Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Significant addition to the Kate Daniels series
`Deadly Deceit' is the third book in Mari Hannah's DCI Kate Daniels series, and is the strongest - and darkest - by far.

The main action takes place over just five days in June 2010, against a background of a sticky summer in Newcastle's deprived West End. The story opens with DCI Daniels and DS Hank Gormley en route to a fatal arson in the West End. They are...
Published on 12 April 2013 by OnceaLibrarian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed feelings about the book
Starts hot cools down then gets cold and then all of a sudden hot ,hot, hot, near the end ,
I feel there is to much detail and not enough story to keep the interest, but there again what do I know ! !
Published 7 months ago by Jaym


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Significant addition to the Kate Daniels series, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Kate Daniels Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
`Deadly Deceit' is the third book in Mari Hannah's DCI Kate Daniels series, and is the strongest - and darkest - by far.

The main action takes place over just five days in June 2010, against a background of a sticky summer in Newcastle's deprived West End. The story opens with DCI Daniels and DS Hank Gormley en route to a fatal arson in the West End. They are delayed by a truly horrific multi-vehicle accident on the A1, at which they assist. All is not what it seems at both incidents, and these two apparently unconnected events form the basis of this intricately-plotted thriller, which builds relentlessly to a nerve-shredding climax.

Readers of Hannah's previous books will know that she is a consummate story-teller, but she has surpassed herself with the ambitious complexities of `Deadly Deceit.' The narrative has depth and meticulous attention to detail, and many surprising twists to the plot, right to the very end. Police procedures are accurate and integrated into the story, without ever making it sound like an investigator's manual.

A really pleasing aspect of this story is the continued development of characters introduced in the earlier books. All of Kate's team of murder detectives is here, and their lives and careers develop believably. Two important women from Kate's personal life play a significant part in this book in revealing to us some of Kate's emotional turmoil. Mari Hannah has also created two new and vivid principal characters, who drive the plot of `Deadly Deceit.' To avoid spoilers I shall not name them, but they are superbly realised - careful and subtle layer-by-layer creations. One character does not, initially, attract empathy (I now know what a "Scotswood stare" is!) but Hannah gives us a fully rounded portrayal. The other character turns out to be the epitome of evil: a psychotic, dead-eyed killer beyond human reasoning. Formidable achievements.

Above all, though, it is Kate Daniels who is the beating heart of `Deadly Deceit', an even stronger presence than before. She is still driven, passionate about her job, very likeable, a defender of the victims of crime and personally stricken even when not responsible for bad outcomes. And she can be exasperating, managing to sabotage her chance of personal happiness because the job always comes first. In a welcome development, Hannah spells out Kate's fear of being open about her sexuality, convinced that it would ruin her chances of promotion or, indeed, continuing at all in the police. Her ex-lover, Jo Soulsby, protested: "I'm not living my life as your secret!" Kate is a conflicted character, but one who elicits respect and affection. As someone usually to be found on the wrong side of the law said of her: "...Daniels was a top bird under all that authority."

The nature of the crimes committed gives `Deadly Deceit' a much darker feel than Hannah's previous books and the narrative demonstrates that deceit comes in many guises, both as criminal acts and also personally, when living a lie and not being true to yourself.

`Deadly Deceit' represents a major step change for this author. While retaining all her story-telling skills, there is a new authority, warmth and sureness of touch in her writing. I cannot recommend this book highly enough, and the pleasure that Mari Hannah's writing gives me, makes me all the more impatient for the publication of `Monument to Murder', the fourth in the series, due in April 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DCI Kate Daniels SERIES, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
Rangeman (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Hardcover)
Another great instalment in this crime series from Mari Hannah. The Murder Wall introduced Kate Daniels, a strong and driven DCI, Settled Blood developed the characters in another tense plot and Deadly Deceit confirmed this as a crime series well worth pursuing. All three have pace and tension. Highly recommended. Bring on the next episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Mari Hannah, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Paperback)
This is the third book in the DCI Kate Daniels series, and is a very strong addition. Daniels is an engaging and complex character, sometimes infuriating, especially when she puts her job before her own personal happiness. She is always willing to go the extra mile to see justice for the victims of crime, and to do all she can to lead her team effectively. Daniels is likeable, and the relationships she has with her colleagues are believable and well drawn. Above all, Daniels is 'real' - a person you could imagine meeting, talking to, liking. This, for me at least, is essential if the reader is to engage with the main character, to care about their life and what happens to them, to be interested in them, and so in the book as a whole. Hannah achieves this very effectively.

The story moves quickly, though not at the expense of detail. The plot is fascinating, original, and all the strands of the story blend together at the end of the book in an exciting and nail biting final few chapters. The dialogue between the characters feels realistic and fresh, and the characters are well drawn and believable. Hannah's descriptions of the road accident at the beginning of the novel and its aftermath are particularly effective, and so well written that the reader can see the whole horrifying scene smoking and smouldering in front of their eyes, much as Daniels and her colleague Hank Gormley can. You feel as though you are standing there with them, the smells, sounds and sights are as real to you as they are to the characters.

To summarise, this is an exciting, fast paced read that I would highly recommend. The other books in the series are 'The Murder Wall', which introduces Daniels and her colleagues, and 'Settled Blood'. the second in the series. I would also recommend them to anyone who enjoys very well written, fresh and exciting crime novels. I really cannot praise the series highly enough, and am delighted that there are more novels featuring DCI Daniels to come. She, and Mari Hannah, are going from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All-in-all, a very enjoyable book., 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Kate Daniels Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Deadly Deceit is the third book in Mari Hannah’s DCI Kate Daniels series, and the second one I’ve read. It was published by Pan Macmillan in 2013.

The story is set against the backdrop of England’s 2010 World Cup campaign, and kicks off with an arson attack on a terraced house that was supposed to be empty, but due to a last minute change of plans, was occupied by an estranged father babysitting his young baby there. As if that wasn’t enough, at near enough the same time, a driver loses control on the A1 causing a huge pile-up and enough carnage to make it one of the worst traffic collisions in Northumberland’s history.There is no obvious connection between these two incidents, and that is what a callous killer is banking on. Kate Daniels and her sidekick, Hank Gormley were stuck in the resultant tailback of traffic following the accident, whilst trying to get to the house-fire. Realising they can’t get through, they lend a hand to the emergency services attending the accident. They pass a car with an elderly couple inside, and Gorman shares a word with the elderly lady passenger. She is already being attended to, so the two detectives carry on, not knowing that the person attending to her had more sinister, and deadly, plans.

Mari Hannah is an accomplished story-teller, and Deadly Deceit doesn’t disappoint. The characters are believable and likeable, the plot moves along at just the right pace, and the police procedural details feel as if they are spot on (although I confess to being no expert).

All-in-all, a very enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a page turner, 14 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Hardcover)
What another great book from Mari Hannah. A plot with so many twists and turns I did not want to put it down. What a twist at the end. The characters are interesting and specially the main one. Looking forward to seeing that developing in future books I hope. I also liked the fact places I knew were mentioned. I can't wait for the next book from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a quality read, 16 May 2014
By 
Christine M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Kate Daniels Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is the third in the brilliant Kate Daniels series. The story starts with a dramatic house fire moving onto a multi vehicle road traffic accident. These two incidents are linked by a deadly killer. Gormley and Daniels are on the case.

Mari Hannah tells such a great, well paced story, which makes you want to race to the end at top speed. I love how we see more of Kate and her personal life complications, as well as those of her team. I feel like we really know these characters and care about them. The continuity from previous stories is just excellent, as is the way she introduces and uses new characters. I rather enjoyed the neat twist at the end.

I cannot wait to read the next in the series and see what happens next!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Good Believe-able Crime Series By Mari Hannah, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Paperback)
Just finished Deadly Deceit ( bk 3) another 5 STAR read with Kate & the MIT. I have also read Murder Wall ( bk 1 ) & Settle Blood ( bk2 ) . The books are so well written that as you read on & through the events of the stories of all the books you become your own " Character " within the books . Standing by Kate Daniels or in the MIR with the MIT. Helping them to solve the events of the Crime . In the line of duty................Well done Mari Hannah.....

Already looking forward to When is Kate & the MIT are on duty again ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A highly enjoyable read., 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Kate Daniels Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A real page turner with some interesting plot twists and some interesting characters. The Kate Daniels character is a real change from your traditional detective. Able and ambitious, aware of the extra challenges she faces if she is to reach the top of her profession, just because she is a woman yet torn between her ambition and being true to herself. Not all of the characters are as multi-dimensional but this would be difficult to achieve while maintaining the pace of the story. A really enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Mari's books, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Paperback)
A good read kept me reading when I should have been doing other things! So a good holiday read. Best to read her previous books first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner, 27 May 2013
By 
NE Reader (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Deceit (Paperback)
This, the third in the Kate Daniels series is, in my opinion the best of them so far. Mari Hannah has fleshed out her main characters and opened up Kate's personal world to great effect. Add to this a page-turning plot and a powerfully immoral murderer and you have a really great read. Hannah captures the North-East vividly in both description and dialogue, so that it becomes one of the many great characters encountered in this book. Can't wait for the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deadly Deceit (Kate Daniels Book 3)
£3.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews