Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film buffs will love it....
I've just rented this, and throughly enjoyed it, and would happily watch it again, but I suspect a majority wouldn't (watch it more than once I mean). So when it gets released on DVD and bluray think carefully before you buy. This is a documentary thats asks whether celluloid is now redundant and whether digital filming has replaced it completely. In one sense the answer...
Published 21 months ago by S J Buck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not anything we don't know
Keanu Reeves passionately interviews some big names in cinema, and whilst it is interesting hearing different viewpoints, on the whole 'Side By Side' offers little to the casual viewer, and only a little more to the well versed cinema fanatic. There is some interesting material on the archiving of film, but in general, nothing here that was as exciting as I had hoped for.
Published 8 months ago by Daniel Elford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film buffs will love it...., 7 Mar 2013
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Side By Side [DVD] (DVD)
I've just rented this, and throughly enjoyed it, and would happily watch it again, but I suspect a majority wouldn't (watch it more than once I mean). So when it gets released on DVD and bluray think carefully before you buy. This is a documentary thats asks whether celluloid is now redundant and whether digital filming has replaced it completely. In one sense the answer is yes. According to the documentary the major 'camera' companies are now only producing digital movie cameras.

An array of famous directors and cinematographers are interviewed by Keanu Reeves. Their views are varied and interesting, and I tend towards the view of Christopher Nolan (a traditionalist who shoots on celluloid) but after the documentary had finished I got to thinking; when I'm watching a movie on DVD or bluray its completely digital so why have any time for celluloid? I still go to the cinema as well, but all the ones I visit now use digital projection, and I've never been conscious of the switch from film to digital.

The fact that this documentary makes you think about these things, makes it worth watching. And to see and hear David Lynch, Martin Scorsese and many other famous filmmakers talking about the possible demise of a 100+ year old art form is quite fascinating.

But I return to my original point, unless you are a film fanatic, you probably won't watch this more than once - maybe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-see for all film lovers, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Side By Side [DVD] (DVD)
I caught a screening of this at the 2012 Brighton Film Festival. It really is a wonderful look at camera technology in the world of cinema. It is really fascinating to get up close to the technology and processes that go into making movies. And to hear about it from the people that are using these technologies, and what it means to them as artists. As the title of the film suggests, Keanu Reeves takes a very evenhanded look at the issue of digital film versus celluloid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hosted by Neo, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Side By Side [DVD] (DVD)
Probably for hardcore film fans only but still an informative, fascinating and bristling documentary focusing on the progression in the film-world of differing cinematography and directing techniques. Keanu Reeves is your presenter and does a fine job and there are plenty of well-known faces popping up to have their say throughout. Things i learnt: David Fincher is probably odder than David Lynch, Collateral was the first movie shot at night on digital, Christopher Nolan is a stubborn traditionalist and James Cameron is an egotistical bully..oh hang on, i knew the latter. Would be a great watch for film students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documantary about cinema., 16 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Side By Side [DVD] (DVD)
Having worked in the cinema industry for most of my life I found this documantary to be very informative in many ways and slightly sad in others.
The passing of an era when films were predominantly shot on 35 or 65 mm celluloid stock and projected in cinemas by people who really cared about their profession and about the best possible presentation of the film to the audience.
Sadly those days are long gone as are all the projectionists.
These days it would seem no matter how many millions of dollars and how much time is spent on producing block buster movies the targeted audience 13 to 25 year olds don't care about pure cinema presentation anymore.
They are quite happy to spend large sums of money to watch the latest hollywood block buster presented in multi-plex cinemas out of focus, in the wrong ratio, with actors heads disappearing off the top of the screen and the sound so loud that it hurts.
If I were a film maker these days I just wouldn't bother.
Athough this film doesn't really touch on that aspect of the dying industry it is well worth watching if only for the range of excellent film makers interviewed by Keanu Reeves. and their varied opinions on the future of cinema as an art form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your truly interested in cinema then this is a very interesting documentary with a roll call of some of the best technicians, 5 Dec 2014
This review is from: Side By Side (DVD)
I'd second all the favourable reviews already posted. If your truly interested in cinema then this is a very interesting documentary with a roll call of some of the best technicians around (no Spielberg though), AND, the extra disc with the extended interviews is a must watch - the 2 interviews that stand out for me are with editors Walter Murch and Anne Coates (Lawrence of Arabia). Reeves is an engaging interviewer and shows a true interest in the subject. Recommended for cinephiles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not anything we don't know, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Side By Side (DVD)
Keanu Reeves passionately interviews some big names in cinema, and whilst it is interesting hearing different viewpoints, on the whole 'Side By Side' offers little to the casual viewer, and only a little more to the well versed cinema fanatic. There is some interesting material on the archiving of film, but in general, nothing here that was as exciting as I had hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Side by Side review, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Side By Side [DVD] (DVD)
Hello, as I am interested in film and world cinema and also the technical side of movie making I was well pleased with this documentary. Even though several directors/producers/editors/cinematography people were interviewed there was little or no repetition. The information was easy to understand and indeed it is very educational also. The pros and cons of Digital re Film was clearly understood. The second disc (which I was not expecting) contained the full length uncut version of the interviews. All in all a great insight into the film industry and the very different approach of the various people involved in making a film. I would strongly recommend this to anybody interested in film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talking heads documentary - but really good!, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Will Shakspere (The Globe, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Side By Side [DVD] (DVD)
If you're interested in film beyond the popcorn, enough to read the reviews, then this film will fascinate you. Keanu talks to directors, cinematographers, editors and designers about the process of film making, comparing film and digital processes. Sounds dry? Somehow it isn't. it's great to see and hear the people who are usually behind the cameras, and get to know some of that geeky technical stuff. I love the way Keanu's appearance keeps changing, as well. I guess he started making 47 Ronin at some point whilst he was also making this film, so we get the beard appearing and disappearing, and the hair at lots of different lengths. A film for those keenly interested in film. I was riveted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very timely Documentary by Keanu Reeves, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Side By Side [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very informative piece of work by professionals, the best from the world of movies, very balanced totally unbiased a must watch for people who love the World-of Cinema-through-Film- both "Photochemical or Analogue" and "Digital"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning about the digital period in filmmaking, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Side By Side [DVD] (DVD)
Love the documentary as it talks about what I am passioned about , how to make films and what are there made of .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Side By Side [DVD]
Side By Side [DVD] by Chris Kenneally (DVD - 2013)
£6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews