Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Bought this as a present for an elderly relative, whose old mobile was long past its best. I'm told it's very easy to use and has a very happy owner.
Published 7 months ago by JtF

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by some poor features.
There can't be any excuse for Doro not to have tested their phone enough to have not notice that their is a major problem when you want to enter a "new line" when texting. Often you can only create a new paragraph by cycling through all the text fonts, before trying to access the newline character.

I bought this phone as an upgrade to the Doro 345. The 345...
Published 2 months ago by Prof TBun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by some poor features., 6 Jun 2014
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doro PhoneEasy 520X GSM Sim Free Mobile Telephone - White (Electronics)
There can't be any excuse for Doro not to have tested their phone enough to have not notice that their is a major problem when you want to enter a "new line" when texting. Often you can only create a new paragraph by cycling through all the text fonts, before trying to access the newline character.

I bought this phone as an upgrade to the Doro 345. The 345 suited my needs but texting with it was too slow. The 520 offers predictive text and 3 different type speeds. It also supports more languages. I would have liked a much clearer example of how predictive text works, than that given in the manual, as it is baffling for novice users. Another positive feature is the keyboard lights up in the dark. The black lettering glowing blue. The Torch as also been upgraded.

Doro have successfully styled the body into something which looks classy. It also looks more robust, although I have to say my 345 is yet to show any signs of wear, without having taking any special care of it.

The 520 is a shorter phone at the cost of the size of the keypad. I find using such small keys a big nuisance and the klicking noise the keys now make is very unwelcome.

Another thing I don't like is that as far as I can tell, there is no way of preventing every text that you send from being saved. If you want to delete all of your sent text (rather than individually), you now need to do so via the settings menu which isn't obvious or logical. Both of these problems did not exist with the 345.

The 3 MP Camera is an upgrade on previous models, but the images it produces are still poor when viewed on a computer screen. Still, it is significantly better than Doro's earlier 2MP cameras and the 345 had no camera at all. Camera operation is very simple and intuitive.

The 520 claims to have a similar standby battery life than the 345, but when in use it must be using a great deal more power as I am needing to charge it daily as opposed to weekly.

The 510 is a very similar phone for half the price. What you would lose is some of the physical robustness and camera quality, but I think that given this phone isn't quite what it should be, I don't think paying the extra is worth it. The Doro flip phones offer the advantage of automatic power ON/OFF and call answering, which I know my Mum would love, but they are not as robust, which is why I chose this one for myself.

Overall a mixed bag that I don't think it is worth paying top money for, compared with the cheaper earlier Doro models.

============

Having used the predictive text for some weeks now, I am still frustrated by its awkwardness. There are many common words missing from its dictionary, and one or two Americanisms such as the misspelling of neighbour. (The American spelling suggests someone living in a nearby hole rather than in a nearby enclosed space). What I can't understand are situations such as "prepared" being offered as a solution when typing, but having to type all of "prepare" before it recognises "prepare"'s existence. It seem impossible to teach the dictionary proper nouns and names, so you have to constantly switch in and out of predictive text mode, if you want to be polite and use capitals where needed. The dictionary neither offers nor learns emoticons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not just a senior phone, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good size and nice "rubbery" feeling, but the phone is a bit heavy.
The display is clear and big enough for the phone use.
Battery could last be longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good clarity, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
so far so good. Much clearer than normal handset, as I have very poor hearing this was my reason for buying. 69.99 very good price too. Note this is not the t493 520x described by Action on Hearing Loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a present for an elderly relative, whose old mobile was long past its best. I'm told it's very easy to use and has a very happy owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New DoroEasy 520X, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an existing Doro Mobile user this was as good as I expected it to be an east to operate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good - but not great / has ring problems, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The goods
It has a loud ring
It has a good, clear, screen and button pad
a loud - but not the clearest, speaker.
The bads
text notification is very quiet, and only prompts you once - (my old Samsung B2100 keeps prompting you until you read it).
Battery life not good - have to charge it a couple of times per week - more if used much - not as good as the B2100.
Texting to one person is easy, texting to multiple people is not - B2100 kept a 'top ten'
Bluetooth problems - My 3 year old Mini doesn't read the phonebook via bluetooth - i think Doro is not a recognised 'name' for Mini - rather than a phone fault.
Update - The RING VOLUME faded away within 6 months, Doro replaced it - it happened again - no point in having a phone if you can't hear it ring!! - Doro replaced it again - but by then i had gone back to SAMSUNG - much better battery life and i can hear it ring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great phone for older user
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doro PhoneEasy 520X GSM Sim Free Mobile Telephone - White
91.00
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews