Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The con is on.
The year turns and another 87th Precinct book breezes through. It's April in Isola. The cruellest month? Cruel enough anyway as the con is well and truly on. McBain relishes in his chosen theme. The con and the conmen themselves get a thorough going over by McBain's philosophically edged examination. The detectives of the 87th are trying to reel in a couple of tricksters...
Published on 28 Oct 2012 by Michael Finn

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars another good thriller from one of the masters.
Well written as usual. A clever take on an old theme. Will continue to read this author's work. At the same time I think this genre is becoming a bit overcrowded.
Published 19 months ago by Keir Crispin


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The con is on., 28 Oct 2012
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Con Man (Paperback)
The year turns and another 87th Precinct book breezes through. It's April in Isola. The cruellest month? Cruel enough anyway as the con is well and truly on. McBain relishes in his chosen theme. The con and the conmen themselves get a thorough going over by McBain's philosophically edged examination. The detectives of the 87th are trying to reel in a couple of tricksters who are working their way through the confidence trick handbook, fleecing the rich and poor for a fortune or a dime. Arthur Brown and newly promoted Bert Kling are hitting the streets trying to luck out for a lead on the pair. But it's Steve Carella who discovers a far more sinister and deadly conman at work. The river deals him a woman, dead for some time, a tattoo of a heart encircling the word MAC almost hidden on the flesh of her hand and a mysteriously emptied bank account. As ever the characters are great and becoming more familiar by the book. With the investigations waiting for that one killer lead, McBain revels in dangling them in front of the wrong eyes at the wrong time. Some of it gets dangled by our eyes too through print outs of missing persons reports, Criminal identity cards and, somewhat indecipherably, dental records. Carella is recently back from his honeymoon with new wife Teddy who is deaf-mute. This one works up to a particularly suspenseful finale with Teddy aiding in the investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ed mcbaim cd, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this item for a christmas present and my wife was very please with it
it has given her many hours of enjoyment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars another good thriller from one of the masters., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Con Man (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Well written as usual. A clever take on an old theme. Will continue to read this author's work. At the same time I think this genre is becoming a bit overcrowded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The con man, 2 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Con Man (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
The storytelling is so easy-going, so natural, so apparently effortless, there is a danger of speed-reading it unnecessarily, such is the desire to keep pace with the plot! Even slowing down deliberately every so often, in order to savour the writing, as you might linger over every sip of a good wine, I still managed to read the novel in, for me, record time! The author even succeeds in making police autopsy -routines fascinating and exciting. You sense that every syllable might contain a too-easily-overlooked clue. The deadpan cop-dialogue, the incidental detail of city life in urban America, the pace of narration, the sense that in the midst of civil life, we are surrounded by crime, the small but deadly accurate brush- strokes which bring the characters to life for the reader, all add up to a splendid read. Someone once said that serious readers should not bother with newspapers at all, but instead devote the time saved to reading good literature. If all books read as well as this one, I would definitely have done just that, sooner in life! This is prose/poetry of a very high order, hence the five stars I have awarded it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Con Man (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Slickly written, gripping and a smashing read. The characters are well crafted and the story line is thrilling. Brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good cop novel, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Con Man (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
I love the Ed McBain 87th precinct novels and bought 20 when there was a 'special' kindle daily deal.
It is great to follow the same characters in each book, they all take part in stories to a greater or lesser extent except Steve Carella who is a central pin but they all appear often.
I am glad Ed McBain wasn't encouraged to kill him off early in the series.
All the books are good thriller/cop stories/mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Con Man Review, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Con Man (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Standard fair with a predictable ending. Good if you are looking for an easy read. But don't expect a surprise :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woman to the rescue, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Con Man (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
A good read,if a little light.It took me only three hours to complete so it was just right for a train journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I never feel let down, 30 Aug 2014
By 
Davecg99 (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Con Man (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
I have bought and read 87th Precinct books for over 30 years and never tired of them. Having donated all the hard- and paper-back books that I owned to various charities over the last few years, I am now rebuilding my collection on my Kindle. The Con Man is the 3rd one I have read on my Kindle, my aim one day is to read them in publication order but for now I will just enjoy them as they come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughts, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Con Man (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the book will definitely be ready more. I did not notice the error in the book of Teddy hearing was to engrossed in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Con Man (87th Precinct)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews