Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller
This is one odd thriller from the eighties, odd but brilliant.
Dennis Lawson has been framed for a murder he didn't commit. The real killer must be someone high profile because even the government and Scotland Yard are in on it.
Our hero drops out and hits the road until he can try and work out what to do next but it seems the conspiracy reaches everywhere as...
Published 10 months ago by Peter T. Dalziel

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-rated
For years, I've heard how brilliant this series was, comparable to "Edge of Darkness" etc. Now that it's finally been released, I can say that it isn't. It's an ok little thriller with some nice touches along the way and an irritating fizzle-out ending that doesn't really make sense. There are some appallingly bad actors rubbing shoulders with the principals who...
Published 10 months ago by Simon Exton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller, 30 May 2013
By 
Peter T. Dalziel (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
This is one odd thriller from the eighties, odd but brilliant.
Dennis Lawson has been framed for a murder he didn't commit. The real killer must be someone high profile because even the government and Scotland Yard are in on it.
Our hero drops out and hits the road until he can try and work out what to do next but it seems the conspiracy reaches everywhere as those who try to help him either end up dead or turn out to be spys involved in the whole mess.
This four part thriller has some of the strangest characters and situations ever filmed for British TV and is kind of like a perverse take on "The Fugitive" with a bit of "Defence of the Realm" thrown into the mix.
I am so pleased that it has finally been released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daringly dark TV, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
Darkly satirical and pointedly political TV, part agit-prop, part Jack The Ripper thriller, DEAD HEAD is an excellent example of the kind of television that wears it politics on it's sleeve that we don't seem to see so often any more, mixing genre expertly with a focus on character, situation and the Gothic alongside the slow dawning that the British class system is a powerful and destructive thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Story - wonderful DVD DEAD HEAD, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
WRITER: HOWARD BRENTON:

ACTORS: DENIS LAWSON – LINDSAY DUNCAN – GEORGE BAKER – SIMON CALLOW – JAMES WARWICK

CONTAINS:
Sexualised Nudity – Racist Language – Strong Violence

One of the best tv movies ever made – never repeated, but never forgotten.
Now on dvd.

This is an exposing story of the real British secret service and how they operate.
” Eddie,” a petty crook is set up as the fall guy for murders committed by a member of the royal family.

What dark humour is revealed, such sensational settings and scenes, brilliant actors.
” Eddie, ” runs into the army, anarchic coke – snorting aristos, including being seduced and tortured by a beautiful, naked, aristocratic woman in Wellington boots.

The fox hunt scenes are hilarious and every setting is exciting, dangerous and baffling.

The ending is superb and completely unexpected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Good, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
I remember being disturbed by this as a teenager.
It's atmosphere and imagery hold up on to contemporary programs.
If Dennis Potters tv series Singing Detective appeals this should to.
It has less wit, music and working class redemption, but more visuals, violence, and upper class damnation.
And more of the sordid sexual expression/repression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-rated, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
For years, I've heard how brilliant this series was, comparable to "Edge of Darkness" etc. Now that it's finally been released, I can say that it isn't. It's an ok little thriller with some nice touches along the way and an irritating fizzle-out ending that doesn't really make sense. There are some appallingly bad actors rubbing shoulders with the principals who really know their craft.

It looks great, with the 40s noir-feel contrasting with the 80s which was probably a very effective juxtaposition at the time. Sadly, now that the 80s are decades behind us, it all looks dated.

Worth a go if you're bored, but if you want something from this era that really worked, try "Edge of Darkness".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dead good, 13 April 2013
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
i saw this many years ago and was awestruck! a retelling of the ripper story utterly unmissable.been looking for this for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead Head needs to be buried in the past., 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
I was very disappointed with this. I think it was too old to be released as a modern thriller.The whole ambience of the DVD was very poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money on this piece of 1980s pretentiousness, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
Don't be fooled by the 2013 release date - this series was aired on the BBC in 1986 and it shows everyone of its 27 years.

Slow, over-mannered, aiming for Kafkaesque and ending up with Burlesque, this four part BBC series should have been given a decent burial.

Great cast, pretentious script, confused direction, lousy television.

Don't waste your money on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
Really peculiar not very good. I had no idea what was going on and so I fell asleep. Would never waste my time watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh, dear!, 27 April 2013
By 
I. A. Wright "Ian Wright" (Didcot, Oxon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Head [DVD] (DVD)
Two stars is more than generous for this impoverished flick. If you really want to watch it, do so on a LoveFilm Instant subscription.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa845ea08)

This product

Dead Head [DVD]
Dead Head [DVD] by Rob WALKER (DVD - 2013)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews