Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (210)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family drama
This was a family saga about 3 sisters, their mother and grandmother, in the time of WWII.

The war starts and sisters Peggy and Rose becomes clippies (conductresses). Peggy is the oldest, pretty levelheaded and careful. I liked her and understood why she was not over the heals in love with the man she was going out with. While Rose is the hellion (well almost)...
Published on 16 Feb. 2013 by Blodeuedd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value paperback
I was looking for a book with large print for my 95 year old grandmother.

However I decided not to give this to her as I did not think the print would be large enough and perhaps the story would be a little too long for her memory.

Although I have not read the book the storyline appears appealing.
Published 13 months ago by S&F


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family drama, 16 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Hardcover)
This was a family saga about 3 sisters, their mother and grandmother, in the time of WWII.

The war starts and sisters Peggy and Rose becomes clippies (conductresses). Peggy is the oldest, pretty levelheaded and careful. I liked her and understood why she was not over the heals in love with the man she was going out with. While Rose is the hellion (well almost) and who is in love with her sister's boyfriend. As you can see tension from the start.

Then we have a grandmother who says what she wants and has very firm opinions about things. A mother who stands in her own mother's shadow and the youngest sister who loves to study.

But it's mostly about Peggy and Rose. Their lives during the war as it changes everything. It's a book about friendship, love, family and heartache.

When the book reached a certain point I did not want to put it down. I needed to know what would happen to certain characters and I feared my heart would break.

A good family saga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of Sheffield, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Kindle Edition)
Being born just after the war I was told by my parents about the Sheffield people at war and now have found it very interesting to read about. Well done Margaret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite author, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Kindle Edition)
As always Margaret has delivered a fascinating story,with all her books she keeps you entertained right until the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clippie Girls, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable book first rate as all of Margaret's books are ,I look forward to her next one and hope its not long in coming.

Marian Wattam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Loved it, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent read from Margaret Dickinson ,
looked forward to this pre-ordered on kindle,
read it in one sitting as always loved the charaters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fantastic read by a favourate author margaret dickinson, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
shoemaker (lancs uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Paperback)
giving us all a feel of world war 2 and just how hard the women had to work to support the men folk away fighting the clippie girls is yet another page turner by margaret dickinson made me feel i was there so much so a car door in the street banged and for 1 sec thought it was a bomb i jumped out of my skin,just goes to show how gripping the book is.brill more please margaret
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Kindle Edition)
Another war time novel but different about a family of women. Just love the era of war time in Britian and the memories it brings to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a story!, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Kindle Edition)
Got a kindle for my birthday and saw this book in Tesco (paperback), downloaded same to kindle and couldn't put it down. Lovely down to earth story of what times were like during the war. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clippie Girls, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Kindle Edition)
excellent read, cant wait to read other books by this author, authentic stories about the first and second waorld war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clippie Girls, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Lesley Juden (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clippie Girls (Kindle Edition)
A great read couldn't put it down. It will appeal to anyone interested in how women took on the mens jobs during the war and the hardships families endured. The story revolves around three sisters two of whom work on the Sheffield trams and the unravelling of their love lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Clippie Girls
The Clippie Girls by Margaret Dickinson
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews