Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall sturdy and well build.
Pros, very sturdy and well build. Drop it a few times and the phone still works normal after that.

Cons. the handphone become much more bulky. the edge of the casing obstructs the character Q and P of the on screen keyboard, so if you have big fingers and when the keyboards are stuck at portrait mode, then you may struggle to finger type. the original gorilla...
Published 14 months ago by G TING from Malaysia

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of imitations
Got this a few days ago but I noticed it was not sealing totally contacted Lunatik and they confirmed product is a fake.
The reason that it was not sealing properly is because all the screw ends in the back was cracked and the brass nuts broke out this will not even last a single drop don't waste your money buy direct
Published 11 months ago by Reader in training


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall sturdy and well build., 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Pros, very sturdy and well build. Drop it a few times and the phone still works normal after that.

Cons. the handphone become much more bulky. the edge of the casing obstructs the character Q and P of the on screen keyboard, so if you have big fingers and when the keyboards are stuck at portrait mode, then you may struggle to finger type. the original gorilla glass on the lunatik is not as goods as the original iphone5 both in clarity and touch responsiveness.

Comment.
the phone dropped badly on the second day I put on the casing and the lunatik gorilla glass cracked. I took out the gorilla glass and purchased a separate Spigen Glas.t tempered glass screen protector to replace it. Now it works even better than the original lunatik gorilla glass screen. the clarity and the touch responsiveness is as good as with the iphone 5 original screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of imitations, 4 Aug 2013
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Got this a few days ago but I noticed it was not sealing totally contacted Lunatik and they confirmed product is a fake.
The reason that it was not sealing properly is because all the screw ends in the back was cracked and the brass nuts broke out this will not even last a single drop don't waste your money buy direct
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it turned out to be fake, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
it turned out to be fake. However, the worst thing is that the seller doesn't warn buyer about it. I brought a lot of hassle and disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not touch, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The product quality was low so contacted LUNATIK and they confirmed that the case that I was sent was a counterfeit. Spend your money on another case or buy direct from LUNATIK.
I have sent the case back and received a full refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The silverback of iPhone cases..., 4 May 2014
By 
DARKcell - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
DISCLOSURE:
I was kindly supplied this item free of charge, to test and evaluate. In exchange, I agreed to provide an honest review detailing my thoughts. This is said review.
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

----- WHAT'S IN THE BOX? -----

- Case (consisting of three main pieces)
- 7x screws (six used + one spare)
- M2 wrench
- Instruction manual (clear and concise)
- Micro-fibre cloth

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

----- FIRST IMPRESSIONS -----

The packaging is great, I literally can't think of how it could have been designed any better. Not massively relevant to the product itself, but I felt it needed saying.
Solid looking product.
Instills great confidence.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- PUTTING IT ALL TOGETHER ----

The case arrives pre-screwed. Once open (a job that takes around 30secs), you are greeted by the three pieces of the case. Strangely we're going to start in the middle.
Middle piece-
The middle piece is where it all happens. It is made from flexible rubber that provides both support and protection for your iPhone. The pattern of the rubber around the sides of this central piece is called an `impact truss'. This is a patent pending shock absorbing silicone perimeter. Looks great, feels great, sounds great. Perhaps the most interesting part is the silent ringer switch attached to the rubber. It's hard to explain it, but it is a cylindrical piece of metal, that is connected to, what I would describe as, the inverse of the silent/ringer switch on the actual iPhone. Simply put it has pieces of metal that `hug' either side of the iPhone's switch, so that when you press the silent/ringer switch on the Lunatik case, the switch on the phone moves up and down as wanted. Simple and very effective. Turn both the case and your phone into the `silent' position, and insert your phone into the case.
Back piece-
This bit goes on next. It is a hard plastic that doesn't cover the central part of the back of the phone, just the bits around the edges. Before the front piece can go on, you must simply put into place the metal covering for the headphone jack.
Front piece-
Very easy to place over the middle piece, with everything lining up perfectly. Simply screw all six screws into place and the case is now ready to roll. As with anything, don't over-tighten the screws, it will only damage the case.

The only improvement I could suggest (and this is me being extremely picky), is for the M2 tool to be magnetic. It would be easier if after you were done undoing a screw, it came out when you lifted the tool away, as opposed to having to turn the case upside down and bang it. Definitely not a huge issue, but I thought I would mention it.

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

----- PRODUCT IN USE -----

For those that aren't entirely sure, I will explain what access you have to each button/port.
- Silent/ringer switch - full use, but no direct access. Changing from loud to silent is a simple process.
- Volume up/down buttons - The left side of the case is raised rubber over these buttons, so they are easily located, even in the dark.
- Sleep/wake button - This is indented, as opposed to being raised like the above. This makes it easier to reach when holding the phone in one hand.
- Sim card slot - no access
- Lightning charge port - This is covered by a folding piece of material that is a mixture of hard plastic and rubber. So, full access, when folded back. My Griffin 3m-long charge cable (with a fairly chunky end) fits in perfectly; as do all of my other cables.
- Headphone jack - This is one of the most interesting parts, as it is a folding, solid metal cover; very innovative, and something I would never have thought to use. It works, and looks cool whilst doing so, no complaints here
- Rear camera - There are two perfectly designed cut-outs for the camera and flash. You can barely see any of the iPhone (other than the lens and flash) through the cut-outs, showing that they've been designed well. The case doesn't cover the lens or the flash, meaning you can still reach through and physically touch them.
- Front camera - Another well designed cut-out means that the front camera, light sensor and speaker are all unaffected. This time everything (including the camera) is covered with Gorilla Glass, and the speaker part is, as mentioned a little below, covered by a water and dust resistance membrane. Sound is unaffected.
- Screen - The screen is made from Corning Gorilla Glass. It provides Shatter Protection, and is Anti-Smudge.
- Speakers/Mic - On the front of the case, there are two slots that allow sound out. This may not seem like enough, but my music still sounds great, so no issues. These slots are covered by a water and dust resistant membrane.

With all of the buttons covered by something, a small amount (but still decent enough to warrant a mention) of force is required to activate them.

When the case is all done up, rubber protrudes out of the back and the sides. This means that when you put it down on a table face up, only the hard rubber is actually touching the table, meaning absolutely no scratches on the surface could ever occur. The phone can be stood on its side to watch videos, but not on the side where the volume up/down buttons protrude, except if its leaning up against something.

There is a lanyard loop on the bottom left of the case, if you are so inclined.

The case obviously adds a decent amount of size and weight to an iPhone, however, I find myself quickly getting used to this, since it remains extremely pocket-able.

I'll say it, just in case it wasn't obvious by now, this case provides serious protection for your iPhone.

I've had no issues with having another screen between the iPhone and my finger. The iPhone has read my finger swipes etc every time, without fail.

This is where is goes very slightly down hill...
I've found the air-tight connection between the Gorilla Glass and the iPhone's screen, is not always so air-tight. With the case on and fully done up, if you wipe the screen too hard you can get annoying little (and not always so little) air bubbles appear between the Gorilla Glass and the iPhone's screen - much like when you wrongly put a screen protector on a phone. I've found that this is only properly rectified by undoing at least two screws and partially lifting up the front of the case, sometimes all screws have to be undone as the air bubble/s simple won't go. As you can imagine, this gets very old, very fast. This problem can also occur when the phone is in your pocket and comes under some sideways pressure, i.e. sitting down, running etc. Since this morning however (when I put the case back on), I haven't been able to replicate this air bubble issue. This could mean that it was simply my stupidity and I have now finally put the case on properly, I can however say that I haven't knowingly don't anything different...so who knows!

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚

---- CONCLUSION -----

I absolutely love the look and feel of this case. All the way from the squidgy rubber on the sides and the hard rubber on the back, to the solid plastic on the front, held in by aggressive looking screws. Nothing makes a case look quite as tough, as having it surrounded by screws. The fact that your screen is protected by top-notch Gorilla Glass, is just icing on the cake.

Between this and the Lunatik Strike, my preference (by a very small margin) is the Strike, simply due to you having access to Touch ID. This takes nothing away from the Extreme however, as if I had an iPhone 5, it would have been my favourite.

I struggled to settle on a star-rating that I felt fairly described this case at a glance. I've gone with four stars, and this is why: This case's price is reaching dangerously close to other cases that also offer a significant amount of protection, but are fully waterproof (as opposed to water resistant), and also provide full access to Touch ID. For this reason and the fact that I've had some air-bubble issues, I think my rating is as fair as it could be - a strong four stars...

✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
OVERVIEW
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Would I recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PROS:
✓ Build quality
✓ Superior protection
✓ Just 30 secs to take on/off
✓ Lanyard loop
✓ No change in music/phone call quality
✓ Easy access to all buttons
✓ Innovative access to silent ringer switch
✓ Corning Gorilla Glass

CONS:
✗ No access to Touch ID
✗ Air bubble issue
✗ Price getting close to similar cases that are fully waterproof and offer access to Touch ID
✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚✚
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waited a month and not as described, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I waited a month for this case, it was postmarked Singapore, so considering that Lunatik are an American company I am doubting whether this is a genuine product. The Amazon product description is inaccurate - it says it's waterproof but there are holes in the case over the camera lens and speakers. I checked the Lunatik website and this confirmed it is only water resistant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It was not the original case, but tragic imitation, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I paid for the original, without mention that it is not.
The photo is misleading and the price quite expensive for non-genuine product.

I am very sorry that there are simulated at Amazon and not displayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BOOTLEG NOT REAL, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought two of these, one for me, one for family member. After quickly realizing that these were fake, I contacted the real manufacturer and they walked me through how to stop the differences. They were abundant, screws that don't stay in, bad glue-jobs, open seals, none of the actual protection offered by the real case. The supplier is in China, good-luck getting them to give you your money back after you purchase and find out for yourself. STAY AWAY, honestly, do not buy this, I warn you for your own sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD CASE IF YOU WANT A GOOD CASE !!!!!!!, 27 May 2014
Do you sell parts of this case for iPhones because the front saved my iPhone from cracked screen being dropped I dropped I'm dropped it very good case pay around 12 pound but the paint comes off very easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential protection, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunatik Taktik Extreme Polymer Protection for iPhone 5 With Gorilla Glass - Black/Black/Red (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Although it takes a few moments to assemble, it provides the level for protection needed for outdoor use. Function of phone not impaired although bulk is necessarily increased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews