Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 84 year old Wagnerian, 14 Feb 2013
By 
W. Kennedy (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
I have copies of almost all of Wagner operas with performances dating back to the early 1950s. I have seen most of them performed in various venues but, having just viewed amd reviewed a recent Tannhauser dvd with great disappointment it was more than a delight to hear Kauffmann's magnificent performances of an excellent and varied selection of items from Wagner's works. In fact, after I had listened to the first few excerpts I was near to tears with emotion. Wagner makes heavy demands on his tenors and to be successful the singer must have more than a powerful and well focused voice but must be capable of conveying the sense of the action in the music plus the softer and more lyrical episodes must be just as fine as the more dramatic declamations.
I have enjoyed many fine heldentenors and Domingo as well over the years but never one who seems to me to have everything! I suspect he can only improve and I look forward in the hope that he gets round to giving us a chance to hear him in complete versions of Tristan, Parsifal and Meistersinger.
This must be the best £9 I have spent in a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars words fail me., 12 Feb 2013
By 
Stephen Kass "stephen kass" (markdorf allemagne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
Confronted by truly great art words fail me. Magnificent singing and a very good orchestra. It is so wonderful to hear Wagner's music actually sung instead of only declaimed or at worst shouted and barked. Listening to this CD is a moving experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars not enough, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
You can buy any operatic recital disc of the last 60 years and not find a better example for any voice in any repertory. Kaufmann sings Wagner like Bergonzi sings verdi or Callas and Scotto sing bel canto. Interpretatively he is seminal and vocally glorious. The Walkure and Siegfried excerpts are extraordinary. He sings this music like Christa Ludvig sang Mahler. Its a combination of a great operatic performance nuanced with the sensitivity of a great lieder singer. If anyone ever thought that you couldn't make a personal emotional connection with Wagner's heroic tenor roles, just listen to Kaufmann. It's inspiring, it's moving, the Siegfried is actually funny when it should be and what a voice and what a musician; dark baritonal timbre which expands and rings out reminiscent of Mario Del Monaco then the finely spun head voice of a young Di Stefano and german diction that as Hugh Canning says, 'you could take dictation from'. This is seamless integration of vocals, musical nuance, characterisation and theatre between singer and Wagner's orchestral scoring. Forget the all-too typical battle between singer and orchestra in this music - rather we have a happy symbiosis. The pre-2nd world war tradition (probably authentic to the 19th century) of singing this music with bel canto technique combined with helden-tenor heft is alive and well with JW. Except you get the distinct impression that he could sing this music for 20 years and not dry out the voice, or limit his ability to phrase italian music.

Being picky, my only slight beef on this is the ordering of the pieces. Chronological order would have been preferable for the operatic excerpts as Kaufmann and Runnicles bring out the progression in the composition and vocal writing between Rienzi and Siegfried so clearly, that everything after the Ring excerpts sound a little anti-climatical. Those with the technology to re-order the tracking take note. Runnuicles and the Deutsche Oper are provide fantastic partners and the modern Decca sound is glorious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a recording from this magnificent artist of a complete work by Wagner though not the one you might expect! Superb!, 12 Feb 2013
By 
D. S. CROWE "Music Lover" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
I could easily find this CD to be more of an irritation than anything else-yet another collection of excerpts from the finest tenor suited to Wagner in a generation, with until today no complete recording of any of the operas (I am excluding Blu-ray performances!). I`m not a fan of excerpts discs at the best of times, but with Kaufmann even the "well it's better than nothing" syndrome was beginning to wear thin. Fortunately all this is counteracted not only by my having received the new complete Gergiev Walkure to soften the blow, but this disc DOES finally contain a complete work, albeit not one intended for a tenor.
The excerpts from the operas are superb-we get the unexpurgated "In Fernem Land" from Lohengrin, a superb Rome Narration, excerpts from Rienzi and Meistersinger and snippets from Walkure and a tantalising Siegfried murmuring superbly in the forest (sorry!), all sung with the dark burnished tone and firm legato we have come to expect. As an aside, what a nonsense this makes of trying to build up Klaus Florian Vogt as a Heldentenor-I actually find his thin and feeble voiced attempts to be pathetic in comparison to Kaufmann.
The orchestra is full and rich-the former "German State Opera Berlin" Orchestra has a distinguished recording past with Wagner and beyond, with outstanding recordings under Konwitschny, Jochum, Maazel, Sinopoli and Thielemann to name but a few, and here is in magnificent form under another under employed great Wagner conductor in Scotland's own Donald Runnicles-would that the 2nd and 3rd rate recordings made by Pentatone under Janowski had used THIS orchestra and conductor as this very change would surely elevate them to first class!
The absolute GOLD of this recording is the Wesendonck Lieder performed for the first time to my hearing by a tenor. Wagner marked the score "For the female voice" but I have no doubt he would have applauded this performance.
I am open to hearing songs more normally associated with the female voice sung by a tenor-I treasure a recording of Jerusalem and Masur in Strauss Lieder, and Melchior in Schumann, but this is something else.
The smoky tones of his baritonal tenor are ideally suited to each song, with tenderness in Der Engel, you can almost feel the sultry heat in Im Triebhaus, Schmerzen is filled with tortured anguish and Traume has an erotic passion and sensuous line which bodes so well for any future assumption of Tristan-we can but hope!
It's a masterclass in great singing and artistry, with Runnicles and the orchestra caught in rich, radiant form and perfectly balanced-so not an irritation at all, then!!!!
This is by far the finest recording Kaufmann has made and it is destined to be a classic of the genre. A "must hear" for lovers of Wagner-and great music making. Unlimited Stars. Stewart Crowe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wagner Superstar, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
Firstly a warning, please be aware of what you are actually buying as the selection on this CD is not just a straight forward Wagner 'hits' type selection. However if you are a Wagner fan this a very thoughtful and well put together repertoire which brings together the obvious and the rare including the Wesendock-Lieder, rarely performed by a tenor as it was originally for a soprano. On the technical side this sounds on my HiFi at least, to be a very good well engineered disc with no obvious technical issues. I haven't transferred it to my iPod yet but cannot imagine that it will sound anything other than excellent.

This disc confirms Jonas Kaufmann as the pre-eminent Wagnerian tenor of his generation, including a monumentally great "In fernem Land", probably the best I have ever heard. Kaufmann brings drama and an intense but fully focused 'dark' low timbre vocal performance, always musical and you always know he is fully connected to what he is singing, there is no going through the motions with Mr Kaufmann. His interpretations of each piece are sublime, while having weight he still has a delicate touch where required. You have to wonder if Kaufmann will follow Placido Domingo in taking on lower Wagner roles in the future.

The Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin under Donald Runnicles helps Kaufmann by demonstrating an understanding of how each aria should be delivered with great sympathy to Kaufmann's performance.

This CD will not be for everyone as it is not as popularist as some of Kaufmann's other works such as Carmen and Tosca however IMHO this could be the opera release of the year.

UPDATE: I now also have the FLAC 24bit 96kHz Studio Master version of this from linnrecords dot com At £18 it is expensive but if you love Kaufmann, this CD or Wagner and you can play the FLAC files on your PC or media player then this version will blow your socks off. The CD version is excellent but the FLAC is exceptional and like all linnrecords downloads you can hear excerpts from each track before buying. The CD version is 318 mb but the FLAC Studio Master is 1,383 mb illustrating the much higher bit rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning singing from Kaufmann, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
This is the best CD of Wagner excerpts for some time. Kaufmann is stunning and brilliantly supported by the masterly conducting of Runnicles. The excerpts from Lohengrin and Die Walküre are particularly fine. And the Wesendonck-Lieder are just as successful with a tenor of Kaufmann's distinction as with the more usual female voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now!, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. S. G. Petit "Sebastian" (High Wycombe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
I don't intend to write a detailed review of this superb disc but I urge anyone who is a fan of great singing (and playing) to rush to purchase it. In a desert of great Wagner tenors (Only Botha, Skelton and, to a lesser extent Dean Smith come close) it's a glorious pleasure to listen to Kaufmann's beautiful, powerful and searingly committed performance. Also the artist's questing intelligence shines out from every phrase. It is hard to cherry pick when it's all this good but listen to the way Kaufmann narrates the story of Tannhauser's disastrous pilgrimage to Rome, marvel at the power of his cries of "Walse" and be moved to tears by the simple art of his prayer from "Rienzi"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the performance, NOT the download, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "amfoster13" (Maidenhead, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
A wonderful performance from Mr Kaufmann and Maestro Runnicles, and a huge pleasure to hear The Wesendonck lieder sung by a man rather than the usual female performer. Certainly worth five stars.
BUT, I wish I had bought the CD rather than the download. The booklet in pdf is unpleasent to read, even when enlarged to fill my computer screen the print is small and thin. My biggest criticism is for the way the recording is divided into FOUR parts when imported into iTunes to add to my ipod. In Fernem Land is a track on its own. If downloads have to have certain data attached to them, why is it so often WRONG and why is it so difficult to correct. The track data for this disc is a joke, what is Frisco Mabel Joy Revisited because that is also a track on its own. The Wesendonck Lieder tracks are titled L.I.E. all five of them, and their little album is titled N'Dambi Pink Elephant.
BUY THE CD, NOT THE DOWNLOAD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, commanding singing, 22 Aug 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
This recording gives a noble profile of Wagner that could hardly be bettered, either in terms of the voice or the range of the material. Jonas Kaufmann is simply a marvel in this music, giving it the power it needs, and the daring, but also bringing the volume down so that a certain tenderness comes across as well - both Rienzi's prayer and a monologue from Siegfried bring this out. You can hear a connection with bel canto singing in the sense of line that becomes here a continuous melody, as well as with Mendelssohn in some of the harmonies, even though Wagner takes the language in a much more chromatic direction. Kaufmann's daring is also vital in more extravert numbers - his 'Walse!' is certainly not quickly forgotten in its passion, even if it does rise above the note in pitch. It is a fantastic recital, matched by the superb cushioning of Donald Runnicles and the Orchester der Deutschen Oper, Berlin. The inclusion of the Wesendonck-Lieder, usually sung by a female voice, shows Kaufmann unafraid to move into uncharted territory, with moving results. It is one of the greatest song cycles, and, as he says in the booklet interview, there is nothing in the text that is gender specific, unlike, say Frauenliebe und -leben. It is wonderful that this recording exists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promise of Future Glories, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Entartete Musik (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wagner (Audio CD)
Great Wagnerian tenors are like hen's teeth. We are gifted many who bravely tackle the repertoire, but few who prove a genuine pleasure to listen to in the long run. Domingo may be the closest we've come to balancing the necessary brawn and beauty in recent years, though even he cannot match the winningly idiomatic Jonas Kaufmann, as heard on this superb new recording.

Kaufmann has already performed Lohengrin and Siegmund on stage and Walter in concert. You can hear his Parsifal in New York and Vienna in the coming months (a role he sang in Zürich in 2006). This new Decca recording features his turns from Die Walküre, Meistersinger and Lohengrin, albeit the longer original version of the Grail Narration. The inclusion of passages from Rienzi, Tannhäuser and Siegfried, however, shows there is more gold in that there Rhein.

Throughout, Kaufmann sings with that famous and prerequisite baritonal heft while never stinting at the top of the range. Here is a hero to believe in, brilliantly told through Siegmund's 'Sword Monlogue'. Although Kaufmann sails sharp on the long gruelling cries of 'Wälse', there is no doubting his authority. The muted turning assurances of Rienzi's 'Allmächt'ger Vater, blick herab!' have contrasting Lieder-like tenderness and sincerity. Throughout, Donald Runnicles is in commanding form, pacing the performances beautifully with the Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin proving far more than mere accompanists.

Yet however alluring these operatic passages, they cannot top the promise of a future Tristan communicated through Kaufmann's unglaublich performance of the associated Wesendonck-Lieder. Here the tenor's experience with Schubert and Strauss pay rich rewards, delivering great textual clarity and charm. But he also has the muscle to sail thrillingly through 'Schmerzen' before weaving the balmy summer magic of 'Träume', required when we eventually hear him sing 'O sink hernieder, Nacht der Liebe'. The sum effect is totally out of this world, just as Wagner should be.

Kaufmann has planned his career intelligently so far. He has preserved the innate beauty of his voice while incorporating these great Wagnerian heroes. But, despite the promise of future glories captured on this disc, let's hope he keeps us waiting a little while longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wagner [+digital booklet]
Wagner [+digital booklet] by Donald Runnicles and Jonas Kaufmann and Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews