Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy remake of the original
The original Wind Waker was one of the greatest Zelda games I've ever played. This title is a worthy remake of that original.

The graphics are clearly improved. This isn't just a simple upscaling to 1080p--the new shaders help bring the game alive. Frankly, it looks simply stunning compared to the original (which, at the time, also looked pretty nifty.)...
Published 14 months ago by M. McMahon

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars new lick of paint
had this on the Gamecube over 10 years ago but I'm really not enjoying this HD update as much as I expected. I suspect my lack of enthusiasm for this title is due to the fact the last game I finished was Skyward Sword (replayed 2nd time due to lack of quality Wii U titles) and after using the superlative wii motion plus controls on that game what a backward step these...
Published 13 months ago by S. A. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy remake of the original, 5 Oct 2013
By 
M. McMahon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
The original Wind Waker was one of the greatest Zelda games I've ever played. This title is a worthy remake of that original.

The graphics are clearly improved. This isn't just a simple upscaling to 1080p--the new shaders help bring the game alive. Frankly, it looks simply stunning compared to the original (which, at the time, also looked pretty nifty.)

The Wii U GamePad integration is excellent. It displays your items, maps and Miiverse bottles on the screen--and equipping new items is simply a case of dragging that item (using the touch screen) to the slot you wish to assign it to, without having to pause the game mid-battle (although, of course, items can still be equipped when paused.) This results in far less faffing around compared to the original, as you're able to check your sea charts, swap items and read bottle messages without having to pause the action. It's also possible to play the game entirely on the GamePad (if someone wishes to use your television for other purposes) - but note that, in this mode, you'll lose the ability to equip items/check maps without pausing the game.

There are also minor quality-of-life improvements here and there. For instance, the Grappling Hook animation has been shortened compared to its GameCube ancestor. The GamePad's gyroscope can be used to aim first-person items (Hook, telescope, etc.) There's also an item available after completing Dragon Roost Cavern that makes your journey across the seas much simpler.

A new mode named Hero Mode is present - enemies will deal more damage to Link, and there are no hearts to replenish health. Wind Waker veterans may wish to jump directly into the mode, as it's available without having to complete the game on Normal mode first.

I can't rave enough about this remake. It's certainly enhanced my love for Wind Waker, and is well worth the price tag considering the number of new features that made it into this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wind Waker Wii U: The Middle-of-the-Road Gamers Opinion, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Hello friends....Zelda is back!
10 years ago this game was sublime, and that hasn't changed. This is sheer beauty and brilliance combined.
The tweaks over the original GameCube version are very welcome, but it's not as much about the modifications with this remake, this was about the continuation of giving Zelda to a new generation. Ocarina 3D was a great entry title and Wind Waker should be the catalyst for newcomers to track down previous Zelda titles (maybe not the CDI efforts though)

A must buy for anybody who owns the U, I cannot praise this game enough. The only criticism would be the price which is a tad steep, but with the next gen on the horizon there could be a price drop soon.

If you've yet to play a Zelda game then this is the time to get stuck in, then go download A Link To The Past from the Wii store....you're welcome.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Zelda, new and improved!, 2 Oct 2014
By 
J. Farrow (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Slated by some as one of the worst Zelda titles released (who these people are I don't know but I'd wager they're absolutely bonkers) is the Wind Waker: HD edition! First thing to mention out of the gate; this is NOT a remake, I cannot stress this enough. This is a HD re-release; I just want to make that clear as these are two very different things!

So what's new? Well for a start the game runs in a glorious 1080p resolution and looks absolutely gorgeous. The frame rate is 30FPS, but it's stable and doesn't detract from the visuals or game play in the slightest.

The Wii U gamepad possibly adds the most useful feature to the game, enabling Link to swap out his items on the fly and save progress without needing to pause and also displays all of those pesky Wind Waker melodies that you'll never have to commit to memory again. The Wii U gamepad's gyroscope is also usable to aim Link's bow, grapple hook or hookshot however having this setting enabled can mess with your manual aiming and quite frankly is nothing more than a pointless gimmick.

The Tingle Tuner is now gone due to the Game Boy Advance's absence in modern gaming and is replaced by Tingle Bottles! These bottles enable players to throw messages out in the great sea for other players to find, offering hints, musings and even selfies for your enjoyment.

Nintendo obviously listened to fan's criticisms of the original title and have reworked some of the game mechanics to address these issues. The big kahuna of these has to be the Triforce quest 'nerf'. No longer will you have to endlessly sail the great sea in search of chart after chart just to get robbed blind by that poser Tingle! Now you only get robbed for three charts. Hooray! A new item which has been added to this edition goes by name of 'The Swift Sail'. This can be acquired so that you never have to change wind direction as the sail will enable you to travel at max speed regardless. The grappling hook animation has also been shortened to avoid wasting time pulling it back up after missing that illusive chest. Whilst in the boat the sail is now always bound to the A button releasing the need to have it equipped as an item, as with the bomb cannon and grapple hook which are bound to the D-pad for easy bombardment and salvaging.

Lastly we have Hero mode! This addition was first added into Skyward Sword and it adds an extra hard injection of difficulty into what quite frankly, is a fairly easy game. Enemies and the environment no longer offer you recovery hearts, meaning that Link can only replenish his life through the use of consumables such as fairies and potions. Be warned, this setting is not for the faint of heart!

So as you can see while not a re-make of the original game the HD edition adds much needed content to an already fantastic title, and those of you who haven't played this game in a few years will be falling in love with it all over again. To those of you who haven't played it yet - What are you waiting for? Dive right in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wind Beneath My Sails, 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
On the 2nd of May 2003, the Wind Waker was released, received by a very split audience. It was this game that first introduced Toon Link – a cel-shaded version of the Hero of Time in a whole new cel-shaded adventure. The Wind Waker unveiled the start of a very original and beautiful art style, but in a period of video games where realism spelled success, it was overlooked. Ten years later, the Wind Waker HD is released. The game has been tweaked and improved as well as a luscious coating of HD beauty. The lapping of the waves looks like a moving painting and all of the cel-shaded characters are diverse and memorable. The original game is still visually impressive to date so it is a pleasant surprise to see what updated lighting and coloring adds to the aesthetics of the game.

The game is set several centuries after the Ocarina of Time and begins on Outset Island, an island surrounded by a vast ocean which forms the games hub-world. From the get go you are introduced to the beautiful world to which the game is set. The story begins with Link’s coming of age, and by tradition he’s given the classic green tunic which the Hero of Time wore. Following the series’ usual patterns, you complete a number of simple tutorials to get yourself used to the control scheme before being thrust into the plot of the story. After the arrival of a pirate ship and a misplaced Captain Tetra, a minion of Ganondorf – a large bird – swoops down to the island and carries away Link’s sister. Link, of course, decides to rescue her. With the aid of the King of Red Lions, a magical speaking ship, you travel across the vast ocean in the attempt to find the pieces of the tri-force to defeat Ganon once more.

Due to the GameCube’s limited processing power, the vast horizon was blurred. But with the Wii U’s hardware that is no longer a problem and the great expanse of water is yours to explore. The game is not just a simple port but a truly remastered experience. Along with all the beautiful retexturing, gameplay has also been tweaked – for example, the sail speed was often a major problem for people as it took too long to reach a destination, so a new sail is available to be purchased, allowing greater speed to be attained whilst adventuring. Tingle makes his uncanny return, presenting you with the “Tingle Bottle”; a container to insert your own message and release the it into the ocean. With the use of Miiverse, your bottle is sent to a complete stranger, offering communication between worlds. When I first played the original I was stunned at how angry people were over such an amazing game. By having a Toon Link it allows facial features to be expressed in greater detail and also includes greater combat rather than the usual horizontal slice.

Instruments have always played a part in the in the Zelda series and this game is no different. The Wind Waker is a musical baton which gives you the command of the winds. This is primarily used to aid you in sailing. Without wind your ship will not sail. You perform the Wind’s Requiem and decide the direction of the wind. This may seem tedious but is as enjoyable as it crucial. The game throws a variety of adversaries between you and your destination for you to slay, including giant squid who are adamant on destroying you and your ship. These extra elements provide a challenge to an otherwise dull sailing experience.

The game is relatively short with only five main dungeons, followed by a crusade for the tri-force pieces. The final hunt for the fragments used to be long and cumbersome, but like other features this has been restructured and evolved to provide the player with less of an urge to scream at the boundless ocean! The dungeons themselves are very simple and are not difficult to complete, leaving me somewhat disappointed by the lack of challenge that is to be expected from a Zelda title. Coinciding with the main story is a wealth of side quests and treasures to be discovered below and above the murky depths. Exploring the various islands will equip you with treasure charts which give a rough location of loot – usually off the shore of an island and rewards you with rupees and other various financial rewards. Living inhabitants are not the only problem Link faces whilst out at sea, the weather plays an intricate part when planning your journey. The horizon can quickly turn from blue skies to thunder and lightning, with tornado’s presenting the threat of throwing you off-course.

The game is compatible with the Wii U Pro Controller, but to really get the most from Wind Waker HD, the GamePad is recommended. For the first time on a home console Zelda game you no longer need to interrupt the game’s flow by swapping inventory or checking the map as that can now be done on the fly. The GamePad allows you to plan sea fares as well as scour treasure charts whilst on the high seas; and when battling through a dungeon it allows you to quickly swap key equipment (For extra fun, try trick-shotting the items off the side of the screen and onto the buttons).

The Wind Waker HD is the renewal of a ten year old game that sets the standards of how HD remakes should be done. For people who missed out on one of Link’s most original journeys, it is definitely worth picking up. With glorious visuals and an intriguing story this game will keep you entertained for around twenty hours. It is a rather short adventure compared to Link’s other lengthier outings, but the difficulty of the game presents the idea that this is a game for people who are new to the franchise. That’s not to say that there isn’t a lot for the experienced player to achieve, or warrant a purchase for someone who already owns the original GameCube release, as this game provides a luscious, perfected world for gamers to return to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oldy but a goody, 4 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I had forgotten just how much I loved this game and even now, except for a few shonky npc animations, it still feels fresh, exciting and an overall incredible adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, re-mastered, 7 Jun 2014
By 
J. Richards "The Icon" (Caldicot, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
For a game that is 10 years old, the Gamecube version still holds up well to todays standards of HD gaming due to it's graphical style.

Moving forward 10 years, Nintendo bought this to the WiiU and to HD with that. The graphical style of this stands out by a mile in HD, it's stunning. It's like seeing Wind Waker again for the first time, reliving Link's adventures feel new again. Even though it's the same story as before. With the new HD textures comes better looking areas, Windfall Island looks stunning, the storms across the Great Sea are better than ever. I believe a fine example of how great this looks comes with staring at the Tower of Gods, showing how much more detail is now on show than before.

Of course, not all the improvements have come from the visuals. The audio has been improved, so now you can listen to all the sounds of the game in stunning surround sound. There have been a few improvements in how the game plays as well, you can pick-up the colour pictograph a heck of a lot earlier (and before getting to Dragon Roost Island) as well. And it gives you more slots than before, so more Pictos for collection to the Nintendo Gallery owner (and you can put all 10 to the chap at once, so no more waiting). You can get a new "faster" sail, which not only allows faster sailing across the ocean, but also keeps the wind behind you without the need to stop to change it's direction. Timings have improved with changing the wind direction, un-necessary animations have been removed from the wind changing. One of the top improvements comes from the menu, no more pressing "pause" to change what's on what button. It can all be done via the Gamepad (even if using a Pro Controller).

You can also post to Miiverse with the integration this game brings to it, this is done via the Gamepad. Other gamers also can post in-game screenshots which appear on various islands across The Great Sea in little "Tingle" bottles (the Miiverse integration).

Overall, the improvements made to this give the game a fresh feel to those whom adventured the Great Sea on the Gamecube. For people new to Wind Waker, prepare for a great journey.

This game can be played via the Gamepad or the WiiU Pro Controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I know this game is a remake but I have never played the gamecube original so to me it is a new game. the first thing is how this game looks, the graphics are incredible and may be the best looking game I have ever played. I have played the first couple of hours when I received the game and so far so amazing, if you own a wiiU I would definitely pick this up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another class release., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I played the original version on Gamecube ,So i know this game.I have not played this HD version but loaded it up to check out the updated graphics, and WOW it looks great.
Its not the best Zelda game ever made (my favorite being Majoras Mask),but its still a excellent game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zelda at its best, 22 May 2014
By 
MB (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
OK, dare i say it, silence please, BUT I have never played this game before i.e. back in 2002, nor for that matter heard of it, shock horror I know! I have of course played both the Zelda games on the Wii and I thought that they were amazing, that is why Nintendo are truly innovative. OK, so I was very dubious about buying this game as its style was more like a cartoon, with cartoon characters unlike the previous Wii games. Nevertheless I bought it and boy I am I glad I did. The game is a joy, the graphics are crisp and colorful, a delight to be part of during game play! The game-play is similar to the other Zelda games that I've played and it doesn't take much getting use to. The quests, mini bosses, collectibles etc are fantastic, very enjoyable, sometimes difficult, hence I sometimes referred to a walk-through. This game utilizes the game-pad in so many ways, either for off screen play, which is very useful when the TV is being used and for your items, maps etc, this is why the Wii U is the best console out there. Buy this game you wont be disappointed.

Like i say in so many of my Wii U game reviews, buy the Wii U it is not a Wii it is a new system and it is fantastic, ignore all the Wii U haters!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a must!, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
One of the most beautiful Zelda games ever made now on HD. Looks loke you're inside a cartoon moovie playing the main role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD (Nintendo Wii U)
£39.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews