Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it
I love all Michael Portilo's train journeys, they are a real treat and this one is no exception to that rule. After watching it makes you feel that you have been abroad to these places and he takes you into places which would normally be restricted to the public.
The scenery is just beautiful and you really feel that you are sat on the train with him.
What more...
Published 11 months ago by Friends fan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A record of what proved to be interesting journeys,
& an interesting angle from before a dark period of European history.

Good to be positive about something involving an ex-MP, who has flourished in this media spotlight.
Need the 2nd series soon!
Published 14 months ago by paul


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 28 Mar. 2014
By 
Friends fan (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
I love all Michael Portilo's train journeys, they are a real treat and this one is no exception to that rule. After watching it makes you feel that you have been abroad to these places and he takes you into places which would normally be restricted to the public.
The scenery is just beautiful and you really feel that you are sat on the train with him.
What more can I say, I just love all of Michael Portilo's train journeys - someday I will purchase more and then I will be able to watch them in the winter time when I cannot get into the garden. So far I have been pleased that the TV has been re-running the older ones, which I have watched with enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Continental corker. Top notch TV, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
This series is a total treat. The journey through Switzerland alone contains more 'wow' moments in one hour of television than most documentaries pack into an entire series. The scenery is outright stunning; the towns ludicrously picturesque, and the ambition of the final railway lines - halfway up the Eiger and genuinely to the top of an alp - is staggering.

You may be familiar with the standard series of half-hour programmes which play almost non-stop on the BCC, detailing journeys around the UK. This series is slightly different in that it ventures onto the Continent and each episode runs to a full 60 minutes. The longer format really suits the programmes much better; there's less repetition and more space for Michael Portillo to explore his continuing themes of railway, industrial and social history.
These episodes also differ in that instead of uncovering our own heritage, they investigate the European situation at a very specific time. Portillo is guided as usual by his faithful Bradshaw's guide of 1913, when the bright lights of the belle epoch were about to be extinguished by the war to end all wars.
Inevitably the programmes touch on some of the causes of WW1, the intertwined royal families of Europe, etc, but this content is carefully balanced with plenty of entertaining travelogue, spectacular photography (some of the German and alpine footage is unbelievably beautiful), archive film (especially of the lines being made; tunnels blasted through solid mountains and such) and glorious architecture.
It's all woven together by unassuming Michael, the train traveller who could almost be anyman -- except he has excellent access to all the best hotels! On our behalf, multilingual Portillo chats with historians and local guides to get a sense of each area, and chats with bemused locals about the regional delicacy or quirk of history. Sometimes the interactions verge on the cringe worthy, but Portillo is a polished performer who knows how to quit while ahead. He makes for a charming travelling companion - albeit one with a startling choice in bright-coloured shirts. And he does look a bit uncomfortable with some of the antics involved, like baking pastries and handing them out in the street. We winced on his behalf.

The best moments? Too many to mention, but the giant disused factory in Zurich, now a park, is one, as was the trip to the top of Jungfraujoch. And finishing where the Armistice was signed was a lovely touch. The Rheine journey was visually gorgeous. Who knew that Paris flooded in 1910? That the Swiss rolled out electric trains in the 1800s? Or that Wagner wrote a birthday tune for his sweetheart and had it performed on the stairs as she woke?
Overall, these films are extremely satisfying in their hour-long format - even though they are necessarily less detailed than the homeland series and tend to skip over some of the stops without so much as a look-see. There's plenty of interesting locomotives and lines for train enthusiasts, and much more for fans of industrial heritage. I adore the trivia of this type of time-travelling. It's perfect proof that factual TV does not have to be dumbed down to be both popular and intellectually involving. Don't expect to be shocked in any way: do put on your comfy slippers and relax. Ideally with a martini.
Why not five stars? For the complete lack of any extras on the DVD. How hard would it be to add in some of the segments which didn't make the final cut, guys? And that would reward the faithful audience who buy these products...
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wendy, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
Another fabulous journey have enjoyed everyone of these and look at it many times.

My husband says it was a lovely present especially as he got the Bradshaw's book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Viewing, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
Five x 60 minute masterpieces.
The BBC at its best, with great film work showing the European cities in all their glory.
Michael's enthusiasm really comes through & it’s a joy from start to finish.
Don’t be put off by the title “Great Railway Journeys” – while the shows do touch on the actual journeys, most of the time is spent at the destinations and how the railways help shape the development of these great European cities.
But this is no ordinary travel documentary; with Michael’s help, you really get a feel for what post 1914 Europe must have been like for the British traveller of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series full of fascinating detail and sights, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful series and, for me, far more interesting than Michael Portillo's British railway journey programmes. As a guide, Portillo is excellent and displays a witty and engaging personality in chatting with people he meets on the way. It's just a pity that it's not available on Blu-ray. The series was broadcast in high definition which displayed the many scenic sights spendidly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How railways should be run., 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
As usual a good brief history of Europe and the different selection of railways and scenery,and looking forward to the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Continental Railway Journeys, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
We enjoyed the TV series and can now watch again at will. It's a DVD and it does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the journey, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked this 'railway journey'..the places visited were really interesting...kept me absorbed til the end...many thanks for a fine DVD...J
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PORTILLO'S CONTINENTAL JOURNEYS, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
Jet Lagged - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
"I'm embarking on a new railway adventure that will take me across the heart of Europe. I'll be using this - my Bradshaw's Continental Railway Guide, dated 1913 - which opened up an exotic world of foreign travel..."

This gentle introduction by the host leads leads us once again into yet another episode of this excellent series.

Michael Portillo, featuring his interesting sartorial choices, is our tour guide to the rail tracks on the continent this time. With his 1913 'Bradshaw's Continental Railway Guide' in hand, we follow him on his journeys as armchair travellers.

I was especially surprised that this particular continental series is not available on Blu-ray. There are some truly stunning journeys here that lend themselves to this format. One of the journeys is literally above the clouds at the hotel terminus. Another journey takes him through Switzerland with accompanying breathtaking scenery. Just beautiful.

One fascinating, off the beaten track, venue that Portillo explores is the hall in Berlin where Einstein first gave a lecture on his General Theory of Relativity.

I find all these series of his just ideal for relaxing after coming home after a day's work. Indeed I first saw the UK journeys featured on TV around teatime. In some respects the bygone era he covers strikes me as being a more civilised time to be alive. (This was before the horrific carnage of the first World War and the changes to society that ensued thereafter).There was a gentler pace to life instead of the frenetic one that we experience nowadays. This is part of the charm of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next Best Thing to Being There!, 16 May 2014
By 
J. Kenney "stargazer" (Washington State) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD] (DVD)
An absolutely superior quality production with a most personable presenter who doesn't rush past important details. Pure joy from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Continental Railway Journeys [DVD]
£8.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews