Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bristol rocks!
Some People is a British colour production from 1962. The story has three strands. Firstly, the picture is a rock n' roll musical featuring three popular songs - Some People - Yes You Did - Too Late - and a twangy instrumental - Bristol Express.Singing was provided by local Bristol girl Valerie Mountain and the background music by the technically excellent, and...
Published 23 months ago by King Ludwig

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some people
Yes, I sat through it from beginning to end. It had its moments, but not too many of them. I'm almost going thumbs down, but I have never turned a Kenneth More film no matter - even, as in this perhaps unique case, it is naive and propagandist for a good cause.
Published 21 months ago by Marquis de Piro


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
Charles Hall (Hadleigh, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
The film holds up well depicting a period when young people found themselves wanting to be part of the music scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gald I bought this, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
I am happy I bought this film, the price is very reasonable but the film is dated and a little contrived as i expected it to be. I remember it from my youth as being much better than it actually is but this is not a problem it is a great piece of nostalgia and I highly recommend it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a real classic, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
I love old British black and white films. I love Kenneth More, Ray Brooks and Anneke Wills, so this film is a real dream for me. Great to see Bristol in the 60's. Having visited there quite a few times, it was nice to recognise places. The story is a good one, not over sentimental or preachy, and very well acted. Very much worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thankyou, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
I got the dvd on time watch it a good film have you got any more dvds like that thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SOME PEOPLE DVD STARING KENNETH MOORE, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for nostalgic reasons, as I remeber enjoying the film on TV back in the 1960s. Kenneth Moore in a youth club with groovy 60s music and Angela Douglas dancing - yay! Happy with the item and came quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait., 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
Switch on the TV, crank up the DVD player and you will be instantly transported back to the early 60s. A real slice of nostalgia with great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Momentous, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Fraser Lock-Macardy (Buckinghamshire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
Sent to a friend who said this was the first movie he took his wife to....Can't comment on content, but pleasure is five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost exactly as I remember it., 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
I had a nice nostalgic evening, on cold Winter's night! Brought back a lot of teenage memories for me. Not to my wife's taste though..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About Time!!, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
It's surprising how long it's taken to get a release on this fairly well known film. Although it's essentially a musical film it has a good story line which is unusual. In fact it's a rather strange mix of real drama and early 60s pop. Some great film of Bristol throughout and more importantly some good rare footage of the Bristol 188 Mach 2 research aircraft which was one of the fastest planes in its day. There can't be much other film of that around. The title song is performed several times and is a typical Les Van Dyke (Johnny Worth) composition. There's another lovely song performed by Pet Clark (not seen) entitled "Too Late" written by Ron Grainer. Very enjoyable, with Kenneth More in fine form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good..., 15 Dec. 2013
By 
M. W. Salter "mwsalter" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People [DVD] (DVD)
As I come from Bristol this really is a 'must have'..and hearing it was now available as an 'official release' I decided to get a copy..In the past Ive only managed to view the 'boot leg' version thats been circulating for some years now..so was pleasantly suprised to see the wonderful colour in this version.
Interestingly If you are reading this having only seen the 'boot leg' version, you might be suprised to learn that this has a whole new part to the story which I assume was edited out of the version shown on TV because of time restraints...I wont ruin it for you..but in this official release Angela Douglas has a much bigger part and mimes to several more songs.
Having said all that the film becomes somewhat longer and dare I say slightly tedious..but maybe thats because ive seen it so many times..It sort of gets played if any Bristolians pop in for tea...as 'spot the location' seems to be quite a pass time here in Bristol...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some People [DVD]
Some People [DVD] by Clive Donner (DVD - 2013)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews