Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Educational - A Fantastic Read
Red Nile proves once again Robert Twigger a master of prose. Having loved his adventure books, most notably Voyageur - Across the Rocky Mountains in a Birchbark Canoe (2006), I wasn't sure whether I'd like this one as much. Very pleasantly surprised. The book is exhaustively researched but not at all laborious to read. To the contrary! Full of fun facts and fascinating...
Published 19 months ago by Jason Lewis

versus
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed and sloppy, darts around all over the place. A one-sided history of Egypt without much of the first 3000 years.
Rather sentimental but some good considerations of the irrigation and the impact of the modern world but not a lot of thought given to the coming rise of Ethiopia and what is going to happen to the fight for water and the control of the blue nile.
Published 18 months ago by Harry Webster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Educational - A Fantastic Read, 29 May 2013
Red Nile proves once again Robert Twigger a master of prose. Having loved his adventure books, most notably Voyageur - Across the Rocky Mountains in a Birchbark Canoe (2006), I wasn't sure whether I'd like this one as much. Very pleasantly surprised. The book is exhaustively researched but not at all laborious to read. To the contrary! Full of fun facts and fascinating anecdotes, the book is a treasure-trove of information and skips along with the author's signature writing style. My 78-year-old mother hasn't put the book down either since I gave it to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and facinating, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robert Twigger's book The Red Nile is about as far from a dry
geographical thesis or a plodding chronology as you can get. True, the
history is there, after all this is the home of some of the most ancient
human civilisations, but it is cleverly linked through to experiences of
some of the larger-than-life characters that have tried to subjugate
either the people of the Nile or the river itself. A fascinating cast of
rulers, conquerors, explorers, engineers, con-men and bizarre eccentrics
are brought to life against the ever flowing backdrop of the river
itself.

Twigger is married to an Egyptian and lived for many years in Cairo
giving him sharp insights into the impact of events that have been
played out along the length of the river. He also witnessed the
beginnings of the uprising that ultimately lead to democratic elections
in the country; bringing the history of the Nile right up to date.

At its heart this is a book of stories; but stories that have been
extremely well researched and brilliantly told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely First Class in every way, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Nile: The Biography of the World's Greatest River (Kindle Edition)
I didn't want this book to end. Twigger approaches his subject with meticulous research and infectious enthusiasm. His anecdotes, historical and descriptive passages are second to none. I felt I was reading a book by a real expert and someone with both the imagination and the ability to bring in many tales which, even though some only lightly touched the Nile as subject matter, still came across as gripping and valid. I was incredulous that the high standard he began with continued unceasingly throughout the book. Taking into account its great length this was a feat in itself. I would unreservedly recommend this to everyone and may yet buy the hardback so I can have it on the bookshelves as well as on the Kindle. It is a darned good read and one to keep you occupied through grim winter evenings and to reread again often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didnt want my journey through the book to end, 20 July 2013
By 
P. Davies (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a marvellous writer he is. He notices stuff of interest wherever he looks. And he communicates a sense of meaning so you feel the world's bounds loosen and enlightenment creep in. I read the book slowly, savouring it, sometimes just a short section a day (- you can dip in and out though there are threads of continuity.
I didn't know I would be interested by a river's biography - how wrong I was.
I cant resist quoting a couple of section headings;
section 18 of part 2: "Christian mob murder attractive female philosopher"
section 35 of part 5: "Iroquois Indians on the River Nile" (yes there were - worth getting the book just for this)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a stunningly good book, 30 May 2013
By 
William Coles (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book quite staggering - both in its breadth and in the beauty of its writing. Twigger hasn't just lived the Nile, he's done the research. A massive amount of research - hundreds of books, and it is these which make up the spine of Red Nile. But Twigger strings it all together brilliantly. So many of these quasi-biographies are stuffy academic tomes, but Twigger's tone is, throughout, light and effortless. He brings with it, of course, his own deeply personal knowledge of the Nile that he has gleaned from his years in Egypt. This is a stunningly good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful (Hi)storytelling, 11 July 2014
By 
I loved this book. Fun to read, witty, engaging, thoughtful, provocative,and illuminating. The sheer scale of the topic is staggering; one could easily feel inundated with the extraordinary volume of information coursing through the pages of this book. Yet with the sure and deft touch of a master storyteller, Twigger artfully separates the currents of geographical, social, political, domestic, and personal histories into channels that offer clarity and insight while never losing touch with the complexity that unites the flows of time and destiny. Like the great river itself, sometimes meandering, sometimes torrential, sometimes lost in the swamp, this book breathes life into history and the human condition. One of Twigger's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jun 2013
By 
The Bookshop (Wigtown, Scotland's National Book Town) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent description of the history, geology and culture surrounding the Nile. Twigger's style is witty and engaging, and his experience as an explorer and adventurer in Egypt lends the book a refreshing intimacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Nile: The Biography of the World's Greatest River (Kindle Edition)
Took time to get into it but it was worthwhile. An interesting way of dealing with the history of the river.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nile Writ Large, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A compelling patchwork of big characters and convoluted dramas all interconnected like the weaves of an Arabesque. With wicked humour to boot. It's a great deal larger than the sum of its already epic parts. Fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scatter technique, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent and enthralling read. It is such a complex subject that the diverse collection of stories about politics, Victorian explorers, Cleopatra, Dams and especially Orde Wingate!(you need to read the book!) etc is the only way the project could be expressed. I found the overall impression really informative and it provoked me to hunt out my old copy of the Kasidah by Burton. There is something for everybody in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews