Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great compromise between speed and size
LONG REVIEW FOLLOWS:

SSDs offer the best performance but the obstacle remains the price. 500gb SSDs have dropped a lot but the popular 256gb sized drives are priced much the same as they were a year ago. If you are a Laptop user, unless you're willing to either spend a lot of money, compromise on storage space or have a laptop with space for more than one...
Published 19 months ago by Tired Techie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for office, bad for gaming
Used as the main drive in my Gaming rig but doesn't have the power to keep games running. I have decent specs but games freeze after an hour or two - likely because this drive can't take the stress. Will be upgrading to an SSD soon enough I'm sure, but for office use, it's a pretty decent compromise.
Published 1 month ago by J. Cashmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great compromise between speed and size, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
LONG REVIEW FOLLOWS:

SSDs offer the best performance but the obstacle remains the price. 500gb SSDs have dropped a lot but the popular 256gb sized drives are priced much the same as they were a year ago. If you are a Laptop user, unless you're willing to either spend a lot of money, compromise on storage space or have a laptop with space for more than one storage drive, SSDs are not suitable and this is where Hybrid drives can come in.

The hybrid drive uses a small amount of fast NAND memory to act as a cache for frequently accessed data and thus speeds up the drive considerably. Seagate's new line of Hybrid drives sees 8GB of NAND as standard. The 750gb model makes way for a 1TB drive and both drives now use spindle speeds of 5400rpm. Seagate also claim the incorporated algorithm that caches data has been improved (common writes as well as common reads are now cached). If you still want a 7200rpm Hybrid drive, snap up the 750gb Momentus quickly as it is discontinued.

Installing in an old 2008 Macbook Pro was easy, I opted to restore from a Time Machine backup as I wanted my drive exactly as it had been though a clean install and use of Migration Assistant (or windows equivalent) is probably the best option for an error free experience. I would try to avoid drive cloning unless it's really necessary.

As with the old Momentus drive, the first boot wasn't particularly impressive as the algorithm had yet to determine what data to cache but after I'd restarted 3 times, things were definitely faster.

Some figures:
From a cold start, I timed how long it took to reach the grey Apple logo, how long to fully load the desktop and a total boot to desktop time:
5400rpm HDD: 39 seconds, 38 seconds respectively. 1 minute 17 total
Old 500gb Momentus: 18.58 seconds, 21.22 seconds respectively. 39.8 seconds total.
1TB SSHD: 7.8 seconds, 16.52 seconds respectively. 24.32 seconds total.

Booting up into a tab heavy Firefox session took the old HDD 3 minutes, the Momentus a minute and this drive 42 seconds (which, if memory serves is not far off the Samsung 830 SSD I once used).

As well as a faster boot, more programs I use regularly open in a flash. I used to find that quite a few regularly used programs remained sluggish to load but now far more have speedy launch times (not all, you'd still have to go SSD if you want everything quickly). For those things that are not cached, I couldn't detect any real lag compared to the Momentus despite the slower spindle speed with the added bonus that the drive is now noticeably quieter (though power usage is higher).

It's disappointing that Seagate didn't go beyond 8gb for the cache. Other manufacturers make cache SSDs of up to 50gb. Seagate claim that 8GB is the sweetspot, enough to cache 98% of the unique read data of a "typical corporate user". Ideally, it would be nice if Seagate could produce a genuine 2-in-1 hybrid with separate SSD and HDD partitions, allowing laptop users the same option as desktop users of a SSD boot drive and HDD archive drive. This is likely a way off and for all we know, SSD prices may plummet before that but at the very least a version with a bigger cache would be great in the near future.

PROS:
Fast SSD like performance. There are improvements over the previous Momentus drives and massive improvements over conventional HDDs. The SSHD is now even closer to the perfomance of a SSD despite using a slower spindle speed HDD. Pricing remains fantastic, the 500gb model currently costs a quarter the price of an SSD equivalent whilst the 1TB version costs a fifth of a 1TB SSD, a lot more money for a performance boost many users wouldn't even notice. At time of writing, the cost of one of these Hybrid drives would likely still only get you a 128gb SSD. The drive is also quieter than its predecessor and seems to run far cooler.

CONS:
This remains SSD-like performance rather than a genuine SSD. You will not find everything on your machine to be magically faster. Another downside is power consumption, according to Seagate spec sheets, these drives use almost double the power of other 2.5" drives. It won't send power bills through the roof but will probably reduce battery life. Finally is the fact that as a HDD, it carries with it all the frailties of the tech. The use of an SSD isn't license to throw your laptop around but in those horrifying moments when your laptop falls off a table, you can be fairly sure that while your laptop might not be okay, your data probably is. This isn't the case here.

FINAL LINE

As before, the SSD would offer far greater performance than the SSHD overall but it still comes back to price and capacity. SSD prices and capacities have improved a lot at the high end but still remain inaccessibly expensive for most users. If you want speed but don't want to spend huge amounts, you're still going to have keep a lean computer running from a small capacity SSD or go with the SSHD almost as good performance and plenty of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great speeds for PS4!, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
I bought this for my new PS4 and am so pleased with the speed of the SSHD. This drive offers bits of both with a 8GB flash memory and a 64mb cache for the standard platters. The PS4 comes with a standard 500gb, 5400rpm, 8mb cache. I needed more space as some games take up around 40gb install only! When installed into the PS4 the memory goes down to around 870GB which is the same on all devices with 1 TB. This SSHD offers a much faster loading times, etc. The flash memory will detect which files you use the most and store them in the 8GB flash memory, this is MUCH faster! Delivery and packaging were at a high standard and a good price. Thanks again Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great SSHD!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
I personally bought it to upgrade my PS4 hard drive and it was installed in under 5 minutes.

Works like a charm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for office, bad for gaming, 17 Nov 2014
By 
J. Cashmore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
Used as the main drive in my Gaming rig but doesn't have the power to keep games running. I have decent specs but games freeze after an hour or two - likely because this drive can't take the stress. Will be upgrading to an SSD soon enough I'm sure, but for office use, it's a pretty decent compromise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as fast as previous generations.., 21 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
Disclaimer: I have not done any scientific measurements, instead I am working from how the computer feels after the upgrades (on a 2011 Macbook Pro). This HD is a bit of a disappointment as 'it feels' not as fast at booting and as responsive as the previous generation (750Gb. Momentus XT). Don't get me wrong, it is a great improvement from a regular HD, but I would expect a bit of an evolution in the technology and somehow it feels like it falls a bit short. However, the improved capacity is very attractive and the old Momentus is gone so this is the only choice at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic alternative if an SSD isn't in your budget, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
This hard drive caches frequently random-accessed parts of files. What this does is allow one to have the capacity of a hard drive, yet (after it's learned which data actually benefits from flash) have the low latency of flash-based storage. It's about five times slower in terms of sequential read performance than an SSD, but that's not what makes a pc fast. It's the latency that makes the biggest difference. In many ways, it's similar to the technology in Intel's Smart Response Technology, or Apple's Fusion Drive (which is probably just rebranded SRT), but it's on the hard drive itself and not on the motherboard. This then is a set-and-forget solution for tiered storage, ideal for platforms without SRT support, for people who prefer to spend money on other things than SSD's or simply don't want to bother with having a boot drive and a separate storage drive. This is what has saved mechanical storage from obsolescence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid drive, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
Good solid drive that is easy to install

I have 4 of these in my RAID 10 system and have not yet had any problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for ps4, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
Fits in the ps4 like a dream! Very easy to upload the operating system with a USB drive, makes the pa4 faster as well!

Quick delivery as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this as an upgrade to my standard Playstation 4 internal drive., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
I bought this after watching a YouTube video showing the benefits of a Hybrid drive for Playstation 4. I purchased this in anticipation of my Playstion 4 arriving. It arrived well packaged and promptly.
Installing it within my Playstation 4 was easy ( a lot of guides online).
I have compared the loading times against a friend's console (PS4) and there is a slight difference when loading the game for the first time but a lot quicker the second time round.
I am very happy with the performance of this drive. I would have bought a 7200 rpm but unfortunately not available as a Hybrid drive at the time of purchase.

David.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works great, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal (Personal Computers)
Works just fine, but did not add much when comparing to a usual HDD... but maybe it's because it has doubled my disk capacity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seagate ST1000LM014 1000 GB Internal
£75.08
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews