Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 8 April 2013
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
The Ascension Day cantatas were missed out of the Gardiner Cantata pilgrimage, probably because Ascension Day always falls on a Thursday, and it would have been an impossible job then to do the cantatas for the following Sunday. (BWV11 is often omitted from cantata surveys anyway, as it's subtitled "The Ascension Oratorio", and is seen as something different, like the Christmas Oratorio). However, thanks to the contributions of many donors, Gardiner has now done the business and recorded the four surviving Ascension Day cantatas at St. Giles Cripplegate, London, scene of some of the Cantata Pilgrimage recordings.

The Ascension Day cantatas are wonderful, joyful works, full of trumpets and drums. The best is BWV11 "Lobet Gott in seinem Reichen", but the others are also right up there, and Gardiner does them justice with great singing, great playing and, to my ears, perfectly judged tempos. A must-have for any Bach lover. Indeed, I would go further and say that, if you want only one CD of Bach cantatas, this must come perilously close to being it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culmination of a monumental endeavour, 12 April 2013
By 
W. Chrispin "Bill C" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
This is the 28th and final volume celebrating the complete sacred cantatas of J S Bach by Sir John Eliot Gardiner, supported by the Monteverdi Choir and English Baroque soloists. I have collected the CD versions in order to enjoy the extensive reviews and personal commentary of Sir John on the 2000 pilgrimage that saw the majority of the Bach cantatas recorded in venues around Europe and the US. The booklet that came with each release is highly informative and beautifully produced. The musical treatment of these superb cantatas by Sir John and his vocal and orchestral forces is peerless. I am no musical expert, and not especially religious, but my spirit is lifted and my heart is moved whenever I listen to these wonderful recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ascension Day Cantatas, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
Absolutely superb work - both the cantatas themselves as well as the interpretation by Gardiner and the performance - although a live recording, there are no blips or background noise. I have experienced Himmelfahrt many times in the last few weeks both on the way there and the anticlimax of coming back down to earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ascension Day Cantatas - Gardiner, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
This Gardiner 'Pilgrimage' series is unique. The first day that this Vol 28 came out, it hit the number 1 spot on Radio 3 for new releases. And quite rightly so. It is nothing less than 'SUPERB'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant way to complete the set, 15 Sep 2013
By 
whitestar27 (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
Missing from the original recordings because Salisbury cathedral refused permission to record, this is a live recording from the performance in London in 2012, only possible because of a fund raising campaign. I was at the performance in London - crisp, clear, fast paced genius of Bach and a brilliant performance faithfully captured on cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's Bach who, as Douglas Adams said understood the sounds of the Universe. To my untutored ear it's beautifully done. I loved it. I wish I could afford all of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joyous Beauty, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
I cannot add anything constructive to the reviews of others. But if you are in any doubt that this album will lift your soul listen to track 23.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What pleasure!, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
Each of Bach's cantatas is a masterpiece of blending of biblical texts and music. Lutheran faith melded with musical colour, excitement, emotion, creating a spiritual experience for the listener. Gardiner's recordings of the cantatas are a joy.
Mozartiana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2013
By 
Angus Palmer (Wylam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
This kept up the very high standard of the series, all of which I have collected. Even though this was not recorded during the pilgrimage, it is good to have the Ascension Day series to complete the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cantatas Ascension Day [John Eliot Gardiner, Lenneke Ruiten, Meg Bragle ] [SDG: SDG185] (Audio CD)
I t was difficult to find the CD with the Cantata that was wanted - the numbers not prominent. The music is being enjoyed although it was not the correct selection of Cantatas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews