Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read
I have read most of the 87th precinct and really like the characters in them. Easy to read but short.
Published 13 months ago by Jane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
A good, solid, interesting story. I wouldn't say that I couldn't put it down but I enjoyed the read and it gave nothing away until the very end.
Published 6 months ago by mark sweeney


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
I have read most of the 87th precinct and really like the characters in them. Easy to read but short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
One of the few crime writers I love reading, his 87th precinct stories are all good and believable, the characters all seem human and you can relate to them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Hand, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
R. Benson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
The title sets the scene, as another tale rolls out in unexpected ways, and it's a guessing game for the reader to work out exactly how it'll be resolved. My aim is to read as many of some 50+ stories of the Precinct - so far I'm only through around 15, which means I've many more hours to appreciate really how good Mr McBain was as a storyteller. I look forward to the future!
Every one of these books is relatively short, and no words are wasted in building the tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its raining hands, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's always great to be back with the boys from the 87th Precinct even when McBain struggles to work a worthy plot line.Hapless beat cop Richard Genaro makes another grisly discovery in the form of a severed hand. McBain turns up the extreme weather (its raining constantly) while he scrambles to fit a story to the discarded appendage. Carella leads the investigation whilst Hawes attempts to charm the local Strippers. Kling adds support. Other than plot this one has Teddy and Carella moving into new digs with the newly born twins. The too brief inclusion of Frankie Hernandez as a Puerto Rican detective. And Carella resorts to violence in the squad room as local bad egg Detective Andy Parker crosses the racism line. It's far from the classic of the previous volume King's Ransom but still time well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good cop novel, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
I love the Ed McBain 87th precinct novels and bought 20 when there was a 'special' kindle daily deal.
It is great to follow the same characters in each book, they all take part in stories to a greater or lesser extent except Steve Carella who is a central pin but they all appear often.
I am glad Ed McBain wasn't encouraged to kill him off early in the series.
All the books are good thriller/cop stories/mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever title, 24 Jun. 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Dick Gennaro, a beat cop last seen in The Pusher, finds a large hand in an airline bag. The boys of the 87th use their usual resources of shoe leather, interviews and intuition to solve the case. The plot may be rather straightforward but the sense of atmosphere - the city and the weather - and the squad's camaraderie and squabbles evoked by Mr McBain are a joy to read. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ed mcbain, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Having seen several of his books on offer at one time or another, I decided to buy one of them to 'try him out'. I did enjoy it. I wasn't riveted but it was just old fashioned police work with no complications. Have a large backlog of unread books and then I might buy another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent again!, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Well up to standard, Ed is so good at giving us the feel of the big city. It's as if you are watching a film, so vivid is his narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great big hand, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Another great read by ed McBain the cops find two severed hands and have to find the body and the murderer recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage mcbain, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give the Boys a Great Big Hand (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
It is a great idea to reissue these Ed Mcbain classics. I read them years ago but they are still as enjoyable as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews