Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (228)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent transition to 3d. *EDIT* Patched, problematic bug fixed.
I've played for about 25 hours so far and feel like now's a pretty good time to leave my review.

Pokémon X is one of the first games in the 6th generation of the series, adding around 70 new Pokémon as well as some mega-evolutions to old favourites. The presentation, first off, is stunning. As someone who has played the previous games extensively...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. J. Crow

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
I was looking so forward to this game, so much so I bought my 3DS specifically to play it.
However what I found was a game significantly good in appearance on the outside, but completely lacking in its depth content wise, its like a black hole of a pokemon game.

Now, don't get me wrong its not a bad game, but it pales in comparison to black and white...
Published 9 months ago by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent transition to 3d. *EDIT* Patched, problematic bug fixed., 12 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I've played for about 25 hours so far and feel like now's a pretty good time to leave my review.

Pokémon X is one of the first games in the 6th generation of the series, adding around 70 new Pokémon as well as some mega-evolutions to old favourites. The presentation, first off, is stunning. As someone who has played the previous games extensively the shift to 3d models over sprites is a welcome change, the models and animations all look excellent and the music is better than ever with the higher capacity of the 3ds cartridge. The 3d effect is unavailable in the overworld, an odd choice that I don't understand but that's what it is. In battle however, it adds some nice depth as you'd expect from the 3ds but is nothing special. You're not missing out playing it on the 2ds. I have even noticed some minor frame rate drops when using 3d in larger battles but it was still playable. So all in all, the 3d effect is not a selling point of the game (as you probably would expect) but this does not detract from the presentation at all.

Gameplay wise, I'm comfortable in saying gamefreak did very well. From large changes like the addition of a new type (Fairy) which balances the game and will significantly change the teams in player-vs-player, to small changes like setting hidden power to a constant 60 base power making it far more useful in the main game and (hopefully) less common in competitive battles. All the changes seem very well thought out from a balance and fun perspective and allow for a very wide variety of pokémon to use through the main story. The new pokémon themselves are, in my opinion, some of the best designs in the series. I've found almost no designs I disliked and the smaller number of new Pokémon seems to have allowed for more interesting additions. My only issue with the main game is that it's slightly too easy, but this is coming from someone used to playing black2 on challenge mode and with a lot of experience, so take it with a pinch of salt.

Pokémon-Amie is a nice touch, with some surprisingly fun minigames but doesn't seem to affect very much. A far more interesting minigame addition is super training. Super training is a minigame where you have to dodge balls being shot towards you and shoot balls into the opposing goals. It can be quite fun and has the effect of raising your Pokémon's stats slightly (for those in the know, it's EV training). It gives you a clear indication of how much the stats can be improved and is a very nice addition making the competitive metagame a lot more accessible for new players. Probably wont be used by those already EV training as it seems slower, but time will tell.

Then we get to the elephant in the room, Mega-Evolution. Some old favourites (maybe a couple of dozen Pokémon? not sure how many yet) have gained new forms in mega evolution. Unlike the normal evolutions, these are temporary transformations that you can choose to activate in battle and end once the battle is over. They confer new forms, new abilities, better stats- generally improvements in all areas as far as I can tell. The downside being you can only have one mega evolution per team and they have to hold the appropriate item to mega-evolve, removing their capacity to hold other items. I have to say, I was not a big fan of the concept when it was first revealed but have found they fit the game very well. There's not much else to say on the matter except that Mega Blastoise is the best thing ever.

There is currently no way to transfer Pokémon to this game from the previous generations. This may well be a deal breaker for some, but there is going to be a new 3ds app released in December that will allow you to store 3000 Pokémon online and transfer Pokémon from the recent DS games to the new generation. It will be a paid service with a free trial allowing you time to transfer from old games without paying, I will update this review when it is released with more information.

So all in all, Pokémon X is an excellent step forward in the series, good for new fans and old ones alike. It is already my favourite 3ds game and I will be playing it for months to come.

Gotta catch 'em all, y'know?

EDIT: As of 25/10/2013 The 1.1 Patch has been released on the eShop. It fixes the save hang glitch that broke many players game saves. If you get stuck saving in Lumiose city, make sure to grab the patch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for (pretty much) everyone!, 14 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Pokemon Y is a great game overall. It's fun, it's addicting and rewarding. You can connect to people all around the World to trade, have battles with or maybe become friends! Not going to lie, this is my first ever Pokemon game, and I'm 23 years old. This game was the reason I bought the 3ds XL, and haven't had this much fun with a game since Skyrim! I finished the main quest in 72 hrs, mind you I did train a lot in that time, so I can imagine it can be finished a bit sooner tho, but where would be the fun in that? it's also great that you can claim a Pokemon if you buy the game new; one that you cannot catch in the game. It's also great that you can customise your appearance, and just go around the towns and fields whenever you want and to just look around. It's not complicated at all; all ages could play with this game easily, even if you haven't played any Pokemon games before! My boyfriend did say that it resembles greatly the previous games and they kept many things fans loved about it, just upgraded it to the next level finally! There are a few downsides tho...The game only allows one save-game at a time, meaning if you have a brother-sister-friend who wants to try it out, unfortunately they can't. I think it's something that should have been allowed, because let's face it, who would buy two consoles so both their kids could play Pokemon? That is a bit inconvenient in my opinion. Another minor thing is, that you have to have a hat on your character at all times! I personally don't like it, but honestly, this is such a small thing, it doesn't matter or effect the game at all! This is a great game overall, probably one of the best of 2013!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokémon: The Next Generation, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Becca (Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I've been a lifelong fan of the Pokémon franchise - received Blue for my then-new Gameboy Color in 1998 and have played every generation since. However, Generation V (Black/White and Black/White 2) really turned me off the franchise with their bland new Pokémon, boring region and cut-and-paste story-line, so I have to admit I approached X/Y with some trepidation. I needn't have worried. X/Y, with their Kalos region, new Fairy type and line-up of furry critters raring to go is absolutely fantastic. I've spent a while wondering how to leave a review for it, and I think the best way is to highlight the ten things I enjoy the most about the game. Here goes:

1) The graphic engine is stunning, and rather than just being a hardware demo for the 3DS's graphic chip, it fits in with the feel of the game. Kalos, based on real-life France, is a region that focuses on beauty both spiritual and physical, and the design of the overworld fits right in. In many of the places I was running around and looking at how lovely and well-designed everything was.

2) The battle sequences are, likewise, stunning. The camera angles are constantly changing, showing all sides of the battlefield, each Pokémon sprite is rendered fully 3D for the first time on a handheld, meaning that every Pokémon from the past five generations is a new revelation when you run into them again.

3) Rather than having a One Rival, One True Rival system that's been in place since Generation III, you are now surrounded by a group of kids of differing personalities. This makes the job that you're running for Professor Sycamore feel more important; rather than just being handed a Pokédex and being told tally-ho, your quest fits directly with the game's developing story.

4) Each town is different. Rather than just being 'town with purple roofs' or 'town with the big statue', every own is set geographically apart from the others. This makes them far more memorable, and a lot of them don't even have Gyms - making exploration a more key factor in the gameplay.

5) For the first time ever, you can customise your trainer sprite. You can change hats, hair styles, clothing and bags, and for the first time ever as well you can play as a black trainer - something that is well overdue. This isn't all available right away; you're given a bog-standard trainer sprite of differing ethnicity and gender at the start, and as each town goes by you'll discover different clothes shops and salons. Foufrou, a new Normal-type Poodle-like Pokémon, can also be styled in different ways.

6) Speaking of Foufrou, the new Pokémon introduced in Generation VI are, for the most part, a solid bunch. Generation V really went all over the place and didn't have a focused style (an ice cream? Really?) but Generation VI has clearly thought about France's culture and animals, and introduced a whole range of varied and interesting 'mons. You'll also find that some existing ones have been upgraded to part-Fairy type.

7) The music. As mentioned above, it is gorgeous. In some places I have plonked my trainer down somewhere and turned the volume up just so I can listen to it.

8) The online element. As long as you have a wi-fi connection, you can trade, battle, and swap O-Powers (timed perks) to your 3DS friends so long as you're both playing the game online at the same time. And rather than having to haul yourself to the nearest Pokémon Center and interrupt your game to do so, you can simply do it at any time from the bottom touch-screen. You can also voice-chat in the same way.

9) Likewise, you can also 'Wonder Trade' at any time from the bottom touch screen. If you've caught a Pokémon you don't want, you can blind trade it with anyone in the world, selected randomly, for a mysterious swap.

10) And finally, callbacks to the old games: the upgraded Exp Share is appreciated, there are loads of narrative similarities without it being a rehash (Snorlax on a bridge! The memories!), NPCs will mention other regions with careless abandon, and, one of my personal favourite changes - the cries have been upgraded. Raichu no longer sounds like your Gameboy's sound card has crashed, but more like a living, breathing creature.

I could go on, but I don't want to spoil anything and you really need to experience X/Y without knowing as much as possible. It's a great game for old fans who were wishing for a franchise change, and also for welcoming new fans to the fold - without the tutorial sections being dull or repetitive as they have been in the past. I'm currently 16 hours in and still have two badges to get and the main story-line to solve (yet alone filling up my Pokédex), so for Ł32 - Ł40 the game is an absolute steal.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazon deals rock :-), 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Came very quick good service plus a very happy 8 year old son who's had no problems with the game :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Best Ever" told me my son when he played Pokémon X., 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Pokémon X was a gift I gave to my son in the Christmas 2013. The best game he'd played, he told me after few hours playing the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Bought for my little boys birthday, he was very pleased and plays it all the time. He has had no problems with it and constantly rells me to look at the wicked pokemon he has caught and trained
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars briiliant, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
never played pokemon before, but this game is amazing, i love it, i would recommend you should buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids and Veterens will love this new version of pokemon, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Low-Quality (London England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This review is from: Pokémon Y (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Pokemon X and Y are pokemon games that will capture a new generation of fans , while bringing smiles to veterens of the franchise too.

The much awaited transition from pixeled sprites to polygon character models is most appreciated in this game.

Fans will love to see their favourite pokemon animated in glorius cel shaded 3d models.

Alot of care has been put into animating the pokemon , bringing out their personalities and charms/appeal , both during battle and mini games/ petting time.

I do wish the battle animations were a bit more varied at times , but I guess with over 600 pokemon to animate and hundreds of moves/attacks to animate , I guess I can somewhat forgive, the usual place holder short cut animations they apply in this franchise to use across many characters.

The enviroments seem a lot more exciting too , along with wonderful accompanying music which makes the exploration that more immersing. Although some sudden camera angles will have you running around in circles sometimes , thankfully this does not happen too often.

There are a lot of invisible walls though in most enviroments , so you of course can't walk where ever you want.

This is probably one of the easiest pokemon games to date however , certain decisions like the Experience share all , makes it easy for just anyone to steamroll through the whole game with their starter , while the rest of their team levels up alongside it effortlessly.

Kind of takes away alot of the grinding in the game, which I think has always been part of the franchise. Although in a way not everyone has spare hours to throw away to level up their pokemon , so this feature is good for busy people.

The new feature "Pokemon Amie" is a great addition for those who love pet simulators like Nintendo dogs. I'm sure kids will love the opportunity to pet and feed their pokemon and playing mini games with them too. Treating your pokemon well will have bring extra benefits in their performance on the battle field too.
You can also have the pokemon interact with your facial expressions via the one of the 3DS cameras. ( Although the facial recognition is another story )

I can tell alot of the budget went into the attention to detail of each pokemon's animations and mannerisms.

Additional stats training for pokemon is also made easier and more accessible this generation , with the new " Super training " feature. If additional pokemon battles to level up your stats are too monotonous/tedious for some players, they can have their pokemon partake in punching bag and some kind of weird pseudo-soccer simulation to gain extra stat points instead.

Although whether Pokemon Amie and Super training become tedious in themselves , decides on the player. But I'm sure most fans will at least find some short term amusement interacting with hundreds of pokemon via petting/feeding.

Online functionality is streamlined rather nicely in this version of the game.
You can connect online during any point in the adventure. So that means trading and online battles whenever you like.
Everything seemed to work alot more smoothly in comparison when I tried going online in Pokemon Black and White.
Amongst the many additons to the online capabilities , Wonder Trade is by far my favourite addition. Random trading can be a lottery of fun, anticipation and disappointment.

Also other players can be rather generous and reasonable on the GTS ( Global Trade service ) too , as my experience, just as long as you're not too greedy in your demands.

The social aspect of pokemon through it's trading , is what separates pokemon from other J-RPGs and never has it been so easy immerse yourself in trading than in this title.

Another aspect that makes this game even more easier than ever , is O-powers. Which could be seen as RPG spells , that grant you buffs/boosts for short periods.
You can use this on yourself or on other players who are online , further encouraging more online interactions with other players.

And of course another flashy aspect that will change the ways battles are played ( and how new pokemon are designed ... old ones given new life/interest )is the introduction of Mega Evolution. Yet another aspect of making this toddler level of difficulty game , even easier ... well for the single player part anyway.
I'm sure mega evolution means great changes and upsets for the existing multiplayer metagame, but I don't indulge myself in that aspect much unfortunately.

All in all I having a great amount of fun with this title every time I pop it in the 3DS.
It is quite an addictive time eater , especially if you go at your own pace and interact with other players.

The implementation of Pokemon Amie, Super Training and online functionality can be all available and activated at any point in your adventure , greatly streamlines the enjoyment and accessibility of the experience. As it pretty much lets you chose what you want to do whenever you want. As you can easily take a break from the story/quest whenever you want , to enjoy other aspects of the game. ( instead of having to trek to certain locations in the game just to activate these features instead )

My main complaint is that it's just too easy at times .... but then again , I suppose you need to consider the core audience it aims at.
But although it's a kids RPG , adults whose inner child still hasn't died , will be having plenty of fun here.

Pokemon has certainly taken a very big turn in the franchise in terms of presentation and accessibility. I look forward to future games in the franchise to see if they can develope the franchise to greater heights.

Although this could just be the final peak of popularity, lets get the pokedex up to 1000 before putting things to rest shall we ?

This is easily my game of the year, for breathing long overdue exhilarating new life into a franchise that needed it. Although the core game is still quite samey and in some cases and simplified. Sometimes presentation goes along way.

This is the pokemon game I've been waiting for , for a long time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps me entertained for hours on end, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I love pokemon. This game is so much fun. I have played pokemon since the days of Pokemon Yellow and it's fantastic to see how far the game has come!

The game is now in 3D (as in pokemon are rendered in 3D - this does not use the 3DS's 3D technology) and everything has become much more interactive. Pokemon battles are animated much more profoundly and pokemon move about even while not doing anything.

You walk down 3D roads in the city and there are multiple perspectives of play. There are tonnes of new pokemon with an added "fairy" type which is excellent as it is super effective against dragon and that was previously overpowered in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably my most played game of the last 2 years, 1 July 2014
By 
J. Porter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Great stuff.

Some say the same formula game in game out can get tired and old - but I'm still not anywhere near losing enjoyment.

It's hard to put it into words and I can't really point out any notable new game features that make it special - but if you enjoy Pokemon then you will enjoy this.

One thing I appreciated was the Battle Training. It's nice to be able to do stuff like EV training without the ridiculous process of previous games. It's made this a lot more accessible and has tempted me to try training Pokemon to a top level, something which I never really did before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS)
Pokémon X (Nintendo 3DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)
Ł32.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews