Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I had to read this book for Book Group.
I was given the task of presenting this to my Book Group and am I glad!. Read Quarantine with great interest but fell by the wayside with 'Being Dead' so was quite anxious about 'Harvest'. All the action takes place in 7 days in an unnamed village at some uncertain point in time.Told in the first person by a man who even after 12 years is still an outsider ,'Harvest'...
Published 7 months ago by Mrs christine M Head

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Chaff Than Wheat
Harvest ought to be a great story. The inherent conflict of a rural village faced with the threat of enclosure, a change of ownership and the arrival of strangers represents a powerful context against which to set the novel.

The first irritation with the book is in the style of narration. The introduction of agricultural terms and descriptions results in an...
Published 9 months ago by Calypso


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Chaff Than Wheat, 17 May 2014
This review is from: Harvest (Kindle Edition)
Harvest ought to be a great story. The inherent conflict of a rural village faced with the threat of enclosure, a change of ownership and the arrival of strangers represents a powerful context against which to set the novel.

The first irritation with the book is in the style of narration. The introduction of agricultural terms and descriptions results in an almost metrical prose. That rhythm breaks the concentration and undermines the richness of the language.

The second structural issue is with the main protagonist, Walter Thirsk, who is absent from most of the significant events that bring destruction to this community. That absence allied with an emotional distance makes the whole story feel as if it is told rather than shown and frankly means the story holds little interest.

Major elements of the plot hold little credibility. The witchcraft accusations are unlikely in the context of the story and the ending is unsatisfactory. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I had to read this book for Book Group., 22 July 2014
This review is from: Harvest (Paperback)
I was given the task of presenting this to my Book Group and am I glad!. Read Quarantine with great interest but fell by the wayside with 'Being Dead' so was quite anxious about 'Harvest'. All the action takes place in 7 days in an unnamed village at some uncertain point in time.Told in the first person by a man who even after 12 years is still an outsider ,'Harvest' chronicles the disintegration of a way of life that had been unchanged for generations. A new Lord of the Manor and the Act of Enclosure together combine with unwelcome visitors to bring chaos to the well ordered and traditional life of the village. The story is wonderfully spun and even at the simplest level quite absorbing. However being a story by Jim Crace it is only right to look for allegories about the human condition and these may be suggested or dismissed. Is it coincidence that man manages to destroy his world in 7 days? Who are the strangers whose arrival is a catalyst for the unfolding events? Is this a battle of power over the powerless.? Etc. However the one predominant aspect of the book is the fantastic writing Crace has given us. His evocations of the countryside and all the wonderful descriptions of nature are just sublime. This is as near to poetry as prose may get. It is quite gorgeous. Sadly Crace has indicated that this will be his last novel. I do hope this means that he is not laying down his pen but turning his mind to other forms of writing. We need to keep hearing his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything changes and yet nothing changes., 30 Mar. 2013
By 
Sally Zigmond (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Harvest (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What to say about Jim Crace's writing? Although he has achieved some recognition in the world of literary prizes and awards, he somehow manages to stay under the radar. Perhaps it's because his writing is quiet. He does not go for the controversial or the flamboyant flourish. Yet his writing remains modest and yet all the better for it.

Harvest follows the week in the life of a small un-named English community. We are not told where it is or when the events described happened. And don you know what? It doesn;t matter. It was 'once upon a time.' The novel opens the morning after the barley has all been gathered. Smoke hangs in the air. Something is wrong. This sense of disquiet deepens as a village lynch mob attack a group of three innocent strangers. The search for a woman among the strangers becomes a witch-hunt. Walter Thirsk, the novel's narrator and himself an erstwhile outsider in the community, is aware of the deeply disturbing currents of a changing society and the evil comes from within not out.

We twentieth-century western dwellers are confused about the past. We see it through rose-tinted lenses, according to our own lives. 'Things were uncomplicated,' we say. 'People knew their place, the agricultural life mirrored the seasons. Times were hard but everything was in balance.' Harvest-time conjures up bucolic jollity, companionship, a full barn, rosy-cheeks and a well-ordered world. But we can only look back because of the benefits modern life has brought us. But mostly life is what it is. We do not learn from the past and nothing changes. Humans havealways been suspicious of the new and the different. We are cruel; fear makes us as dangerous as a beast cornered. In Crace's community, sheep-farming is to replace the arable and there's nothing anyone can do about it. The people are ignorant, sensitive only to their own fearful ignorance. When the new landlord introduces sheep, he also intends to build a church where none has stood before, For the good of the people, the flock?

Written in a deceptively simple style, Crace lays down layer upon layer of timeless disquietude. There is no such thing as history. It is always a construction of our own myths and ignorance. Crace's novels need to be read slowly: absorbed, savoured and considered. Peel away the layers of text and you will find symbolism and eternal myth.

No-one writes like Jim Crace. I have heard this may be his last published novel but to me, this author is eternal. I can read him again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All ends at Turd and Turf, 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Harvest (Paperback)
In some ways this is a simple story about the arrival of strangers in a remote rural area at the time of the barley harvest. Yet the protagonist (Walter Thirsk) is also a relative newcomer still grieving his dead wife, and can observe the events with some detachment. The strangers comprise so-called Mr Quill who is surveying the land for Master Kent and a family group of three who arrive and set up their camp at the beginning of the book.
Yet really the danger comes from another stranger, Master Jordan, who has managed to usurp Master Kent but the villagers are unable to distinguish friend from foe and set upon the family group with disastrous consequences.
What I liked about this book was the detail of the rural life which made the reader aware of the isolation and lawlessness of some rural areas and how the lurking dangers of fire, injury or random justice could ruin a man's life forever.
The characters are all drawn well and the plot moves along a pace beyond the wit of the villagers - yet there are also themes of loneliness and grief (Thirsk and Kent), bravery (Mr Quill) and fear (pretty much everyone).
It was almost a five star for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful prose bordering on the poetic, shame about the story, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvest (Paperback)
Jim Crace's novel starts off promisingly - a group of strangers come to a remote village in what we assume is medieval England, trouble breaks out, and soon the village is in turmoil, only for further threats to arise when a relative of the local lord and landowner arrives to impose his will. The prose is beautiful and often poetic, and Crace's language to describe rustic life and long-forgotten agricultural practices is superb. The only real concern I had with this book was that the beauty of the prose seems to have outweighed the story itself, and I found myself losing interest in Walter Thirsk, the sympathetic main character, particularly in the closing third of the tale. This was a pity, as I do think that Crace could have done a little more to craft a more compelling story with more developed characters, some of whom are rustic caricatures. Worth a read, but I can see why it didn't win the 2013 Booker prize for which it was shortlisted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promised So Much - Failed to Deliver, 5 April 2013
By 
wolf (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Harvest (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book seemed right up my street. I enjoy historical fiction and here the story of a village facing sudden new threats - enclosure of the land, which threatens their whole way of life, the arrival of strangers, both poor and powerless and wealthy and powerful, and the whisper of witchery - sounds extremely promising. The writing is, at its best, plain, poetic and beautiful. It should have been great.

It actually starts very well - the writing is at its best here. It is easy to read. The historical world, the time period never clearly specified, is drawn in swift deft strokes. The life of the village seems real and concrete, from the banter of the harvesters to the harvest festivities that follow. Sadly, this is not kept up and flaws that are present right from the start become more obvious and troubling as the story progresses.

Part of the problem is the narrator and his voice. Walter Thirsk is an incomer to the village, who arrived with the new lord of the manor, Master Kent, but became a villager when he married a local. The idea is that this allows the author to play with concepts of belonging, of what being a villager means and of loyalties. It doesn't quite work because Walter Thirsk never fully emerges as a person. He had been Master Kent's 'man' apparently but roles or functions he performed for him are unclear. It gives the impression that this was never worked out and so an important part of Thirsk's life is undeveloped.

Also, Thirsk somehow manages to be absent during many of the most important events that take place. We get his secondhand account of events told to him by others for no obvious gain. These secondary characters never really take on any life of their own. None of them ever gain any depth or solidity.

More grating, for me, is the way that Crace constantly works in rural and agricultural similes, metaphors and conceits into Thirsk's way of talking. Of course people do use the things they are familiar with to express themselves, but the extent to which Thirsk refers to himself and fellow villagers in terms that recall the earth, the land, seeds germinating and animals grazing means that it begins to be a very obvious stylistic tick. The more he does it, the more it grates. English students might discuss at length the use of these symbols in essays but they just appear too heavy handed in their use for me.

Perhaps because of these problems, I found myself not fully engaging with the story. As a result, other issues begin to raise their head. The time period when this is set is kept deliberately vague. That, I suspect, is part of Crace's point. The way of life destroyed by enclosure was one that had endured for centuries. To some extent, it is a story that could be set at any point between and during the thirteenth and the seventeeth centuries. Early on we might well suspect the setting is in the medieval period. It comes as something of a shock when three quarters of the way through we discover references to puritans and pipe smoking and realise that this must be set in the seventeenth century. But this vagueness is a problem. Life was not utterly unchanging - even in rural England - during this period. Did the religious upheavals have no effect on life at all, even if they do lack any formal church? When vagabonds come to their village (escaping enclosure elsewhere) why does not the lord of the manor appear to be aware that vagrants should be put in the stocks for no other reason than being vagabonds? Why does no-one have a firearm if the setting is so late? The more we think about it, the less sense it makes.

There are some major plot problems too. I have no wish to spoil the book for those reading but when accusations of witchcraft are made the finger is finally pointed at a character who, one might think, would not be a scapegoat those in power would be so happy to see done away with. This is, of course, to ignore the problem that the reaction to such accusations appears to owe more to watching the film 'Witchfinder General' than the reality of how such allegations tended to be dealt with in England, where a ducking was more likely than a burning.

The ending makes little sense. It is as if even the author has lost interest in plausibly resolving the plot threads and simply wraps things up as quickly as possible.

A quote on the cover calls the writing 'hallucinatory'. That is a very apt description; 'dream-like' might also describe it. It is at times astonishing, clear and beautiful; it is also insubstantial, a gossamer thin artful confection that falls apart as you look at it.

I am sorry that it really did not work for me. Obviously, others have enjoyed this book much more than I did and I am in a minority of reviewers here. It may be that it will be more successful for you than. Personally, however, I cannot recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvest (Paperback)
When the Booker short-list was announced I decided that there were two titles that were for me. I loved 'The Testament of Mary' (and have reviewed it) and I also chose Jim Crace's 'Harvest'. There is no doubt that Crace writes well. He has a poet's ear for the sound of language and his descriptions of scenes, feelings and the things that engage and motivate people are impressive. I imagine these are the things that actually got him short-listed. However, that said and acknowledged, I found the overall book unsatisfying. It has little pace, no context and the significant events that affect the narrative and move it forwards all feel contrived by the author, rather than natural and inevitable.
The story takes place over one single week and involves a completely (almost mythically) isolated community of people. The appearance of a few outsiders somehow destabilises the village and drives it into extinction. It is a tale of fear, superstition, control and in-breeding. It is like looking down a microscope at a drop of pond-water and watching the creatures swim for their lives.
I found myself seriously wondering whether it was actually science-fiction. That sounds ridiculous, but given that the requirement for science-fiction is the assumption of one 'impossible' idea, after which everything must follow naturally and normally, I feel that is the pattern of this book. The 'impossible idea' is that this community could ever be so completely isolated form the real world. No travellers pass through it, no-one in it has a concept of 'outside', no church has ever been built, no community buildings like shops, for example, exist within it. This is simply a space-ship full of isolated people travelling between the stars, devoid of context, with a closed community inside it, driving each other to extinction. I struggled to finish it.
Yes, Crace has a remarkable ear, but does he have a credible story to tell? I think not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, surprising page-turner, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvest (Kindle Edition)
I was astounded by how simple and yet how marvellous this novel was. It was the story of Walter Thirsk, a labourer in a village at the time of Harvest. Strangers appear and with them a whole chain of events starts, which ends in a change for everyone, not least the protagonist.
And yet it seems that there are no specific, particular events which happen. Rather, it is organic, each day merging with the one before and the one after even if each day brings us a step further towards the end. One sees the colours and feels the atmosphere of the harvest, of the rain. I was completely caught up in the story, reading for hours at a time, pulled forward by the magnificent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things fall apart...the centre cannot hold, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Sensible Cat (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harvest (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I would have to agree with an earlier reviewer; this is a book to read, if at all possible, at a single sitting. It draws you totally into its world, a world both particular and universal. The obscure rural community where events unfold - lacking even a church, it can barely be dignified by the name "village" - is described in minutely convincing detail, but the themes are universal. Not since "The Road" have I read a novel so stark, so gripping and in places, so beautiful. Yet the desperately hard way of life here is described with no illusions. Strangers are fair game - gang rape and the pillory are two possible fates, subsistence farming leaves the population on the brink of starvation, ravaged by disease and at the mercy of their manorial landowner in a society where class shouts louder than anything else and crimes, both real and perceived, are viciously and arbitrarily punished.

But there is beauty, too, particularly in Crace's detailed evocation of a landscape minutely known and cherished, the rhythms of nature and the consolations of love, community and celebration. All this is shattered when enclosure threatens the villagers' way of life, and things rapidly fall apart. Within a week, the community has collapsed. This book gives you a window into one of the least understood human tragedies in English history, the forced theft of common land which, some historians believed, dispossessed the common people and created a workforce for the Industrial Revolution. The story told here, though historic in particular, is happening to this day in many countries of the world.

However, this is not a political book, nor is it just the elegy for a lost pastoral idyll. It's also a fascinating study about fitting in, or rather not fitting in. Walter Thirske finds himself caught between two worlds - though he has lived among the villagers for over ten years he also has ties to the landowner and a level of education and insight that sets him apart in a deeply suspicious, isolated community under pressure. He finds himself emotionally involved and yet curiously detatched from the events unfolding around him, never quite able to stomach the moral compromises that would give him an escape route. It's one of the finest studies of loneliness I've ever read. In its evocation of a world where human beings might spend entire lifetimes without crossing their parish boundaries, and where affiliation to a group could spell the difference between life and death, this haunting story combines the strangeness of a science-fiction scenario with an historical narrative that still resonates today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eerie genius, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvest (Kindle Edition)
Harvest is an excellent read. It held me from page one and the whole sense of a peculiar world and micro-culture was at times quite eerie! I liked the first person narrative, seeing the world through Walter's eyes and how the story gradually revealed its twists and turns. On the one hand I felt uplifted by the sense that there is always a new beginning. Nevertheless it was a pretty chilling tale. The themes are dark, revealing a quagmire of tension and betrayal under the picturesque veneer of village life. The author's thickly descriptive and evocative prose portrays such oppositional aspects of the landscape in the swamp and the barley field which are excellent metaphors for the social world in which he negotiates his being. Life and security are fragile in this weirdly timeless environment. While the whole fabric is shifting from subsistence to cash crop, a whole community disintegrates in a rapid sequence of disturbing events. Yet it is also about redemption, moving on, rising from the ashes. This is I think a work of eerie genius, reminding us how life can change very dramatically in a short time, how people can become unrecognisable. The historical period was also intriguing, as well as the fact that the reader had to figure it out as the book progressed. Brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvest
Harvest by Jim Crace
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews