Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will leave you puzzled -- may challenge your view of reality
If you buy this book and The Scole Group (the official proceedings of the investigation by the Society for Psychical Research), you will have a reasonably complete understanding as to what took place. This is the version intended for a general audience, and The Scole Group is necessary for a more complete and critical perspective. I would definitely buy both books, with...
Published on 27 Nov. 2000 by lpayette@co.navajo.az.us

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A PUZZLE OF A BOOK
If what it says is true, then it provides the answer to the many sceptics who doubt the existence of a life beyond the present. Pity it is written in such a disjointed style which raises a lot of questions. If you are of an enquiring mind, worth a read!
Published on 15 Sept. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will leave you puzzled -- may challenge your view of reality, 27 Nov. 2000
By 
If you buy this book and The Scole Group (the official proceedings of the investigation by the Society for Psychical Research), you will have a reasonably complete understanding as to what took place. This is the version intended for a general audience, and The Scole Group is necessary for a more complete and critical perspective. I would definitely buy both books, with a preference for the SPR proceedings if you are only going to buy one. Taken simply at face value, both are fascinating and well-illustrated accounts of a long series of extremely puzzling incidents. In other words, you will find them well worth buying even if you ultimately decide the whole thing is hogwash. There are a few "red flags" that are likely to provide ammunition for diehard debunkers -- but the fact remains that the Scole incidents were subjected to intensive investigation by serious, competent researchers, none of whom was able to expose anything fraudulent. Like many of the reported incidents from the heyday of Spiritualism (levitations, materializations, etc.), these seem "too good to be true" -- your first reaction is that is they simply HAVE TO BE hoaxed. By the time you are finished, however, your first reaction will be severely challenged. It MAY BE a hoax, but this is far from obvious. It MAY NOT BE a hoax, however, in which case your entire perspective on reality will be altered. If nothing else, these books may pique your curiosity and lead you to look into some of the really serious works on psychical research (Human Personality and Its Survival of Bodily Death, Phantasms of the Living, etc.), which would be time well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The No 1 case study of Physical Phychic Phenomena ever., 15 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
From the moment you start reading you realise that it's a no frills get down to the facts style of book. It is so basic and honest in its content that you can follow the experiment with no problems as your own questions seem to be answered in the process.
You have contact details of all involved and when you contact these people they take the time to reply. You can even send for details of instructions to carry out your own experiments that were pratised in the book.
The most refreshing thing is there is a good balance in the book without being to biast either way between the scientists sitting in on the experiment and the mediums themselves.
To finish off with you can contact the SPR (Society for Psychical Research) who were the scientific study group, to purchase the written proceedings of the experiment in their own words. Again this gives a good balance on the experiment.
You WILL read the whole book and be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vital Contribution to Spiritualist Literature, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truly fascinating book that shows that what the pioneers of Spiritualism like Arthur Findlay, Oliver Lodge, William Barrett, F.Myers and William Crookes were reporting from the latter part of the 19th century until WW2 can stll be experienced today in the right setting. It's just that far fewer people are participating now than before, when it was still seen as a new cutting-edge area of Physics. I won't recount the details of the book exactly, but suffice it to say that the whole set-up, including precautions to avoid fraud, and the stature of the various people involved, many non-believing materialists at the professional and academic level who became convinced of life after death through these seances, satisfied my demand for an objective study. I've read most of the books of the above-mentioned pioneers, and can only say that this will join the body of literature which hopefully one day will wake the people of the world up to their true spiritual identities. Along with this book, I'd recommend to sceptics 'At The Hour Of Death', 'The Supreme Adventure' and 'On The Edge Of The Etheric'. I'm a person rational enough to have obtained a degree in engineering, and am not impressed by esoteric romanticism. When another more logical explanation for these 'phenomena' comes to light I'll be keen on hearing it, but until then I see no other conclusion than that which the authors of all these books reached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof of Life After Death?, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
Not one person has stepped forward with evidence that the Scole Experimental Group engaged in any fraud in the remarkable experiments chronicled in this fascinating book. Jane and Grant Solomon's compelling book presents the data collected during the many demonstrations of the Scole mediums and allows readers to draw their own conclusions. One cannot take in this remarkable book without at least becoming an advocate of continued research of life after death, and the credit for this belongs not just to the authors, but also to the Scole mediums and the members of the prestigious Society for Psychical Research whose exhaustive investigation of the Scole Experiments revealed no fraud whatsoever.
THE SCOLE EXPERIMENT is a delight, and compulsory reading for any student investigating evidence of an "afterlife."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try explaining this one, Professor Dawkins!, 26 Oct. 2011
A video showing images from the Scole experiment was part of a lecture I attended given by a university scientist who is President? Vice-President? (I forgot which) of the Scottish Society for Psychical Research: it made me keen to read the whole Scole Report until I discovered how long that is. This shorter and accesssibly-written account is more useful for the general reader. 'Scole' is just the name of the village where the experiment originally took place, though it has since been replicated in several countries and continents. The intention of the experiment was to provide evidence that could be demonstrated to be totally genuine; for this reason experts in all sorts of fields (e.g. neurologists, physicists, psychologists, specialists in electronics, etc., etc. - and a magician from the Magic Circle, skilled in creating illusions - were invited to come as observers while 4 mediums made contact with a 'team' from the Other Side who are keen to provide proof of the reality of life beyond death. The events that followed were extraordinary, and inexplicable in 'normal' terms: the magician said he could not imagine any way in which they could be faked. I limit myself to one example: unopened Polaroid films obtained by the scientific observers, their sealed containers unbroken, were placed in a wooden box with a lock; it was locked, and the key kept by the observer; at the end of the session the box was unlocked, films taken out and unsealed, before being placed in a machine which Polaroid had suggested and provided which developed them instantly. The films should have been blank, but instead were found to contain images of people (some identifiable), writing (the rare version of a Wordsworth poem, eventually identified, was particularly interesting), signatures which were found to correspond with known copies that were tracked down, and other images. The results became more interesting as they went on, and I tended to skim over the later descriptions of electrical equipment that was devised to make even more extraordinary things happen, but this is a book I shall lend to people: it will be interesting to see how convinced sceptics react (possibly with 'My mind is made up: don't confuse me with facts?').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scole Experiment, 5 April 2007
An excellent book. For all who are interested in evidence for survival of death, this book is a must.The group invited serious researchers into the sessions giving credibility to the evidence that was obtained. Well written. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking read., 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You must read this book with an open mind, especially if you have never previously considered the possibility of life after death. If you or I were to arrange a series of experiments, using the powers of mediumship and the combined psychic powers of a small group of people and we produced remarkable physical phenomenon, who would believe us when we published our claims? The Scole group, of course, realised this, so once the experiments began to achieve
results, professors of many disciplines were employed to scrutinise both the people in the group and the phenomena witnessed. Attempts to explain the multitude of phenomena produced at Scole, through the known laws of physics would surely be achieved by visiting professors. Professors of; Psychology; Astro Physics; Electrical Engineering etc could neither explain the phenomena, using their combined expertise, nor could they find any evidence of fraud on the part of the group.
A member of the Magic Circle was also invited to look for any evidence of trickery. He too could find none.
The experiments at Scole continued for many years with the group claiming cross communication with "the team" on the "other side". The "team", it was claimed, were the spirits of dead people, scientists, who were actually producing the very phenomena "our" scientists were scrutinising. This is powerful stuff, if it is true. Can we ever be totally convinced by the hypothesis claiming another dimension, to which we all return to when we die?
Material science, the version of truth accepted by the majority of us must, by definition, say no. But there WERE material scientists present at Scole. Do these scientists have a different mind-set to their colleagues? I think they do. These people are prepared to step outside their paradigms and state that what they witnessed at Scole cannot be explained using their own laws of the material sciences.
I have read extensively the writings of the late Professor Archie Roy, the mathematician and Astro Physicist and admire his achievements enormously. He was present at Scole, where he was held in conversation, via a medium, with a fellow scientist, on the "other side". Complex astral dynamics were discussed, a topic which would only be understood by a handful of people in the country and certainly not by any of those present at the time.
The book explains what took place a Scole in the nineties. It stresses the desire by everyone involved to eliminate any possible accusations of fraud. Did the authors succeed? I think they did. Make your own mind up.
I will end on a mischievous quote from Archie Roy who said: " when I die, if I find I have not survived my bodily death, I shall be extremely surprised". I am convinced professor Roy was NOT surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scole Experiment: Scientific Evidence for Life After Death (Kindle Edition)
I found this book incredibly interesting and hard to put down. The authors have given us a well researched and comprehensive account of this mind blowing five year experiment in to spirit communication and life after life. Four mediums came together over the course of five years to meet regularly with the aim of proving that the spirit world exists. What unfolded was incredible visible and audible communication with spirit people ,witnessed by many people, including scientists from many back grounds who were invited to 'sit in' on the sessions and who imposed very tight laboratory conditions on the experimenters, in order to ensure that the experiments were credible. Several 'major' personalities came forward during the sessions, creating moving lights, pictures and words imprinted on to blank films placed in the room, apports, movement of objects and projections of photos and faces on to video tapes, to name but a few of the ways they communicated.
If you are looking for proof of life after death, you need to read this book, If you have lost a loved one, read this book! Although the research was conducted several years ago, the evidence still stands today. Some of the original group also went on to study further and I believe e there may be another another book coming out called 'The Norfolk Experiment', detailing these studies. It is certainly worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truly fascinating, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Ben "I love a good story! Autobiographies, co... (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scole Experiment: Scientific Evidence for Life After Death (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting read! Certainly gives you something to think about! In fact, it's been an eye opener throughout!! Very much recommended also is the documentary about the Scole group-The Afterlife Investigations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was fascinating, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scole Experiment: Scientific Evidence for Life After Death (Kindle Edition)
As with all of these books, if you read them with an open mind, you will find the content fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews