Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good marathoning guide
Great little book this, it is full of useful tips, advice, experiences and techniques that you can use, without it being too heavy on physiology and training. Suitable for all types.
Published 19 months ago by Mike Buckle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fragmented
I found this book much too fragmented and disorganised - jumping around from advice on how to train, to Richard's running experiences and anecdotes from other people.
Pete Pfitzinger's "Advanced Marathoning" and Julian Goater's "The Art of Running Faster" are much better training aids, even for the novice marathoner.
If any of my friends decide to run a...
Published 14 months ago by Steven Andrews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good marathoning guide, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Mike Buckle (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great little book this, it is full of useful tips, advice, experiences and techniques that you can use, without it being too heavy on physiology and training. Suitable for all types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fragmented, 22 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book much too fragmented and disorganised - jumping around from advice on how to train, to Richard's running experiences and anecdotes from other people.
Pete Pfitzinger's "Advanced Marathoning" and Julian Goater's "The Art of Running Faster" are much better training aids, even for the novice marathoner.
If any of my friends decide to run a marathon, I wouldn't feel comfortable lending this book to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top tips, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of useful tips and guidelines. However, think it's a bit dated as some of the stats seem to be from years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book which is written by a former marathon champion and covers all aspects of training programmes / schedules, including diet. It should enable any aspiring or established marathon runner to achieve their goal, no matter how relaxed or intense it maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marathon Running: From Beginner to Elite, 4th edition (Kindle Edition)
As a first time marathoner I have found this book invaluable.

It is easy to read, full of useful advice and just underlines the message that the key to a successful marathon from beginning to end is preparation.

Needless to say I have recommended this book to a number of friends since I purchased it - in my opinion a must have for anyone thinking about running a marathon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting insight into the highs and lows of distance running - lots of good sensible advice. A very goof read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some useful tips..., 19 Oct 2013
By 
A. Rizos - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marathon Running: From Beginner to Elite, 4th edition (Kindle Edition)
...but not much you can't find in running mags. I didn't find the elite runner's stories useful for my preparation.
Still a good read with valuable advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practical and technical, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good guide to marathon running. Prescriptive 12 week plans, guide to nutrition and preparing for the race plus lots if interesting anecdotes from professionals and amateurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as you get, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Simon Paddon "Simon" (Barnstaple, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although there is a small feeling of elitism, this book has it all, and is livened up with anecdotes from people of all range of the running spectrum.

A great book for those looking to run a marathon- from your first to just improving your previous. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews