Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urban history at its best
London's Lost Power Stations and Gasworks is not just an informative book, but an accessible one too. As someone who has only really started looking into the history of London in the last year, I felt that this book offered insightful commentary into a less-talked about area of industrial history in a language I could understand. I haven't yet read the author's other book...
Published 23 months ago by Helenography

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
some more photos would have been nice
Published 3 months ago by Graham Gibbs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urban history at its best, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
London's Lost Power Stations and Gasworks is not just an informative book, but an accessible one too. As someone who has only really started looking into the history of London in the last year, I felt that this book offered insightful commentary into a less-talked about area of industrial history in a language I could understand. I haven't yet read the author's other book about London's lost underground stations but after reading this volume it is definitely very high on my reading list. In addition to the carefully constructed prose, the photography in this book illustrates the transitions described and is also thoughtfully shot. In summary - if you're interested in reading something more compelling than the average London guide or want to better understand London's industrial history without wading through lengthy, dull tomes, you can't go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've got the Power!, 17 Jun. 2013
I read this after enjoying another book from the same author about tube stations. It has lots of interesting history about buildings I see a lot, like Battersea and Lots Road, and old gasometers near where I live. There are also lots of good bits about more places I didn't even know were there. It has plenty of nice photos with a good mix of new and old ones. Well researched and written. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A previous reviewer has noted the technical and grammatical errors ..., 22 Aug. 2014
By 
G. TAYLOR - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A previous reviewer has noted the technical and grammatical errors in the book - which really should have been corrected at the proof reading stage - but those aside, I felt the book would have been improved by the inclusion of additional archive illustrations - especially of now demolished sites. The final sections relating to the present and the future seem to have been tacked on the end, and, at least in my opinion, add little of real substance to the overall story.

That said, the book is undoubtedly suitable for both the general and more specialist reader with an interest in industrial archeology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A delightful book for those interested in London's industrial heritage. Well written on the whole but always gripping.Makes one go out to look at what remains!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but couple of annoyances, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book, both text and pictures, covering an little studied aspect of London history (as opposed to things underground, for instance, which is drowning in books at the moment).

One factual issue - on p165, when describing the changes to the electricity industry in the 1920s/1930s, the author talks about the creation of the Central Electricity Board (CEB) and its roles in introducing the early grid. However, it says "Using direct current (DC) as standard, again pioneered by Ferranti...", which seems highly unlikely given the issues with using DC for long distance power transmission, and Ferranti being a major proponent of AC (I think it was Edison in the US who was into DC)... The UK grid, initiated by the CEB, was of course 132kV AC.

Otherwise, one plea if ever updated - the book is crying out for a couple of maps, showing the location of the sites for both Power and Gas, especially given the discussion about the importance of the proximity to the river. Just simple, hand drawn maps would be great.

It would be pedantic to mention the typo where "sight" and "site" get confused.....

None of which should stop you buying this book, it's got some fascinating detail (especially around the history of and competition between the companies as the market got established).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some more photos would have been nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating quite Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good social interest, 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Pw (Southampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Power Stations and Gasworks (Kindle Edition)
Not exactly riveting reading, and lacking in technical details, but good for a nerdy day out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews