Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good History Book
I brought this for my husband who is doing the London Knowledge. He found it very interesting and I'm sure he'll will pass these interesting facts onto his clients.
Published 13 months ago by mrs k j curley

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Factual Inaccuracies
1. At p.33 there is reference to Dr Barnado's coffin being carried from Liverpool Street to Barkingside 'on the Central Line' for his funeral in 1905.The Central Line eastern extension from Liverpool Street was not opened until after the Second World War. I suspect the author should have referred to the steam trains on what was then the Great Eastern Railway ( an...
Published 4 months ago by Pollygilly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Factual Inaccuracies, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1. At p.33 there is reference to Dr Barnado's coffin being carried from Liverpool Street to Barkingside 'on the Central Line' for his funeral in 1905.The Central Line eastern extension from Liverpool Street was not opened until after the Second World War. I suspect the author should have referred to the steam trains on what was then the Great Eastern Railway ( an overground rail system). It certainly could not have been the Central Line.

2. At p.43 the author suggests that London was not bombed by the Germans in the First World War and that the Tube stations were not used as shelters. London was bombed by the Germans in WW 1, both from Zeppelins and aircraft. The population did use the Tube system as air-raid shelters at that time.

3. At p.73 there is reference to the Plessey 'factory' which was set-up in the Underground tunnels between Wanstead and Gants Hill during WW 2. The author states that after the war commuters 'once again' became the norm rather than the factory workers. Infact the line here had never previously been used by commuters but was first opened for that purpose in 1947. The Beck Tube Map for 1946 shows this stretch of the Central Line as 'under construction'.

4. Last, and actually least, at p. 60 the author refers to tube train drivers usually having to undergo 'years of meticulous training before they are let loose on a real train'. The training period is actually 22 weeks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame no pictures, 1 Jan 2014
Without meaning to be pedantic I'd suggest that the title is perhaps a tad misleading as, whilst there are a few "Believe It Or Not" type case histories covered, they are far from the main content of this book which is more a sort of lighthearted history of what is probably the world's most iconic underground railway network. I think in this role the author succeeds admirably, but if you're hoping for a book's worth of jaw-dropping facts and astonishing case histories you may be a bit disappointed.
That said, the author has certainly included plenty of interesting and quirky information, along with mainstream historical fact, all broken down into bite sized chapters averaging about a page and a half each. It's written entertainingly enough in an 'easy reading' style that makes it perfect for dipping into, and I would happily have awarded four stars if it weren't for the glaring and inexplicable absence of even a single illustration, diagram, map or photograph, and I really do mean not a single one. At the very least should have been included a few tube maps of the network as it grew and changed over the years. For me this omission reduces the enjoyment and usefulness of a competent book that has been diminished for want of a few illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok., 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Underground's Strangest Tales - Extraordinary But True Stories (Kindle Edition)
It's ok.

Unfortunately didn't live up to the promise. Looked a lot more engrossing than I found it.

Others may enjoy but unfortunately wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read!, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Underground's Strangest Tales - Extraordinary But True Stories (Kindle Edition)
A great book full of interesting facts. Easy to dip in and out of as each fact is a short chapter. Works well alongside google too to gain those visual images of the locations mentioned!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good History Book, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Underground's Strangest Tales - Extraordinary But True Stories (Kindle Edition)
I brought this for my husband who is doing the London Knowledge. He found it very interesting and I'm sure he'll will pass these interesting facts onto his clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 4 Feb 2013
I found a booklet on the Tube that was a mini version of this book, and the three taster stories that were inside were brilliant. So much so that I ordered a copy straight away! It's a collection of stories all about the Underground, from disused stations to ghosts and slightly gruesome items found left or lost across the network (bull semen and real human skulls anyone?), it's a fantastic little book. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London underground, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of very short and very interesting tales about London underground, You will recal most of them as you travel in the future""
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to dip into on boring tube journeys, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Underground's Strangest Tales - Extraordinary But True Stories (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book as I previously read 'London's Strangest Tales' and found it really interesting. It's comprised of lots of short stories about the tube, from the early days of its creation to the present day. It's a nice book to dip in and out of, particularly if you're having a boring journey. The stories are quirky and fun and I often found myself reading 'just one more' before finally putting it down (or, rather, switching off the Kindle). I'd recommend it to anyone who has an interest in London history or who travels by tube on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars But for all of that a really nice, quirky trip on the tube - wish the ..., 24 July 2014
By 
S. Warner (Ruislip UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Underground's Strangest Tales - Extraordinary But True Stories (Kindle Edition)
If anything I wish it was more detailed. But for all of that a really nice, quirky trip on the tube - wish the real thing was more like it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True underground stories, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read, interesting facts. Short chapters and succinct so that you didn't get bored. would buy more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews