Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing- Gee Whiz (Look At His Eyes) -Morning After!
This two Cd `Wait A Minute' 'The Stax and Satellite story 1959 to 1962' set consists of
ORIGINAL RECORDINGS by the original artists.
At this low low price at under a fiver means the cost is less than a modern day single CD.
This is an absolute steal of a price.

The simple reason for the low price?
The recordings are over 50 years old and...
Published 21 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok.
Some standout tracks but overall I feel too much of an 'ordinariness' with the material on this CD. It's ok .
Published 18 months ago by JASSTE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing- Gee Whiz (Look At His Eyes) -Morning After!, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) (Audio CD)
This two Cd `Wait A Minute' 'The Stax and Satellite story 1959 to 1962' set consists of
ORIGINAL RECORDINGS by the original artists.
At this low low price at under a fiver means the cost is less than a modern day single CD.
This is an absolute steal of a price.

The simple reason for the low price?
The recordings are over 50 years old and may be `Public Domain' in the USA.

But it's hard to work out which tracks are on the CD Amazon seemed to have jumbled all the tracks in one long set of lines.

If you are like me and find it hard to see exactly which tracks are on the two CDs then this easy to read list may help?

By the way the title of the CD set 'Wait a Minute' is from the great single by Barbara Stephens which is featured as track six on CD one.
My title is a tribute to the artists and is from 2 singles on the CD 'Morning After' by The Mar-Keys and 'Gee Whiz (Look At His Eyes' by Carla Thomas .

CD 1

1. Green Onions - Booker T. & The MG's
2. Fool in Love-The Veltones
3. Gee Whiz (Look At His Eyes)- Carla Thomas
4. Last Night- The Mar-Keys
5. Ain't That Love-Nick Charles
6. Wait a Minute- Barbara Stephens
7. About Noon- The Mar-Keys
8. 'Cause I Love You- Carla & Rufus
9. Formula Of Love- William Bell
10. As You Can See- The Chips
11. I'm Going Home- Prince Conley
12. Foxy- The Mar-Keys
13. It's Aw'rite- Rufus Thomas
14. I Don't Worry- Barbara Stephens
15. Why Should I Suffer With the Blues- The Canes
16. Just Across the Street- The Del-Rios
17. What's Happening- The Mar-Keys
18. You're My Girl- Jimmy & The Spartans
19. That's The Way It Is With Me- Barbara Stephens
20. Morning After- The Mar-Keys
21. Please Help Me I'm Falling- William Bell
22. I Just Can't Learn to Say Goodbye- Hoyt Johnson
23. Boppin' High School Baby- Don Willis

CD 2

1. Night Before- The Mar-Keys
2. For You- Carla Thomas
3. Any Other Way- William Bell
4. You Make Me Feel So Good- The Chips
5. Behave Yourself- Booker T. & The M.G.'s
6. The Right Girl- Nick Charles
7. Sack-O-Woe- The Mar-Keys
8. Someday- The Veltones
9. The Life I Live- Barbara Stephens
10. Pop-Eye Stroll- The Mar-Keys
11. Sunday Jealous- Nick Charles
12. You Don't Miss Your Water- William Bell
13. The Three Dogwoods- Nick Charles
14. All The Way- Prince Conley
15. One Degree North- The Mar-Keys
16. Love Is Like A Flower- Barbara Stephens
17. Can't Ever Let You Go- Rufus Thomas
18. There's a Love- The Del-Rios
19. Diana- The Mar-Keys
20. Little Fool- Donna Rae & The Sunbeams
21. Warrior Sam- Don Willis
22. Cindy- Hoyt Johnson

It's a sad thought that many of these artist will now have passed away after over 50 years or more since the tracks were originally recorded.

In a way it's really good that when we hear them again today we can think back to the original artists.
It would be nice if you could say a little prayer for them. Like the add for Tesco says `Every little helps'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet! Fabulous!, 5 Mar 2013
By 
John W. Edelman - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) (Audio CD)
I'm so impressed with One Day's output. Just when I thought they couldn't better their Chess Compilation Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story, through the letterbox drops this DIAMOND! Any collection with Green Onions is always going to be worth 5 stars before it starts, that's a given, but this is a TEN star collection. I thought I'd heard most of Stax's output but on listening to this it's soon become apparent that I really had only scratched the surface. Part of this is my lack of investigation, but part of the blame I lay at the seemingless endless number of Stax compilations that have been available over the years, all churning out the usual suspects for a premium price. At last I have had the scales lifted and see (well hear) that there was so much more. AND I ONLY PAID £4.00!
If I hadn't bought this I would have missed so much and my musical life would have been the poorer.
Don't make that mistake. Buy, buy, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) (Audio CD)
Another One Day Music release that's hard to fault. A great mix of early Stax
material here - don't hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super history, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) (Audio CD)
Well worth buying and adding to your collection, loads of tracks and quite a different selection across the CD, reminisce quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOP NOTCH COLLECTION, 26 May 2014
This review is from: Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) (Audio CD)
I HAVE BOUGHT SEVERAL OF THESE NOW PUBLIC DOMAIN SETS FRM FOPP LONDON WHO SELL THEM FOR £3 .THE ANNA RECORDS SET SCEPTER SET AND THIS STAX COLLECTION ARE THE BEST.1959\62 WERE GD YEARS WITH THE FIRST STIRRINGS OF SOUL MUSIC THAT REACHED A PEAK SEVERAL YEARS LATER IN THE 60S.ALL THESE SETS ARE BARGINS 20 YEARS AGO THERE TRACKS WOULD OF COST A LOT .BUY B4 THE LAW IS CHANGED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok., 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) (Audio CD)
Some standout tracks but overall I feel too much of an 'ordinariness' with the material on this CD. It's ok .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could do better, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. C. Saliba "cas "Film Buff"" (Surrey "England") - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) (Audio CD)
its good and gives some lesser known tracks and a broader curve of the music from stax . plus a good history if you read the sleave, but think they should have included at least one track by ottis redding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stax, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) (Audio CD)
Not what I expected and would be more suited to the 'Rock n roil / rocker billy'
Gave it to my parents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962)
Wait A Minute -The Stax & Satellite Story (1959-1962) by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews