Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He just keeps getting better and better
I first heard a Steve Earle track almost 25 years ago.

From the first moment I heard that voice I was hooked - and now a quarter of a century later, after all the booze, the drugs, the jail time and the many many marriages he's still here and still able to make me stop and listen for 45 minutes.

This collection of songs is quite possibly his best yet...
Published 15 months ago by Cambridge Ian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album
Acquired taste, have to listen it to a few times to get into it.
But if you are a fan of Steve Earle you will like it.
Published 12 months ago by darlingpixiefly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly produced, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
as is usually the case with steve Earle's recordings.
Mainly because it's not over produced. Always the song is the man subject and not some fancy sound experiments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best band Steve has assembled, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
Some excellent songs and the best band Steve has assembled around him(he said that himself when I saw him perform last month). Chris Masterson is a musical genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back on form., 24 Jun 2013
By 
Philip Critchley "Tocky, York" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
This signals a return to form for Steve and the gang for me. His previous releases have all been to the usual high standard we expect from Steve Earle this new release has more of an edge. For my money he has long surpassed his hero Townes and continues to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
Acquired taste, have to listen it to a few times to get into it.
But if you are a fan of Steve Earle you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Earle- genius, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
Good as always would recommend Steve Earle to anyone who has an interest in a story being told or a voice with passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The jury is still out, but ..., 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
I'm continuing to play this and looking for that breakthrough moment. However, so far I have to say it is not of the same high quality as 'Copphead Road' and 'Washington Square' both of which had several instantly loveable, standout tracks apiece. And it's hard to hear what he's singing about on this album; much mumbling. Sorry Steve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
Steve back at his best. This is a genuinely instant classic album. A man at the top of his game. If you love all the good stuff after he got out of jail, you'll love this. Earthy, solid and memorable. Still loving the New York vibe it has too, but better than Washington. Buy it, you won't be let down! Steve Earle for President!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Music thought provoking lyrics!, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
A must for fans of country and folk music, all you youngsters out there - if you like Mumford & Sons you will like Steve Earle, all you old timers if you like Neil Young you will love Steve Earle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good album from Steve. A little bit more country than rock on this one, but still a good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invisible! Not....., 27 May 2013
By 
Mr. B. J. Thackray (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low Highway (Audio CD)
Very good, my favourite tacks Low highway and the awesome invisible, great music video for this track also.Steve back to his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Low Highway
The Low Highway by Steve Earle (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews