Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to balanced armature headphones
I have owned many pairs of in-ear headphones from Sony over the past few years so I have a pretty good idea of what to expect at a given price point. These headphones sound much better than you would expect for the price - especially at Amazon's discounted price (vs the RRP).

Before you choose these, you need to be aware of a couple of important points about...
Published 6 months ago by Michael Nixon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DIRE Headphones that lasted 4 days Avoid
ive used sony mdr ex 71/76 /77 for years but sadly there no longer available mind you they never lasted more than 6 months as typical sony the sound went on one ear .
so after reading up on these and even checking out video on you tube thought yep lets try them and as there half the rrp then they must be ok ....bought from amazon good service .unpacked put them in...
Published 9 days ago by stuart robertson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to balanced armature headphones, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XBA-C10 XBA Active In-Ear Closed Headphones - Black (Electronics)
I have owned many pairs of in-ear headphones from Sony over the past few years so I have a pretty good idea of what to expect at a given price point. These headphones sound much better than you would expect for the price - especially at Amazon's discounted price (vs the RRP).

Before you choose these, you need to be aware of a couple of important points about balanced armature headphones.

You need to make sure they form a good seal in your ear canal otherwise they will sound weak, tinny and quiet with no bass. This is true of all in-ear headphones, but especially important for balanced armature drivers. 4 different sizes of ear tips are provided, so with experimentation you can find the ideal fit for your ears. If you don't get a good seal with the standard size (medium), try a smaller size before trying a bigger size! The smaller size may allow them to sit further in the ear creating a better seal. You'll know when you get a good seal because it will feel like you have your ears plugged up with water!

A tip: Pull your ear lobe down gently while inserting the earphone as far as it will go, then let go of your earlobe. This may allow you to push the earphone in more deeply without it being uncomfortable. (Of course, make sure your ears are clean first...)

Balanced armature drivers are designed for natural and clear sound - they don't drive bass as hard as some other in-ear headphones (such as the Sony MDR-EX50). They are not designed to. If you really want a lot of bass you can buy balanced armature headphones that include subwoofers, but the price tag increases accordingly. These are entry level single driver headphones.

However, I find these headphones do provide enough bass for my liking once I seat them correctly in my ears. Vocals sound fantastic - better than any other in-ear headphones I have owned. Sound does not distort even if you crank the volume a bit.

They are very sensitive. If you have an audio source that is typically too quiet, you will find you can get a bit more volume with these headphones.

If you want to try out a pair of balanced armature headphones but are shying away due to the price tag of most of the competition, give these a try. You will be impressed if you give them a chance.

Sony do make a series of these with an increasing number of drivers for better sound reproduction (the price increases accordingly), so if you like these then also take a look at the XBA-1, XBA-2 etc series. (although if you start with these, you'll want to upgrade to the XBA-2 because the XBA-1 is similar).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like 'em, 31 Oct 2013
Really neat design, attractive and unusual - they sit well in the ear due to the little elbows that bias against your skin. They are light. They come with an optional clip to clip the phones to your clothes, 4 sizes of ear pad and a reel to wind up excess chord when you don't need it.

I'm a bit long in the tooth to be judging the frequency response of headphones - my own ears have no doubt lost a lot at the margins - but a quick comparison against a set of beats full size headphones in the shop using the same audio file from the same MP3 player left me more or less unable to find a meaningful difference. I do detect a slight difference between these and the apple earbuds that came witht he mp3 player (the Sony is slightly better). in terms of ergonomics they are vastly superior.

The beats are of course several multiples of the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, very nice sound, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XBA-C10 XBA Active In-Ear Closed Headphones - Black (Electronics)
I prefer in-ear headphones, just better for me than these big trendy things and I always thought the sound was better with them. My last pair started to die on me, a loose cable on the right ear so I looked at what was available. They have some fairly expensive pairs but the other reviews on these were good and I'm close to 40 now so it is not like my hearing is going n any direction other than worsening anyway. I use them for walking to work and for drowning out the noise in an open plan office during the day.

Sound quality was better than I had expected, so much so that I recently also bought a pair for the wife when her pair that came with the i-pod died.

Listen to a variety of music from rock and metal to pop and house music, classical, flamenco and I like the clarity of the sound across the genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DIRE Headphones that lasted 4 days Avoid, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XBA-C10 XBA Active In-Ear Closed Headphones - Black (Electronics)
ive used sony mdr ex 71/76 /77 for years but sadly there no longer available mind you they never lasted more than 6 months as typical sony the sound went on one ear .
so after reading up on these and even checking out video on you tube thought yep lets try them and as there half the rrp then they must be ok ....bought from amazon good service .unpacked put them in my ears and yep hardly any bass and the volume was poor tried tricks like pulling my ear lobe down while inserting headphone still helped a bit even adjusted the EQ and bass settings on my mp3 but had to turn the volume up from 14 to 22 near max to hear them properly...

they do isolate sound very well and they are comfy however after only 4 days the sound quality started to get worse the volume halved and they sounded like poundshop headphones i tried them on another mp3 player sound rotten on that too. sadly returning them to Amazon and will probably just buy JVC as they tend to get better reviews . so either its just my luck or these headphones are not worth the bother so best to avoid which is a real shame as i do like Sony Headphones but having bought at least 2 sets a year am getting a bit fed up with them...ps
.Sennheiser cx300's dont sound great either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great..., 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It arrived on time and was as described. These are in ear headphones. Once you put them in your ear you literally block out the outside noise so that won't suit everyone. But it's a comfortable fit with a real bass sound for a reasonable price. Saying that I think there are cheaper products on the market that can do the very same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XBA-C10 XBA Active In-Ear Closed Headphones - Black (Electronics)
After much debate as to what to plump for I bought these. My concern was about a lack of bass after reading some reviews. After a few listens I have to say they are a good set of headphones with ample bass and plenty of crispness throughout the range. No issues whatsoever. Just make sure you use the "pull down the ear lobe and screw them in" principle! Good value at 27 quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great headphones, 9 Mar 2014
By 
C. Potter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XBA-C10 XBA Active In-Ear Closed Headphones - Black (Electronics)
I like to buy Sony and I like to buy quality headphones. These are comfortable and have great sound. Multiple sizes for the ear pads included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XBA-C10 XBA Active In-Ear Closed Headphones - Black (Electronics)
Not the best I have had, however for the price they do an excellent job! They are comfortable and the sound quality is clear and come up to expectations. Had no problem purchasing them through Amazon and they where delivered within a few days. I would recommend these in ear headphones to any one on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony XBA-C10, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XBA-C10 XBA Active In-Ear Closed Headphones - Black (Electronics)
I've tried and spent good money on other makes of ear phones and these are by far the best of the bunch, the range of sound quality is excellent. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comfortably fitting budget in ear headphones, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Comfortably fitting budget in ear headphones with a clear well-articulated response in treble and mid-range but decidedly lacking in bass, so much so that sometimes I wonder how much of a track I'm not hearing. Thus probably not the cans for dance fans but great for those seeking a tight close listen to acoustic and vocal tracks. Note that the balanced armature driver requires the ear buds to be inserted into the ear with a snug fit to prevent sound leakage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews