Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word. Wonderful!
The Wonderful 101 is the newest title from Platinum Games (Bayonetta, Metal Gear Rising) and published by Nintendo.

The plot essentially revolves around a group of people collectively titled the Wonderful 100 (the extra 1 is YOU!) who are given Superpowers via medallions around their necks which allow them Superhuman powers to take on an Alien threat...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. M. J. Reed

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird
Tried playing it but I don't understand it and have difficulty playing it not because its difficult , because its weird
Published 1 month ago by Human


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word. Wonderful!, 24 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
The Wonderful 101 is the newest title from Platinum Games (Bayonetta, Metal Gear Rising) and published by Nintendo.

The plot essentially revolves around a group of people collectively titled the Wonderful 100 (the extra 1 is YOU!) who are given Superpowers via medallions around their necks which allow them Superhuman powers to take on an Alien threat.

Gameplay. You start each mission with a handful of people and as you explore the world you recruit more, think of it more like Little King's Story or Pikmin, each of the main characters allow you to have different attacks, for example Wonder-Red uses a giant fist, which can be used not only to attack enemies but also to turn valves. Wonder-Blue turns people into swords, which can slash at enemies while also picking locks.

To gain these 'wonderful' abilities you need to are required to either draw symbols on the stylus or use the R stick, personally I found it better to mix it up to accomplish this as some symbols are awkward with the stick.

Controls overall in the game take a little getting used to, but ultimately are fine. I found a few people getting frustrated with the game and blaming the controls rather than their own lack of skill.

Combat in the game is similar to a lot of Platinum games with some new things mixed in, you have your different attacks however simply attacking is not enough as you'll be required to block and dodge, however to do this you will be required to spend at the shop in between levels.

This is a Platinum game through and through, expect the game to hold your hand and you'll quickly find that you'll struggle with it. However if you don't mind hard work and learning about things for yourself you'll find this title far more rewarding.

Pros:
Bright Graphics
Fun Combat
Great sense of humour
Doesn't Hold Your Hand

Cons:
Can make the game a lot more difficult to yourself
Can be too difficult to some

Overall the Wonderful 101 is a Wonderful experience, it's not for everyone but it feels like a rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This is what the Wii U has been waiting for an exclusive that will make you buy one. The game is really good, yes there are a few fiddly bits but they are not enough to stop this game from being great fun. The characters are crazy but this just's makes the game even more fascinating. If you own a Wii U then in my opinion this is a just have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Gaming Japanese Style, 23 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I remember the reveal of the Wii U and Nintendo showing off a very quick clip of The Wonderful 101 (for the sake of the review I am typing TW101). I immediately thought it appeared to be a clone of Pikmin with superheroes. Up to the demo launching on the Nintendo Wii U eshop I admit I had the same misconception about the game, this is nothing like Pikmin.

Sitting down with the demo I was head kicked as enemies beat me up, sent me flying across the screen and the other 100 followers didn't seem to even care... I got extremely frustrated quickly and thought I am not buying this game!

I then watched a video on the game, a rather behind the scenes development glimpse and I caught sight of a developer playing a level; he was attacking and swiping at the Wii U gamepad quickly connecting Unite morphs one after the other and then I realised I hadn't even considered doing that.

Anyway here I am with a copy of the game a few days before release and I am over the moon with the experience. Think of it as a Power Rangers Hyper extreme over the top eye feast, that while not graphically the most impressive game on Wii U it certainly is one that utilises the Wii U system perfectly.

If you have played a Platinum Games title before you will know that they are experts in fighting mechanics, what I have come to love about TW101 is that the game rewards your experimentation allowing you to pull off extreme combos as your men and women morph into giant fists and then swords in seconds.

Usage of the gamepad is really well implemented, when the 101 enter buildings the TV view stays outside but the gamepad view swoops in and follows them about but you will need to use both TV and gamepad to solve some puzzles (All pretty straight forward but logical so not to hinder you). The gamepad screen is also used for the entry of the Unite morphs or you can use the right control stick (This is difficult!), drawing a cycle and hitting A commits the morph. The secret to this game is to ensure that while you complete a morph and start your unite attacks you then need to enter a new morph command and setup your next unite attacks, this chaining is vital in scoring the ludicrous high scores and gaining those platinum medals.

Some folk will be put off by the above and consider this a standard button masher but you really need to think about the creative ways on how to chain certain Unites together to make the most powerful combos. As you progress further into the game you unlock more combo moves as well which opens up further Unite morph opportunities.

I am aware that some reviews have said the above is a negative thing but for me its great, it makes me challenge more myself about what the next logical link would be to keep the fight going, instead of mashing buttons with no consideration (This is still rewarded but you won't be getting those platinum medals).

If you consider yourself a gamer, or want to experiment with something a little different to the typical game on the market such as another yearly football churn then this really is something that action fans would love, not to mention the over the top and often chuckling cut scenes which rock. Platinum Games have delivered the ultimate experience this year in The Wonderful 101
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn how the controls work and you'll love Wonderful 101!, 23 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I'll just be focusing on the technical aspects of the product.

Packaging:

- Case, cover, game disc and manual.

Gameplay:

- The controls of W101 are great, everything works smoothly although if you're planning to buy this game please try the demo first and learn how the controls properly work because this isn't your typical game where you jump in and know how everything works -- Nope, Wonderful 101 makes you want to play the game how it was intended otherwise you'll just die and eventually give up due to your own fault. Don't let this happen.

- In Wonderful 101 you can either use the Wii U GamePad or the Wii U Pro Controller, and it's not necessary to pick up the GamePad for additional screen because it's possible to bring up a little box with it and then hide it away when not needed.

- I'd recommend the Pro Controller over the GamePad because it lasts for 80h-90h of battery whereas the GamePad needs to be recharged every 3-4 hours which isn't comforting, though its advantage is that you can play the whole game on the GamePad without the TV on.

Graphics:

- They look absolutely stunning in HD with its cartoony and shiny look, I'd hope that by the cartoon-ish graphics it wouldn't be a reason for someone to ignore it (people are quick to judge it's insane).

Camera:

- Sometimes the camera is unable to track your every move so you'll be wondering at least a couple of times where your character is localised, but once you catch up with its pace this isn't an issue any more.

Lifespan:

- The game can last more or less around 20 hours and with tons of replayability you'll be sure to be playing the game more than once, even more because as you get the hang of how the game works it becomes more creative making the weapons and destroying the enemies.

Music:

- I'm really enjoying the score, however, there were times I wish they'd have given it more variety because the same background song playing constantly can break the mood of the player, but if it becomes too irritating you can mute it on the TV or go to the options and set the music to 0%.

Languages:

- Audio: Japanese audio, English dub
- Subs: English, French, Italian, German and Spanish (This multi subtitled version is exclusive to the European release)

To finalise:

- Please play the demo before considering to purchase the game because this isn't the type of game that suits most gamers/people and that it'd be pointless for you to spend your hard earnt money on something you wouldn't enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wii U owners should all buy this game., 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
In typical Platinum Games style, Wonderful 101 is a fast past chaotic games. The story is something straight out of a Sunday morning cartoon and the gameplay is brilliantly challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 3 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
this is a great game.i have a lot of fun.brilliant gameplay with excellent use of wii u gamepad.must byu for wii u owners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wonderful 101......Is Wonderful!, 27 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This came as such a pleasant surprise. If you have ever played Viewtiful Joe buy this game immediately! This game is not for young children, despite its looks, and is lengthy, colourful, addictive as heck and most importantly FUN. If you own a Nintendo Wii U then this is a must have, and it is personally a contender for my game of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a Platinum games lover, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Well of course I liked it, at first I was skeptical, the new way to play this game was interesting, but not appealing, netherless everything changed when I bought more and more upgrades to speed up the way I could change the wonder I was going to use to fight. It became a lot of fun with a few upgrades and the ending was spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun....., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Amazing unique game, you never know what is coming next, can be difficult at times though overall an amazing experience. Games like these from Japan need more support, otherwise we'll be doomed to horrendous free to play mobile phone rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!, 27 Aug 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
If you have a WiiU you really should give this game a go. It's very original and very funny in places. It's Packed full of great action and characters, it's not perfect but in the age of boring FPS and boring FPS this really is a breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U)
The Wonderful 101 (Nintendo Wii U) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii U)
28.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews