Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On yer bike
what a loverly informative and funny book that tells the tale of someones midlife crisis and how they overcome this and raised funds for a worthy cause I realy felt that I was with them every step of their journey and learnt about some of the places that they passed through please have another escapade soon and give us another book like this one
Published 17 months ago by les

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very insulting
The author comes across as an arrogant hater of people whom he regards as below him. This seems to include most of the people he meets on the trip, especially homosexuals. He makes several references to backs against the wall boys and has to make sure his door is locked in case the - as he puts it "gender challenged" hotel receptionist tries to rape him.

I was...
Published 2 months ago by sos


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very insulting, 29 May 2014
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
The author comes across as an arrogant hater of people whom he regards as below him. This seems to include most of the people he meets on the trip, especially homosexuals. He makes several references to backs against the wall boys and has to make sure his door is locked in case the - as he puts it "gender challenged" hotel receptionist tries to rape him.

I was appalled at the beginning of the book, by the way in which the author is insulting about the accommodation, intentions and the transgender partner of a Samaritan who helps him after an accident. It made me realise that I may not enjoy this book. The stranger helped him to get to hospital and kindly stored his bike in his flat which was not appreciated at all, and the author suspects an ulterior motive, which turns out to be completely unfounded.

Sure enough the constant offensive references to the various quote "empty headed, crusty and wall eyed" locals (and that's just Monmouth!) with apparently weird accents, that help him along the way make me cringe. The author can't even get the place names right and refers to Tintern as Tintagel on several occasions. Despite the fact that the author and his companion have back up support scouting ahead for food and lodgings, they constantly make bad choices and end up in noisy accommodation with nowhere to eat. They also think nothing of skipping sections of the ride and cheat using the support car.

Also the cheapskate having no "table of contents" option on Kindle is annoying as you can't access chapters and have to scroll right through every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On yer bike, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
what a loverly informative and funny book that tells the tale of someones midlife crisis and how they overcome this and raised funds for a worthy cause I realy felt that I was with them every step of their journey and learnt about some of the places that they passed through please have another escapade soon and give us another book like this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable - makes it sound like a good idea..., 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
A book for Joe Ordinary, showing that you don't have to be young, fit, healthy and trained to just 'get on your bike' and have a go. Well done, you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick reality check, 12 April 2013
By 
Shaun Bradbury (, Wirral United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
With cyclings rise in popularity amongst the so called MAMIL's, riders are frequently look for the next big challenge. Having slipped back to the care free attitude of our youth many happily take the leap from sportive to LEJOG. There are many reasons it's called a challenge and they are all laid out in this book. Not for our intrepid travellers the luxury of a 2000+ fully supported luxury trip through the Isles. They completed their odyssey old school, took the knocks, battled with the logistics and a wandering (semi) support vehicle for just part of the journey. The reader is treated to an intimate journey with the two riders, including the build up to the event, the agreement to partake and a host of characters encountered on route. It will even provide fair warning of the post ride blues you are inevitably going to suffer.
If you are considering pushing yourself on LEJOG give the book a read, if you change your mind your money won't be wasted; it's an entertaining read for cyclists and you poor unfortunate other lot alike...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit oif a slog, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
This was OK, but strongest on the time preparing for the journey. It is a bit repetitious and skimpy regarding the journey itself, oddly enough. Unlike many LEJOG books, this is thin on the travelogue side of things but mercifully, at least, doesn't descend into a litany of sore bottoms and blisters. A bit disappointing that the writer opted for a car transfer round Bristol and Warrington, but at least that shows he's an honest storyteller! Good too that, since he's a Scot, we don't get the usual tartan and haggis comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lands End to John O Groats on road bikes, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant. LEJOG fast on road bikes. Humorous, with interesting information about the route and the sights seen along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun read, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
One of many such books I've read lately,well written and entertaining, not just a list of place names and time taken. Very funny at times, and quite inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
This is a funny book to read as well as interesting, I'm really enjoying it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired. Must be made into a film or series, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
This was inspiring, funny and accurate. I have begun the whole cycling reborn saga around 14 months ago and I did a charity event as well. This book has driven me the next level. Not many books make me laugh out loud but this one really made me smile and giggle to myself.
You must write more please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enteraining read for those intending the 'end to end'. The journey may inspire you to get on your bike., 26 Jan 2014
By 
P. Beattie (Co.Down N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All Uphill From Here (Kindle Edition)
There is a 'big journey' in all of us, it is about making the first step. It is never too late to realise your dream, just do it. Two over weight middle age guys embark on a bike ride that takes them through a variety of landscapes and brings them into contact with some interesting characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's All Uphill From Here
It's All Uphill From Here by Alastair Currie
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews