Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Classic Classic
This is a must for any Terry Thomas fan, I watched it years ago and loved it, I have seen this so many times and never get bored, this re-issue comes in a slim plastic case. Buy this if you like a good comedy.
Published 18 months ago by P. Sweeting

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing and dated .
Leslie Philips , Terry Thomas - how can it fail? By being made at a dire time for British comedy when it was felt that a smattering of nudity and a risque subject matter could make up for a lack of a funny script. The early 70s saw a large number of such films designed to take advantage of growing sexual freedom at the cinema , and unfortunately they are mostly dreadful...
Published 7 months ago by I. Stuart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing and dated ., 19 Nov. 2014
By 
I. Stuart "CambsMusicLover" (Cambridge,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Leslie Philips , Terry Thomas - how can it fail? By being made at a dire time for British comedy when it was felt that a smattering of nudity and a risque subject matter could make up for a lack of a funny script. The early 70s saw a large number of such films designed to take advantage of growing sexual freedom at the cinema , and unfortunately they are mostly dreadful. The later Carry on..films had the same problem. If you consider how popular the Confessions films were you can see why producers saw this as a way to drag viewers away from their TV , but 40 years later these films simply dont stand up - nudge nudge wink wink. And yes that is the level of humour on display here - oops , done it again etc etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Classic Classic, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
This is a must for any Terry Thomas fan, I watched it years ago and loved it, I have seen this so many times and never get bored, this re-issue comes in a slim plastic case. Buy this if you like a good comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good 1970's tittilation, 30 April 2013
By 
Stephen Bloom "Steve B" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Okay it's not the best film of all time but if you like posh public school cads such as Terry Thomas and Leslie Phillips, some 1975 girls in skimpy bikinis and bad hair styles plus some poor Spanish acting then this is a film of an idyllic life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it.., 19 July 2008
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with the other two reviewers that this film is not great. It's true that the actors are, unfortunately, past their prime for the roles they are playing but I didn't find this film as bad as others would have you believe. It's not up their with the Gods but it's not as bad as syphilis either. If you have a liking for British comedy and understand it as a product of it's time there is definitely some fun to be had. 3 stars. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheeky film very much of its time. Corny storyline ..., 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Cheeky film very much of its time. Corny storyline, but has a certain charm and thanks to the main actors it just about succeeds in raising a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Picture: very good quality (16:9)
Sound: mono, but also very good quality.
Extra's: Fullframe version (4:3), Trailer, Music Suite with 55+ minutes of music from the movie (mono), and a gallery with 50+ pictures.
The extra's are an excellent idea, I think.
I'm quite happy to have it in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, The silly ending tends to detract from a ..., 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Entertaining, The silly ending tends to detract from a well made film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
delivered on time ,dvd as stated,thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very funny, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Not very good,but comedy has moved on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Spanish Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spanish Fly [DVD]
Spanish Fly [DVD] by Bob Kellett (DVD - 2013)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews