Customer Reviews


523 Reviews
5 star:
 (341)
4 star:
 (112)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rivers of London could run and run
Satisfying in itself, but also feels like a chapter in a larger work.

The plot, as they say, randomises. Having gone down last time (Whispers Underground), this time Ben reaches up for London's skyline, while developing more of what we might call the story arc begun in Moon Over Soho. We're getting to the stage where we could do with a "previously...
Published 19 months ago by Fred Flowers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What a shame...
Rivers of London were great, I could not put the book down till I finished it.
Moon over Soho was good.
Whispers Under Ground were okay, but gave a feeling of something not quite finished.
Broken Homes was a disappointment. It felt like as if you were waiting for your lover for a long time but then when you eventually met you got so drunk that you could not...
Published 11 months ago by Dmitry D


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rivers of London could run and run, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Homes (PC Peter Grant Book Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Satisfying in itself, but also feels like a chapter in a larger work.

The plot, as they say, randomises. Having gone down last time (Whispers Underground), this time Ben reaches up for London's skyline, while developing more of what we might call the story arc begun in Moon Over Soho. We're getting to the stage where we could do with a "previously on..." It's all good stuff, we learn a little more about how Ben's magic world works, get hints of a global dimension and more backstory, but with plenty of time for some satisfying in-jokes for the Bond and Doctor Who fans.

If there's a fault it's that there's not enough of it. The central conceit is genius, but although it starts with multiple mysteries, the way they all dovetail makes the world of Peter Grant seen a bit smaller and less messy than we're used to. Only a brief sojourn with the Rivers and their Spring Court reminds us of the wider world outside this one (hang a lantern on it Bond-villain type) case. And I could have stayed in Skygarden longer just soaking up the atmosphere, with some more red herrings along the way.

Having said that, the ending really ramps up the pace to a gripping climax that will leave you wanting the next volume. I'm looking forward to it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Grant goes south of the River, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This book is the fourth book in a series. If you've landed here without reading Rivers of London and its two sequels, you'd best go and do that - they're all rattling good reads - before coming back to it. It's not that Broken Homes can't be read alone - there are relatively few plot points here that depend on the earlier books, though there are some - it's more that if you read this first you'll want to read the others, but inevitably you'll then know about stuff that is meant to come as a surprise.

That said, this is another magical adventure in which Aaronovitch's spell-using police trio - Peter, Lesley and Nightingale (which, we now learn, seems to be a title rather than a name) - assisted by Toby the dog and the enigmatic Molly, investigate a series of gruesome deaths. These seem to focus on a south London high rise estate which the local council want to demolish, but which has inexplicably been listed for preservation.

As in the previous books, much of the focus here is on "routine" policing (OK, still policing by Nightingale's special squad, and so, by definition, supernatural, but basic matters: following up leads, cross checking information, generally getting nowhere. That, and crowd-policing the river gods' annual open day...) and the interactions between Nightingale's team and the ordinary police. Some might find that material a bit slow moving, but I rather enjoy watching this, following the chat between the colleagues and guessing which points will be significant and which won't. One of the strengths of the series is that there are continuing and developing mysteries that are never fully explained - Molly's true nature, for example, and the sprawling families of river gods - so that one senses Aaronovitch building up stuff for later books. I think Aaronovitch does this very well, very convincingly - to me his series is the most credible of the various recent takes on "magical London"

Of course the story does pick up pace towards the end with some dramatic action sequences and a pretty drastic conclusion. While pretty exciting (and the conclusion does leave things wide open for the future) I didn't find this section quite as engaging as the first part. I find it interesting that some other reviews say 'it starts slow but improves when it gets moving...' I'm not sure why that is - maybe those sequences are just a little slick? Maybe the real fun in these books is the bickering between Peter, Lesley and assorted supernatural entities (which naturally gets squeezed out by all the action?)

That's why I've rated it 4 stars rather than 5 - which in my view still means it is a very good read; it's an entertaining story and indeed a book I found hard to put down. I'm looking forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love all of PC Grant novels, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
AMM (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Homes (PC Peter Grant Book Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book, as with the others. I did find the first third of the book a bit disjointed in a couple of places - lots of minor characters brought in really early on, and I lost track of who was who and had to keep flicking back to remember. However, love Grant and Nightingale and the Zach is growing on me too. Great storyline, and boy - didn't see that twist coming. Can't wait for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost..., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Homes (PC Peter Grant Book Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Why almost? Because Arranovitch seems to have dropped one ball of the many he is juggling in this book. The first half was disconnected and didn't seem to flow like the previous 3 novels. It wasn't until the second half when we get to briefly see Nightingale in full flow that the pace picks up, the links start to be connected and we get more information.
We meet a new individual who could be help or hindrance, and maybe, just maybe, of interest to one of our characters. And the ending wasn't one i saw coming, though thinking back on it i really should have. But as others have said this didn't fully tie up all the plot lines in this novel as others have done, but left a wide gaping maw of a follow on for the next story.
So why the 4 stars instead of 5? EDITING!!!! Seriously, get a couple of decent proof readers to deal with the continuity errors and all the flipping typos!!!!
Other than that this is still an amazing book as all the Rivers novels are. For me they are up there with the Discworld series and that of the Emporers Edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a must read, no matter what genre you like., 29 July 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When Rivers of London came out in 2011 it was in my opinion ground breaking, each book in the series has built upon the last in a unique, witty and captivating style (Broken Homes, takes it to a new height). Peter Grant the main protagonist could be a guy you went to school with, well if you forget the fact that he can do magic, and is often as confused about it as you or I. Nightingale (his boss) is the mentor, some would say the Dumbledore, I would say the Doctor Who, the man with the past he doesn't share, the knowledge he drip feeds, and the personality of the irritable professor.

What I love about the series is the total unpredictable nature of the story/ Series, the topsy turvy contrary nature of the River spirits/ Gods and other magical beings. The twists and turns and machinations of the faceless man leave you guessing constantly as to where things will go next, what risks Peter will take next and powers he will try and use. Broken Homes introduces a new form of magic and takes us further into the political/ magical landscape of London and the Rivers. It throws up some serious surprises for the established characters, and delves deeper into the past, with more hints at the geo-political/ Magical landscape of Europe during WW2 and before.

In this series there are always some fantastic side plots, the boy meets girl plot lines, the boy runs from crazy girl, or girl from boy who does magic. Always the story arc and the small incidentals will leave you smiling or laughing out loud.

This truly is the most interesting, uniquely funny series being written. Its a must read, no matter what genre you like.

Highly Recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good read -- as usual, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A cracking good read -- as usual! Quite erudite in parts but not too intellectually OTT as they're largely explained by Peter Grant. Don't know who he is? Well, read the damn' book!
This is also a bit of recognition for South London, which often comes off poorly - if at all - in many London-based books. Historically, it always has been a kind of repository for the dregs of society and the less socially acceptable trades that nevertheless the capital needed; even in my youth (OK, so it's getting to be a while ago now ... ) if Wandsworth was mentioned, you automatically thought of the brewery and the prison. Just look at it now! However, South London has always been where things happen, where life moves, ferments, sometimes spills over but is, more often than not, exciting, creative in the broadest sense with a character and feeling all its own, very different in atmosphere from what happens North of the Thames. It always has had a population of real Londoners, of all shapes, sizes, colours and creeds and all this Aaronovitch captures with his usual gusto and zest for life ... altho' even he could not be 100% enthusiastic about Croydon ...
One question, tho? Is Lesley May being written out or will she re-appear in some beguiling disguise but with near diabolical intent? If the publishers would kindly release the new book in the series, I might find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good effort, a return to form, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Homes (PC Peter Grant Book Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
The last book was a tad, er, boring. I felt it was more police procedural than occult policing. This one is a return to form, developing some more of the backstory and moving at a pace in the second half. I enjoyed it but found it just a bit too easy. I dont deny it takes great skill to make something an easy read, but i could have taken a bit more exercise to get through the book. My main criticism i think is i'm not sure there is enough character development to be particularly moved by the finale, good twist that it is. It would be good in the next episode to get more of a sense of the approaching storm and under the skin of the characters. So far its a bit too surface, too TV. If it is another Peter Grant snack-ette then so be it, but, pretty please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still fun, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Homes (PC Peter Grant Book Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
South London does not come to life in the same way the north does in earlier books. Enjoyable though not as good as the earlier books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong continuation of the series but......., 19 Aug. 2013
By 
K. J. Miller (Newbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Homes (PC Peter Grant Book Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Ben Aaronovitch's urban magic police procedural series continues with a journey south of the river and he continues the strong progress he started with the first three books in PC Grants journey.

Broken Homes is another good read but where it falls down from the previous 5 star efforts is in feeling too much like the first half of a two part novel.

The cliff hanger ending does leave you wanting more but it feels like (and is) a shorter less comprehensive tale in compairson to previous outings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The books just get better!, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Homes (PC Peter Grant Book Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Have just finished reading this book - and it does not disappoint. I am only sad that I will never get to read it again for the first time - and that we will have to wait for the next book in the series. The just get better and better. I did not see the ending coming..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Homes (PC Peter Grant Book Book 4)
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews