Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HISTORICAL FRENCH EVENTS DRAMATISED THRILLINGLY
This is a very heart-rending thriller/drama based on the historical events of the !13th century in Carcassone in France when the search for the Holy Grail flashes back from a 21st century descendant and keeper of the secrets even though she is unaware of it. The purging by Simon de Montfort is cruel and harrowing as people are burned alive because they will not turn from...
Published 19 months ago by Jillian Bacon

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing
I was so disapointed with this as I had really been looking forward to it. The cast were fantastic and the quality of acting was great but the book just didn't relate all that well to the screen. I think Kate Mosse's Sepulchre would have translated better on the screen.
Published on 19 April 2013 by Rachey


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HISTORICAL FRENCH EVENTS DRAMATISED THRILLINGLY, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a very heart-rending thriller/drama based on the historical events of the !13th century in Carcassone in France when the search for the Holy Grail flashes back from a 21st century descendant and keeper of the secrets even though she is unaware of it. The purging by Simon de Montfort is cruel and harrowing as people are burned alive because they will not turn from their faith to Catholicism.
The acting is superb and the "chase" kepps you on the edge of your seat throughout with the many twists and turns.
Not really suitable for under 16's I would have thought.but I really "enjoyed" the unfolding and seeing yet again the effects religion has on the world and its societies. No-one wants to live and let live, people can be very greedy for secrets for themselves and want to dominate others with their views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film of timeless determination in the face of adversity, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Ruth W "Fernsong" (Haute-Vienne, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I watched this movie just before visiting the old town of Carcassonne in southern France and it helped allow my imagination to run wild whilst I was down there!
It's a very good film; loosely based on fact (the relentless persecution of the Cathars), well-produced and, in the main, beautifully acted. Although it skips back and forth from the present day to 13th century France, it is easy enough to follow and includes some stunning footage of the old town and surrounding areas.
In my opinion, the film is better than the book, which seems to occasionally wander off in rather irrelevant directions. Well worth a look if you're interested in French history, good scenery and an unusual story.
(P.S. If you're lucky enough to be visiting that area, DON'T miss Montsegur [mentioned often and shown in the film]. It's a steep climb, but well worth the feelings of despair and resignation, but also fierce determination, that still linger in the old ruin - and, of course, the views!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I quite enjoyed the DVD and felt it stayed more or less ..., 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I read the book late last year and vaguely remember seeing part of the film on TV some time ago. I quite enjoyed the DVD and felt it stayed more or less true to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adaptation, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
A. Langdon "Medievalist Writer" (Iowa City, Iowa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Despite reading mixed reviews, I found this to be a spectacular rendering of one of my all-time favorite books. There were some places where they changed things from the book, but overall, it was incredible to see such an amazing book come to the screen. (I requested a multi-region DVD player from my family because I HAD to have this movie!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Brilliant film just like the book should of been as big as the davinci code far better plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 19 April 2013
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was so disapointed with this as I had really been looking forward to it. The cast were fantastic and the quality of acting was great but the book just didn't relate all that well to the screen. I think Kate Mosse's Sepulchre would have translated better on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film First - Than the BOOK , in order to fill in the gaps and detail the film is unable to bring !! NOT THE OTHER WAY ROUND, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
...a brilliant and exciting novel.. NO Film-adaptation will ever "do it justice" ....so : the DVD / Film did leave me wishing for MORE....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed the film, 24 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I read the book this is based on, I thoroughly enjoyed the film. This item arrived on time along with other purchases, I would certainly buy again from this supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story with a few glitches., 17 April 2013
By 
V. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Firstly, it is not the best thing i've ever seen but it certainly is not the worst. I had no problems following the storylines and the switches between the modern and historical periods. All in all the acting was pretty good, with a few that were not quite up to par. Think the blonde comment was unfair and as for porn acting i think her talent was above that level but that's not very hard ( excuse the pun ).
It's not a surprise that the french characters in it spoke english as it was made for an english speaking audience in the main, it may be ignorance but some people can not cope with subtitles and some people just don't like them, for my part i would've been happy to watch it had it been in french with subtitles though. At least they didn't do it in French with really poor accents though because that's far worse for me!
The talent was great in parts, Tom Felton in particular was particularly impressive as was John Lynch who does indeed look quite like Eric Cantona from a very quick glance and also Jessica Brown Findlay from "Downton Abbey". John Hurt also did well with the material he had to work with.
All in all, i far preferred the parts set in the past. The parts set in the present came across to me as if they were trying to hard to make it tense and thrilling when, to my view, it seemed a bit contrived and fake like a glossy magazine filled with half truths in the name of "entertainment". I have not read the books yet but fully intend to do so as i enjoyed the basic idea of the story and found parts of it honest and moving.
I can't vouch for the scenery as unfortunately i've never been to that part of France but very few films or tv dramas ever show the scenery honestly. Many things set in England have been changed to look better by the sky being bluer and the grass greener and the extra bits added like monuments that don't exist, but i suppose that's part of the fantasy.
All in all i found it interesting to watch and enjoyed it mostly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
Katherine Austin (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A little long winded and almost documental in places, ok for a night in by the fire though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Labyrinth [DVD] [2013]
Labyrinth [DVD] [2013] by John Hurt (DVD - 2013)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews