Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Uncomfortable, But Necessary Read for Any Christian - and Others
For those who don't know (and that included me, until very recently), the Gnostic Gospels area collection of writings made around the same time as the Synoptic Gospels but were frowned upon by the orthodox Christian hierarchy. One has to be careful about lumping these texts together because there are many disparate views expressed and they range from views that will...
Published 15 months ago by K. Petersen

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars read item
not as informative as expected, would not recomend to others,have read other versions, which are far more intresting, quite boring
Published 5 months ago by christopher simpson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Uncomfortable, But Necessary Read for Any Christian - and Others, 24 April 2013
By 
K. Petersen "Ken" (Hemsby,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gnostic Gospels of Thomas, Mary & John (Kindle Edition)
For those who don't know (and that included me, until very recently), the Gnostic Gospels area collection of writings made around the same time as the Synoptic Gospels but were frowned upon by the orthodox Christian hierarchy. One has to be careful about lumping these texts together because there are many disparate views expressed and they range from views that will still shock today such as, Christ did not suffer during the crucifixion because He was not human, but a God, or that He did not rise bodily from the tomb, to less heinous texts such as that of Mary - hopefully, we are now able to accept a woman as a significant figure; if not, GET OVER IT!!!

These books make uncomfortable reading: it is cosy to believe that we are all singing from the same hymn sheet, or Bible but, they have as much claim to historic authenticity as the books of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. It is my experience that to subjugate views that question one's beliefs is always going to lead to trouble at some stage and these books deserve to be read. I have to be honest, my preconceived views do mean that I may not have been as fair to some of these ideas as I should; maybe, they will worm into my credence over time: in some cases, I truly doubt it but, I am glad that I have read them and they deserve to be exposed to the light f day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2000 years of hiding this..., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gnostic Gospels of Thomas, Mary & John (Kindle Edition)
It is an interesting reading. You find that all the "wisemen" in the past actually read this, and concluded that they can act according to this, while not giving the nod to the public that it is ok.

Glad I am reading this, my dad, my uncle who was a Presbyterian church pastor for 50 years never read this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gnostic Gospels of Thomas, Mary & John (Kindle Edition)
A great addition to my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging read, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gnostic Gospels of Thomas, Mary & John (Kindle Edition)
To those brought up not to think outside the box as far as Gospel reading is concerned, these texts could be a gentle, if challenging, introduction. Not quite what you expect in format but very interesting. Was this what Q was like? As usual, the sale went smoothly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars read item, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gnostic Gospels of Thomas, Mary & John (Kindle Edition)
not as informative as expected, would not recomend to others,have read other versions, which are far more intresting, quite boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gnostic Gospels of Thomas, Mary & John (Kindle Edition)
Now I understand why these were not included in the holy scriptures! They are nothing like the Gospels in the Bible and they are not even interestingor more informative. I had hoped they would give some more background - they didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Gnostic Gospels, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gnostic Gospels of Thomas, Mary & John (Kindle Edition)
For most of us this volume will provide an entrance to the understanding
of the Gnostic Gospels and their place in the theology of Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews