Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for those with frustratingly unfinished projects!
There is so much good stuff in this book it's hard to pick a place to start.

If you are at a place where your ideas are not getting completed, then this book will give you some great tips to addressing that issue.

The book is a collection of themes and each one is written by a different author.

One of the things I was hoping to get out of...
Published 18 months ago by Stephen Luff

versus
41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars doesn't mean it's BAD. Just not very wide ranging.
-WHO IS IT FOR?

The sub-heading inside the cover of this title says:

"Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind".

The 'Creative Mind' part of this is the only clue that the book is partly aimed at writers. Indeed, most of the contributors to the book are authors themselves of one kind or another (columnists,...
Published 16 months ago by Pallus


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for those with frustratingly unfinished projects!, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Stephen Luff "Stephen L" (Worthing, Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is so much good stuff in this book it's hard to pick a place to start.

If you are at a place where your ideas are not getting completed, then this book will give you some great tips to addressing that issue.

The book is a collection of themes and each one is written by a different author.

One of the things I was hoping to get out of this book is understanding how to get the most out of the time I have for my projects that are outside my weekly, scheduled work.

Understanding the importance of regularly visiting your project, even for a few minutes daily, allows one to maintain a familiarity with the project. I was making the mistake of allocating 2 days a week to the project and nothing in between. What this caused was a loss of momentum and built in confusion when those 2 days were intercepted by outside events, leaving 14 days or even more before revisiting the project.

Letting go of perfectionism was a good chapter for me too. Yes I want my project to be the best it can be but it also needs to be able to breath with at least a first draft.

When you see a chapter entitled "Finding Focus in a distracted world" how could one not be drawn to reading and consuming the advice?

I believe I found insight in every chapter. Its all really good and delivers on the promise of getting ones current ideas completed before concerning oneself with even more ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars doesn't mean it's BAD. Just not very wide ranging., 10 Aug 2013
By 
Pallus (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
-WHO IS IT FOR?

The sub-heading inside the cover of this title says:

"Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind".

The 'Creative Mind' part of this is the only clue that the book is partly aimed at writers. Indeed, most of the contributors to the book are authors themselves of one kind or another (columnists, bloggers etc.). This isn't particularly surprising as they are all peers of Jocelyn K who herself leads the '99U' and oversees the associated website 99U.com.

That doesn't mean that the guidance isn't also useful for us regular office workers but it would be especially useful to (budding) authors.

-AND WHAT IS IT?

It's a 'self-help' book giving guidance about how to prioritise one's work to achieve more. The book makes surprisingly narrow suggestions as to how to go about this. These few suggestions are then re-iterated in turn by the various contributors. I understand that this may be a way to affirm the points but it does get a bit repetitive.

-IS IT WORTH BUYING?

Overall, despite the book sometimes seeming like an excersise in drumming the same few points home, it IS definitely very useful advice. If nothing else, it will cause the reader to question how they work and how they can achieve more for themselves. With a little imagination, this can be used as a springboard to developing one's own ideas by questioning other aspects of one's working day/life.

However, if you already have a few of these types of books, I'm not sure you'll be learning much new here; this is more of a starting point than an exhaustive guide.

[My Ref: That book about how to respond to emails/distractions Aug 13]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tried and tested, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Adam Smith (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
you will not find anything within the covers of this book that is earth shatteringly new. It is a series of insights into better managementvof yourself in a world which is frequently frenetic and focused on the short term. So for example, it asks "do we or should we always be connected to the web or your phone? how and when do we seek to become creative eg standing in line, do we muse, or do we dive for the smartfone? Are we seeking perfection, when what we got is good enough for purpose? Do we really believe we can multitask- think again. These essays by different authors, are quite short and snappy, some just a couple of pages or so, and yes, can be read standing in line for the bus, or train, or a coffee.

They are useful hints and thought provoking, and no less valuable because you will already be aware of most of them, consciously or sub consciously.

Definitely useful- only gave it a four star because most of this is well known and around in one shape or form already- but this is a handy and useful read. Having read it, you could dip into it for profit on a weekly basis just to remind yourself how to be more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars read it a month ago - don't remember anything useful from it, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind (The 99U Book Series) (Kindle Edition)
read it a month ago - don't remember anything useful from it. Repeating advices that you've already heard. But if you need an inspirational push, not new insights, this can work for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only buy if you're a creative, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind (The 99U Book Series) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book based on the first 3 statements of the title: manage your day to day, build your routine, find your focus. Unfortunately the book is entirely focused on creativity. I gave up reading it about two thirds in as not only was the content mostly tips and insight I'd read elsewhere (or was already doing), but the way the content is presented is not engaging. Maybe if you are suffering from writers block this book may be of use, but there are much better books out there that cover the subject matter of this book's title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK self-help manual, 14 Aug 2013
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an easily digestible, OK self-help book. As with most of the efforts in this genre the core message and info isn't that new or particularly ground breaking but this particular book is well written and nicely presented in digestible, short chapters. Albeit that you can probably get most of what's presented in this book across the internet with little effort, this is a handy little book to have if you want the various self-help strands explored here collected in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of good tips, inspirational and informative, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it says on the tin, helps you to focus (in my case refocus) and gives you loads of advice on how to keep that focus. Routine is king! Now get back to work!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the point - easy to understand, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind (The 99U Book Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book shares stories on how to manage things that may come your way in an easy to understand, straight to the point kind of way, and I really liked it.
The various people who contributed what they do to stay focused do it in a well written way, but never claim theirs is the best way, instead just giving some inspiration for those of us that aren't as well organized. These stories are interwoven with facts and other tips from the author, and each chapter ends with some key notes to take away from.

What might separate this book from the scores of other books just like it? It's not too long - and like stated above, straight to the point- , and it has a lot of different points of view because of the various contributors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind (The 99U Book Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It's full of great 'real life' advice from some very wise people. If you are a bit of a self-improvement junkie like me then you'll love it. My only criticism is that it's a bit shot, so it would be wonderful if they did a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reassurance for lonely creatives, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind (The 99U Book Series) (Kindle Edition)
4 1/2 stars really: a bit thin; but at Kindle price, good value and provides the pep talk we all need occasionally. Wise words to keep us on track and remind us that being creative ain't easy – nor is it supposed to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews