Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction for those unfamiliar Africa's business landscape
I have always known that there is more to Africa than just the images of poverty, famine and war that I am so familiar with. I really wanted to know more about Africa's economies - what is happening on the business and investment side of things - but I did not know where to start. I found that the information is either available in large and heavily detailed books, which...
Published 17 months ago by Maria

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting topic but lacks authority and knowledgeable insight
Less a book more a collection of journalistic articles - as a result it lacks a coherent feel and thoroughness that a better text would have. I was looking for some insight into the subject, founded on the author's knowledge and expertise of the subject. Instead the facts - such as they are - were gleaned from various market commentators and news analysts then...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction for those unfamiliar Africa's business landscape, 21 Feb 2013
This review is from: Building BRICs: The New Scramble For Africa (Kindle Edition)
I have always known that there is more to Africa than just the images of poverty, famine and war that I am so familiar with. I really wanted to know more about Africa's economies - what is happening on the business and investment side of things - but I did not know where to start. I found that the information is either available in large and heavily detailed books, which are just too long and expensive for my liking, or short magazine and online stories, which I enjoy reading, but they leave me wanting to know just a little more.

"Building BRICs" was a fantastic middle ground between the two - it is written in an easy and accessible style and it is a good length as I was able to digest the facts very easily. The colorful style of Barbara Njau's writing really comes through in the text, and she strikes a great balance between presenting the facts and figures, while also drawing from her own personal experiences while working in various countries on the ground. I also liked the fact that the involvement of all the BRICs was presented in equal measure. There is a lot out there about China's relationship with Africa, but less about India in Africa, and not much more on Brazil or Russia.

She presents current examples of active companies on the ground, and I found that the book really offered me an up-to-date picture of what is going on in Africa's business and economic environment. There is so much more to the continent than what many might think and I am glad that this book does justice to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expert analysis of the African economy, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Building BRICs: The New Scramble For Africa (Kindle Edition)
Building BRICS offers a fascinating insight into the changing nature of the African economy. It is known to few people that the economy of such a poor nation is actually in many ways growing. More than this, many are ignorant of the hand that MEDC's such as China play in this unexpected development. Njau takes a real in-depth look at the workings of the continent's expansion, offering fresh analysis of the contribution of other countries and suggesting possible outcomes for the future. I would thoroughly recommend this to those who taken an interest in world affairs, current affairs, the economy, and most of all to any who want to be clued up on the changing nature of our planet's largest countries' economical infrastructures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is Africa rising?, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building BRICs: The New Scramble For Africa (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book! Very well written; succinct enough to fall under the category of a short story, yet detailed enough to educate anyone relatively familiar or somewhat unfamiliar with the rise of the BRIC's and their investment and involvement in changing Africa's economic landscape. Before reading this book I had a vague understanding of China's investment in Africa, but had no idea about the role Russia, India and Brazil has had in the economic growth of Africa. One aspect I found particularly fascinating was the insight into the history of the BRICs and Africa prior the recent economic boom. Therefore, I would recommend this book to anyone like myself who would like a deeper insight into the term 'Africa rising' currently being banded around national and international press and media, or those with some knowledge of foreign direct investment but seeking to deepen their understanding of the foreign direct investment of BRIC's in Africa.

I really like the acccessibilty of the authors writing style and the balance between a qualitative and quantitative analysis of the topic. Would definitely recommend it for those interested in the topic, those with a passing interest or even those who have no concept of the BRICs relationship with Africa. There's really something for everyone. And at 1.99, it's a steal considering it's written to Financial Times standard (by a Financial Times journalist no less) but actually more affordable than a single issue of the Financial Times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Educational, but not overwhelming, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Building BRICs: The New Scramble For Africa (Kindle Edition)
I would never usually read something like Building BRICs. I have no real background knowledge of economics or politics yet upon completing Njau's book I found myself feeling surprisingly well-informed. It is clear that Building BRICs has been meticulously thought out and that the research which has gone into such an undertaking has been painstaking. Yet these facts and findings do not overwhelm the reader, they enlighten. Njau's tone is clear, concise, and every step of her findings are explained along the way. My advice? Don't be put off by the genre of this title, give it a try and you might just surprise yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling look into the current socio-economic situation of African ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building BRICs: The New Scramble For Africa (Kindle Edition)
A compelling look into the current socio-economic situation of African countries that the author had visited. Whereas the 1885 scramble of the continent by Europeans was unilateral and only profiting the colonial force, the book shows how Brazil, Russia, India and China are working hand in hand with local governments, almost in partnership to improve the state of African countries. Written in simple terms and barely no jargons, this book can help the reader realizing the immense opportunities the continent has to offer as well as warn about the pitfalls that had made the dark continent never to reach its potential. A must-read for foreign investors, reflective Africans or curious minds alike, those who are willing to make that leap of faith to see a change in Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting topic but lacks authority and knowledgeable insight, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building BRICs: The New Scramble For Africa (Kindle Edition)
Less a book more a collection of journalistic articles - as a result it lacks a coherent feel and thoroughness that a better text would have. I was looking for some insight into the subject, founded on the author's knowledge and expertise of the subject. Instead the facts - such as they are - were gleaned from various market commentators and news analysts then subsequently regurgitated herein. The resulting 'book' lacked depth and authority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Building BRIC's, 16 Feb 2013
This review is from: Building BRICs: The New Scramble For Africa (Kindle Edition)
Very insightful little book. There's great attention to detail that's clear in the work. Only wish that the book was a bit longer. I'm sure there's a great deal more on this topic that can be delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews