 2013
By 
Mike Stevenson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Do not for a second imagine that this you can see this as a book about project management; on the contrary, this book exists for only reason, and that is to help you pass the exam. And to be honest that's as it should be - that's what it says on the tin, after all. With that in mind it does its job pretty well. There are lots of sample exam questions, and the whole syllabus (for both exams) is covered. While you'd be advised to combine it with the course materials if you engage with this book it might be all you need to be able to pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRINCE2 Exams, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as a package of three books to help pass the PRINCE2 Exams. These certainly help. I bought these in addition to the manual which you also need but they are still worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Prep for P2 Practioner, 16 Oct. 2014
By 
Guy Wallis (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used this as a revision tool prior to taking the P2 Practitioner. I found the content was well laid out and supported the P2 manula well. The quizzes really helped prepare me for the exam and the timings set for each test at the end of each chapter helped me get the right pace for the practitioner exam. Get this and 'P2 for Dummies' ahead of the P2 course and I can guarantee you will have a much better chance of passing the P2 Practitioner Exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good supplement for PRINCE2 candidates, 8 Jun. 2013
By 
L Weale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I think the key thing about this book is that it is a supplement that provides advice and practice examples for doing the PRINCE2 basic and practitioner exams and you need to have access to a PRINCE2 manual and maybe a second PRINCE2 book as well.

The book is a nice size for a workbook - not quite A4, shorter and fatter but makes it easy to keep open and write on.

I liked Part 1 which is about doing the exam, how to deal with exam nerves and the like and is probably just good advice.

In parts 2, 3 and 4, each chapter deals with a significant process. It gives advice for the basic and practitioner exams, followed by key points and test questions. I like the test questions, when I've done these things before I find practice questions really useful - although you can end up depending a bit heavily on the questions and then the exam turns up and the style changes and you can be taken by surprise.

I haven't done the exam yet but I reckon this is supportive book if you are studying on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informal style with some great tips, 5 May 2013
By 
Richard Murphy (Winchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Definitely not a textbook for learning PRINCE2, but that is not what it is trying to be.

Written to be used alongside other books and/or courses, there are simple hints and tips on how to pass the exams. More importantly, it looks at what the exam questions are really trying to get at, what it the thinking behind them and how to approach the Foundation and Practitioner exams. There is a lot of material here - as an example, the practice practitioner questions on Closing a Project in Chapter 10 do not just have the answers but also explanations and cross-references to the relevant part of the PRINCE2 manual.

I like the style of the writing. It is conversational, covering the material in the way I would expect a good teacher to do if presenting in a class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars clear and straight forward, 15 May 2013
By 
artemisrhi "artemisrhi" (Forest of Dean) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A useful revision guide. This will need to be used in conjunction with Managing Successful Projects with PRINCE2 from the Stationery Office and also the official past papers. YOu cannot managed without these other items.

The Revision guide is excellent. It clearly sets out what you need to do, not just in terms of the subject matter but how to go about revising. Useful if it is a while since you last took and exam.

The Guide goes through each area checks your understanding of the key areas and they gives you a set of question on that area at both Foundation and Practitioner level. It also gives the answers. All very clear.

There is a chapter for each of the Number sections in the Manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good additional reading, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Sam M (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My company wanted to put me through Prince2 and so I ordered this book to support the course. In the book it is clear that this is not a standalone guide and the author suggests you participate in a course. You also need the Prince2 manual. I used an online study package which was dull but comprehensive, the manual and topped up with this book. About a week of study later I did a formal revision day then sat the exams in a long morning passing both. The more you study the more likely you are to pass and this book definitely helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good "for dummies" instalment., 16 Jun. 2013
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've reviewed a few of these for dummies books now, and it never fails to impress me how good they are.

Each book offers a clear and concise guide to the basics of any given subject. It's not a definitive walk through, but more of beginner's intro.

In my opinion, these books are essential for anyone who needs to start revising a subject.
This book in particular has test exam questions and a revision guide. Hard to argue with that really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passing the PRINCE2 Exams For Dummies
£14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews